Tirerack
Use the following links to go directly to useful tirerack winter items: Tirerack Winter Tires. Gary's Winter Tire FAQ.
Using the links directly supports E90Post with tirerack sales commision!

  E90Post
 


The Tire Rack

   PLEASE HELP SUPPORT E90POST BY DOING YOUR TIRERACK SHOPPING FROM THIS BANNER, THANKS!
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Wheels and Tires Forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack > Getting "CC-ID 63" error code and red flat tire icon after new tires installed



Wheels and Tires forum Sponsored by The Tire Rack
Please help to directly support e90post by doing your tirerack shopping from the above link. For every sale made through the link, e90post gets sponsor support to keep the site alive. Disclaimer

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-30-2009, 04:44 AM   #1
tracerit
Captain
United_States
56
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Huntington Beach/OC, CA

iTrader: (9)

Getting "CC-ID 63" error code and red flat tire icon after new tires installed

I got new tires over the weekend and drove them home, and i would say about 40 miles later the red flat tire icon came on. I looked around and checked the PSI on all four and they were fine. I tried resetting it but instead of it saying INIT and having the check mark, it displayed "CC-ID 63". now i have the red flat tire icon there the whole time i'm driving.

I searched google and the forums and no solution was found, so i'm guessing it's time to bring it to the dealer and have them reset the computer? Luckily I still have one year left on my warranty, otherwise would this be something the dealership would charge me to reset?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2009, 10:29 AM   #2
SoCalTech
Captain
United_States
6
Rep
648
Posts

Drives: Not a BMW yet...
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Is the light flashing or solid?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2009, 11:07 AM   #3
tracerit
Captain
United_States
56
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Huntington Beach/OC, CA

iTrader: (9)

it's solid.
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2009, 11:28 AM   #4
jayhudson
Ex-CCA racer
jayhudson's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: '08 328i
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Grants Pass, OR

iTrader: (0)

The older tire monitoring system uses the ABS sensors to compare the rotations of the tires. I'm not sure when BMW switched to the actual pressure monitoring system.

If you have the older system and the new tires have a different circumference from OE this could be your problem.

What size were the OE tires and what are the new ones?

Jay
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2009, 08:47 PM   #5
tracerit
Captain
United_States
56
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Huntington Beach/OC, CA

iTrader: (9)

they are the same size

225/40/18
255/35/18

just went from the OE RFTs to General Exclaim UHPs (non-RFT)
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2009, 11:51 PM   #6
SoCalTech
Captain
United_States
6
Rep
648
Posts

Drives: Not a BMW yet...
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Redondo Beach, Ca

iTrader: (0)

You sure you have the right CCID number?
https://wiki.bentleypublishers.com/d...05B2252076C616
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2009, 02:19 AM   #7
tracerit
Captain
United_States
56
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Huntington Beach/OC, CA

iTrader: (9)

yup, it's the right CC-ID number, i saw that link through searching and didn't see my code there either.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2009, 02:58 AM   #8
Orient330iNYC
Major
21
Rep
1,372
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wall St

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tracerit View Post
I got new tires over the weekend and drove them home, and i would say about 40 miles later the red flat tire icon came on. I looked around and checked the PSI on all four and they were fine. I tried resetting it but instead of it saying INIT and having the check mark, it displayed "CC-ID 63". now i have the red flat tire icon there the whole time i'm driving.

I searched google and the forums and no solution was found, so i'm guessing it's time to bring it to the dealer and have them reset the computer? Luckily I still have one year left on my warranty, otherwise would this be something the dealership would charge me to reset?
are you trying to reset while the car is moving?

IIRC that error code comes up when resetting if the car is not in park.
try to reinit the system starting in park, then drive the car until the system learns the new rolling diameter. new tires have less revs per mile than old due to tread depth.
__________________
Past: 2004 S60R 6MT
Past: 2007 E90 335i 6MT
Past: 2010 335xi ZMP, MPPK, MPE
Past: 2013 335i 6MT ZMM/ZDH/ZTP/3AG/494/508
Present: 2016 F34 335i xDrive ZCW/ZDA/ZDH/ZTP/ZMP/2V5/5DL
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2009, 04:20 AM   #9
tracerit
Captain
United_States
56
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Huntington Beach/OC, CA

iTrader: (9)

i'll try that, but as far as i know. i've done it when it was parked. and i tried it when i was driving on the street and freeway.
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2009, 11:14 AM   #10
tracerit
Captain
United_States
56
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 13 BRZ Limited 6MT
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Huntington Beach/OC, CA

iTrader: (9)

ok solved the problem. apparently i was resetting it incorrectly. i would go to 'check control', scroll to the flat tire icon, then hold the button to reset. apparently the correct way is to just RTFM lol.

with the car parked, just scroll to the flat tire icon and it'll say "reset" underneath, once you do that it'll clear the icon out. i'm not sure if this initializes the new settings though..
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2009, 02:55 PM   #11
Orient330iNYC
Major
21
Rep
1,372
Posts

Drives: 2013 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Wall St

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tracerit View Post
ok solved the problem. apparently i was resetting it incorrectly. i would go to 'check control', scroll to the flat tire icon, then hold the button to reset. apparently the correct way is to just RTFM lol.

with the car parked, just scroll to the flat tire icon and it'll say "reset" underneath, once you do that it'll clear the icon out. i'm not sure if this initializes the new settings though..
yup, it does. next time you drive the car, it measures the rolling diameter of the tires in comparison to each other. if it changes, it signals a flat.
__________________
Past: 2004 S60R 6MT
Past: 2007 E90 335i 6MT
Past: 2010 335xi ZMP, MPPK, MPE
Past: 2013 335i 6MT ZMM/ZDH/ZTP/3AG/494/508
Present: 2016 F34 335i xDrive ZCW/ZDA/ZDH/ZTP/ZMP/2V5/5DL
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2011, 11:07 AM   #12
DetlefE
New Member
2
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

I don't get it... I've tried the 'reset' procedure, but the red tire symbol with cc-id 63 keeps coming back.

My summer tires are on 18" rims, my winters are on 17". My situation is that I installed my winter tires on 17" rims last fall, but never drove the car through the winter. Now that spring is here, I've taken the car out for some rides, but still on the winter rims. After a couple of spins around the block, that error code came up. I can get the reset procedure while at a stand-still which doesn't seem to work, and I can't find a way to find the 'Init' procedure.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2011, 11:18 AM   #13
DetlefE
New Member
2
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: '07 335i Sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Ok, visited my dealer and got it all cleared up now. So I'll post the results so that the next guy looking in agony will find the answer.

With the car started, but at stationary, flip through the options until you see the flat tire icon and the word 'reset'. Tap it once, then tap and hold until the box and check appear. This was very poorly documented in all my searches. I'm usually pretty quick to figure out what a computer is expecting, but this one had me stumped.

Now I've also booked for the HPFP recall, and a ECU update. Maybe with the ECU update, this will all change again!!!

I hope this helps someone out.
Appreciate 0
      05-10-2011, 02:51 PM   #14
chrismanchr
Second Lieutenant
9
Rep
222
Posts

Drives: 1986 mr2 mk1
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: manchester england

iTrader: (0)

ive just found this thread and done the reset as you described ,it worked !,strange how the manuals description of reseting the runflat indicator bears no resemblement to how to do it in real life ,i was totally stumped and thought i had a serious problem ,just kept getting a message cc id 63

thanks for posting it !
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2011, 05:02 PM   #15
Typhoidrummage
Private First Class
2
Rep
105
Posts

Drives: 2006 e90 330i
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Denver, NC

iTrader: (2)

I've had this problem for the last few weeks. Figured it was the TPMS sensor but this reset worked perfectly. Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2011, 08:02 PM   #16
BamaBeamer
Meannnn Jeannn....woooooo!!! -Ric Flair
BamaBeamer's Avatar
0
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: 2006 E90 Sport Pkg
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntsville, Alabama

iTrader: (0)

p
thank you...thank you...thank you.....big help.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2011, 10:11 PM   #17
tomaso69s
Registered
United_States
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 330i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hyannis, MA

iTrader: (0)

Thank you so much!!!

I have had the red flat tire warning light for over a month and I thought it was a failure from the TPMS that needed some sort of repair... But this reset procedure worked perfect!!! You are a Legend, Thanks a million!!!
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2011, 11:14 PM   #18
bmw325i
Major General
115
Rep
5,113
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Funny thing is the same procedure mentioned in this thread is in the owners manual.
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2012, 09:01 PM   #19
jsweiss
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: 2006 330xi
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan

iTrader: (0)

<quote>
Ok, visited my dealer and got it all cleared up now. So I'll post the results so that the next guy looking in agony will find the answer.
</quote>

Thank You to you and everyone else posting on this issue.

My flat tire light just came on yesterday for no reason really. I suspect low tire pressure was the culprit. After topping off all of the tires with air, I expected the issue to go away (like in a 'vette I had) but it didn't. No big deal. I am now used to using the stalk to reset messages. So, I clicked away like crazy but could not get the light to go out.

I parked the car overnight and hoped today would be different. I could have sworn that I tried everything today to reset the light, both while parked and driving. But after reading this post, I went out to my driveway, kept the 6 speed manual idling in neutral, and was able to find the checkbox described above ... and reset the light.

Thanks everyone,

I really hope the light doesn't show up again tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2015, 04:37 AM   #20
westrayhall
Registered
1
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW 320D
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

I cannot reset this code because my car does not have the option when I toggle the switch. How do I reset the tyre warning light if I cannot have the option on the stalk?
Appreciate 0
      02-10-2016, 12:36 PM   #21
kasza88londyn
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: BMW e91 320i
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Essex

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by westrayhall View Post
I cannot reset this code because my car does not have the option when I toggle the switch. How do I reset the tyre warning light if I cannot have the option on the stalk?
I have the same problem-half of my menu is missing on my e91
Did you find a solution?
Appreciate 0
      03-30-2016, 07:38 PM   #22
jet987
First Lieutenant
jet987's Avatar
United_States
18
Rep
345
Posts

Drives: 2017 230i in mineral white
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chicago, IL

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW 230I  [0.00]
2006 BMW 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via ICQ to jet987 Send a message via AIM to jet987 Send a message via MSN to jet987 Send a message via Yahoo to jet987 Send a message via Skype™ to jet987
Thanks, it worked for me! My 2006 325i had only 10 psi in the front right tire and got the red flat tire symbol on the dash, got the tire fixed, sealed the rim leak on my non-runflat tire, and used your method to clear the symbol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DetlefE View Post
Ok, visited my dealer and got it all cleared up now. So I'll post the results so that the next guy looking in agony will find the answer.

With the car started, but at stationary, flip through the options until you see the flat tire icon and the word 'reset'. Tap it once, then tap and hold until the box and check appear. This was very poorly documented in all my searches. I'm usually pretty quick to figure out what a computer is expecting, but this one had me stumped.

Now I've also booked for the HPFP recall, and a ECU update. Maybe with the ECU update, this will all change again!!!

I hope this helps someone out.
__________________
2017 230i with M Sport, Driver Assist, moonroof, 6sp manual
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:59 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST