E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > coding tpms psi readout....possible?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-17-2014, 02:19 PM   #1
WRichieX
Captain
WRichieX's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
960
Posts

Drives: 07 335i e93 6MT
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
coding tpms psi readout....possible?

So is this even possible? On a bunch of "what can I code" threads, this feature is mentioned a bunch of times but when asked how to do it, or asked for a pic, no one responds. I'm starting to think people are trolling about this feature lol. Is this even possible? If it is, only on newer tpms? What do you need to change to get this work?
__________________

07 BMW 335i E93 6MT (Praying neighborhood doesn't get flooded...again)
04 Infiniti G35 Coupe 6MT (Flooded)
08 Audi TT 2.0T DSG (Flooded)
03 Subaru WRX 5MT (Flooded)
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2014, 03:32 PM   #2
Sensible_
Captain
22
Rep
687
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

I can't imagine this is possible. I thought TPMS just monitored the wheel revolutions and is pinged when there is an irregularity with one of the wheels indicating a pressure problem...I didn't think it actually monitored the pressure. Maybe I'm getting confused though? lol
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2014, 06:34 PM   #3
terahertz
Enlisted Member
United_States
0
Rep
35
Posts

Drives: 2010 E90 M3
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Irvine, CA

iTrader: (0)

I've been looking into this a bit because I wanted this as well. On the American cars, we have real TPMS in each wheel/tire, not just the RPM thing. The thing to code is RDC_SAFETY in the CIC, which is present on E9x, but doesn't really do anything. It seems it only works on F series.

That's the conclusion I've come to. There is a possibility that you may have to turn something on in the RDC module as well, but I actually haven't looked into that.
Appreciate 0
      06-17-2014, 08:47 PM   #4
wildcatcrazy
Captain
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
664
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
You need to remove the VO (code the car), disconnect the TPMS module (in the trunk), and pull the fuse (if you don't have idrive). You might get away from pulling the fuse, but the other two items need to be done.
__________________
Joseph Jones (JJ)
'09 Alpine White 335i, M Sport
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2014, 08:50 AM   #5
jwzimm
Major
jwzimm's Avatar
United_States
23
Rep
1,352
Posts

Drives: '11 335i X-drive Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton, WA

iTrader: (11)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
You need to remove the VO (code the car), disconnect the TPMS module (in the trunk), and pull the fuse (if you don't have idrive). You might get away from pulling the fuse, but the other two items need to be done.
He is not trying to code out the TPMS, he is trying to get the pressure and temperature readouts to appear in iDrive like the newer cars can. I have tried this and it doesn't work in the e9x platform.

Quote:
Originally Posted by locketstate19 View Post
Spammer. Reported.
__________________
2011 e92 X-Drive Coupe - KW V1 Coilovers, BMW PPK Stage 1, "is" fog deletes, rear diffuser, and black exhaust tips, CDV delete, Bimmertech reverse cam, lots of coding.
Appreciate 0
      06-18-2014, 09:08 AM   #6
wildcatcrazy
Captain
wildcatcrazy's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
664
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Honolulu, HI

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2009 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwzimm
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcatcrazy View Post
You need to remove the VO (code the car), disconnect the TPMS module (in the trunk), and pull the fuse (if you don't have idrive). You might get away from pulling the fuse, but the other two items need to be done.
He is not trying to code out the TPMS, he is trying to get the pressure and temperature readouts to appear in iDrive like the newer cars can. I have tried this and it doesn't work in the e9x platform.

Quote:
Originally Posted by locketstate19 View Post
Spammer. Reported.
My apologies. Misunderstood the question.
__________________
Joseph Jones (JJ)
'09 Alpine White 335i, M Sport
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2014, 08:10 PM   #7
melloww22
Captain
melloww22's Avatar
13
Rep
740
Posts

Drives: 2011 335i E90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (1)

use RDC_SAFETY not available for e90
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2014, 10:38 PM   #8
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
68
Rep
3,682
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Some e9x have tpms capable of individual tire sensing. Late 2011 due to parts shortage bmw went back to a system that senses all tires (detects individually but cannot distinguish from which tire it is recieving)

There is an entry (actually multiple) called druck or drucker (germanressure that i amcurious about changing to aktiv but i am a n00b. Np one has been able to speak to these parameters when i have asked this question previously.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST