E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > So, What Are The Guys With Upgraded Stereos Using For Music Source???



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-28-2013, 11:42 PM   #1
mact3333
Captain
mact3333's Avatar
41
Rep
781
Posts

 
Drives: 11' Audi S4
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pacific NW

iTrader: (1)

So, What Are The Guys With Upgraded Stereos Using For Music Source???

I have been debating what to use as my music source as I am upgrading my base stereo to Stage II system from MusicarNW next month.

What are most of you guys using for music source?

CD would probably sound bet but this is not very convenient...USB stick seems ok but there are filters between USB port and head unit and does the music info show up?.....BT doesnt sound very good at all when using device like BB or Belkin.

Guess we need some device where we can plug a router directly to the amplifier and stream the music on our phones to the router like a apple airport express or Apple TV like device.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 12:07 AM   #2
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,337
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Nothing wrong with high bit rate mp3

Nothing wrong with high bit rate mp3
If you have usb then you can put that in any format the head unit understands. What filters its pure digital till it hits the Dacs .
which seems like the best solution.
Most of the internet broadcast stuff is low quality or if its high quality
the bit rate costs are prohibitive as in spotify pay for it version, and mobile reception over most of the networks that broadcast it would probably be questionable. Also the people that own the mobile networks are retracting
the all you can eat data plans or putting some kind of caps or restrictions
on them if you use a lot of data.
HD Radio isn't to bad if you happen to live in area where there is a strong
signal and a decent selection of stations.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 12:30 AM   #3
TMR
Colonel
TMR's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
2,894
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (11)

I use Flac songs on a usb memory stick. Sounds perfect.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 12:58 AM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
45
Rep
4,337
Posts

 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

The aux input is not good but

The aux input is not good but when you get your new system it will sound
a whole lot better. Also I have some doubt that a 50 dollar blue tooth aux
adapter is very good compared to some of the stuff built into a good HU or one of the better adapters like a Mobridge or Dension.

If you want really Hi Fi maybe you should look up Neil Youngs attempt at Mobile studio quality sound . He had a 24 bit device designed called the Pono
but it hasn't taken off yet.

http://people.xiph.org/~xiphmont/demo/neil-young.html
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 03:07 AM   #5
cdgatti
Lieutenant Colonel
cdgatti's Avatar
20
Rep
1,550
Posts

 
Drives: e90 328i
Join Date: May 2011
Location: KY

iTrader: (4)

I use a 32GB usb drive and wav or m4a and I think the limit is my system not the song quality.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 06:37 AM   #6
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,088
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Airplay (Spotify "Extreme") > CD >> USB >>> AUX >> Sirius = FM
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 10:49 AM   #7
mact3333
Captain
mact3333's Avatar
41
Rep
781
Posts

 
Drives: 11' Audi S4
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pacific NW

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69 View Post
Airplay (Spotify "Extreme") > CD >> USB >>> AUX >> Sirius = FM
Kai,

You get that airplay system working ok???...thats what I really want to do also...but dont think the amp I am getting has optical inputs(ARC 75 X 4 amp).

I have the premium Spotify service and would prefer to use that as my source.
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 11:56 AM   #8
kaigoss69
Brigadier General
kaigoss69's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,088
Posts

 
Drives: '08 335i
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: JAX

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mact3333 View Post
Kai,

You get that airplay system working ok???...thats what I really want to do also...but dont think the amp I am getting has optical inputs(ARC 75 X 4 amp).

I have the premium Spotify service and would prefer to use that as my source.
Not yet. When it works it sounds amazing...

iPhone 4S has AirPlay issues, but the AE may also be to blame since I cannot get 100% skip-free playback with other Apple devices such as iPad, iPod and Macbook.

I may have to bite the bullet and get an ATV since they supposedly have less issues, or I may even try a first gen AE.
__________________
Mobridge DA2 > JBL MS-8 > ARC XDi 600/4 > JBL Gti 408 Mids & Vifa XT19 Tweeters; PG Ti2 1600.5 > Morel HCW-10 & IDMax 15
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2013, 04:32 PM   #9
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
65
Rep
3,648
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaigoss69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mact3333 View Post
Kai,

You get that airplay system working ok???...thats what I really want to do also...but dont think the amp I am getting has optical inputs(ARC 75 X 4 amp).

I have the premium Spotify service and would prefer to use that as my source.
Not yet. When it works it sounds amazing...

iPhone 4S has AirPlay issues, but the AE may also be to blame since I cannot get 100% skip-free playback with other Apple devices such as iPad, iPod and Macbook.

I may have to bite the bullet and get an ATV since they supposedly have less issues, or I may even try a first gen AE.
4s uses only the 2.4ghz portion of 802.11n. That is your problem. Every BT device and most wifi stations are blasting you @ 2.4Ghz and a moving airport express just cant keep up with its surrounding environment. (Cant switch channels often/seamlessly)
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST