E90Post
 


E92-lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Quick Question: Brake sensor



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-12-2013, 06:07 PM   #1
Ajerthan
Bimmaaaa
 
Ajerthan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 325D & YZF R125
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West London

Posts: 500
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 BMW 325  [0.00]
Quick Question: Brake sensor

Can the front sensors be refitted. If so, how do you reset with CIC.

CIC showed 60 miles left before I replaced.

Picture below.

Car = e92 325D

Thanks
Attached Images
  
__________________

| E92 BMW 325D | alpinweiß | Red VMR 710 Rims | Black Kidney Grills | M Sport| Navigation | 1m Bumper |
| Sexy Angle Lites |
InstaGram: Ajerthan
Ajerthan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2013, 02:48 AM   #2
doughboy
Major General
 
doughboy's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 6,370
iTrader: (2)

You have to fit new sensors as they're worn out.

Then it will reset itself.
doughboy is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2013, 02:59 AM   #3
Jedimindtrix
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Alpina D3 MT
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington, North East

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

Just had this same fault recently, it'll reset itself.

Tip; try not to tap the sensors into place with a hammer as they do break very easily
Jedimindtrix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2013, 03:07 AM   #4
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,834
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
The sensor is £10 or so just buy another one, fit it and then have CBS reset

Whoever serviced your car should have known to do this..
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-13-2013, 11:12 AM   #5
Ajerthan
Bimmaaaa
 
Ajerthan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 325D & YZF R125
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West London

Posts: 500
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 BMW 325  [0.00]
I did the service, not a garage. So I need some valuable information.
__________________

| E92 BMW 325D | alpinweiß | Red VMR 710 Rims | Black Kidney Grills | M Sport| Navigation | 1m Bumper |
| Sexy Angle Lites |
InstaGram: Ajerthan
Ajerthan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-14-2013, 05:14 PM   #6
Ajerthan
Bimmaaaa
 
Ajerthan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 325D & YZF R125
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West London

Posts: 500
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 BMW 325  [0.00]
I tried reseting and both (front and back) sensors messed up. Now I got red warning light on all the time. Even whilst driving... Standard reset aint seeming to help.
__________________

| E92 BMW 325D | alpinweiß | Red VMR 710 Rims | Black Kidney Grills | M Sport| Navigation | 1m Bumper |
| Sexy Angle Lites |
InstaGram: Ajerthan
Ajerthan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 02:03 AM   #7
rjkc600
Registered
 
Drives: BMW 330i E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Essex

Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)

A friend of mine had new brakes fitted on his 335i and the CBS wouldnt reset even with new sensor. The instrument cluster had to be reprogrammed as it went into factory undefined mode or something like that.

Overly complex BMW's !!
rjkc600 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 02:47 AM   #8
doughboy
Major General
 
doughboy's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 6,370
iTrader: (2)

Have you fitted new sensors?

You need to do this first.

Which red light is up? What is the check control fault reading?
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
doughboy is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 04:18 AM   #9
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,834
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Again. You need new sensoors. You can't just reset.

You'll likely need fault codes cleared now as you attemted to reset without renewing the sensors. Someone with autologic will be needed.

Why not google something or check on a forum before doing the work?
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 01:13 PM   #10
Ajerthan
Bimmaaaa
 
Ajerthan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 325D & YZF R125
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West London

Posts: 500
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 BMW 325  [0.00]
doughboy its the red brake warning light on the centre dash. (same one u see when your handbrakes on)

Mega I've replaced the sensors but I did read somewhere on the forums that they don't need to changed if the pads are not fully worn. E.g. metal touch metal. So I don't know...
__________________

| E92 BMW 325D | alpinweiß | Red VMR 710 Rims | Black Kidney Grills | M Sport| Navigation | 1m Bumper |
| Sexy Angle Lites |
InstaGram: Ajerthan
Ajerthan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 02:03 PM   #11
Jedimindtrix
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Alpina D3 MT
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington, North East

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

Just Change The Sensors Ffs.
__________________
Currently driving an Alpina-D3 MT, Sapphire black, Classic Alloys wrapped in PS2's, Full Alpina interior trim, Black Grilles, Blackline tail lights and zymol'ed once a month.
Jedimindtrix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 04:40 PM   #12
Sensible_
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 383
iTrader: (0)

I believe this has been discussed before and although they don't 'need' be changed in the sense that it will not effect the breaking of the vehicle, the used sensors electrical resistance changes and as a result the ecu knows it hasn't been changed and will report this with an error or a '-' sign before any mileage remaining....I think.
Sensible_ is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-15-2013, 05:10 PM   #13
Ajerthan
Bimmaaaa
 
Ajerthan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 325D & YZF R125
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West London

Posts: 500
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 BMW 325  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedimindtrix View Post
Just Change The Sensors Ffs.
Go and FFS your mum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
I believe this has been discussed before and although they don't 'need' be changed in the sense that it will not effect the breaking of the vehicle, the used sensors electrical resistance changes and as a result the ecu knows it hasn't been changed and will report this with an error or a '-' sign before any mileage remaining....I think.
This seems more understanding where everyone just says change the sensor without any reasoning. Cheers.
__________________

| E92 BMW 325D | alpinweiß | Red VMR 710 Rims | Black Kidney Grills | M Sport| Navigation | 1m Bumper |
| Sexy Angle Lites |
InstaGram: Ajerthan
Ajerthan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 05:24 AM   #14
doughboy
Major General
 
doughboy's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 335i Sold.
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: UK

Posts: 6,370
iTrader: (2)

+1

The sensors wear in stages, so the car knows for a long while how the discs are wearing, probably it started wearing about 20000miles ago.

You'll see how thick a new sensor is compared to an old one.

It's not like the old system of metal-metal 'redlight' single stage warning.
__________________
335i gone E63 AMG here at last!
doughboy is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 05:42 AM   #15
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,834
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Change the sensors because it's part of the steps required to service the vehicle.

You will now firstly need a fault code clearing.

There is no further discussion to be had.

What explanation do you need? You have to do it because it has to be done

I am not sure how more to put this.
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 07:43 AM   #16
willhollin
Major General
 
willhollin's Avatar
 
Drives: VW T5
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Worcestershire

Posts: 9,907
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Not sure if this has been mentioned before but i'd personally get new sensors.
__________________
willhollin is offline   England
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 07:58 AM   #17
Jedimindtrix
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: Alpina D3 MT
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Washington, North East

Posts: 266
iTrader: (0)

It has been mentioned but somehow it's not sinking in.
Jedimindtrix is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 10:34 AM   #18
MEGA
Dieseasal
 
MEGA's Avatar
 
Drives: LCI E92 335d M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Harrow, London

Posts: 6,834
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to MEGA
Quote:
Originally Posted by willhollin View Post
Not sure if this has been mentioned before but i'd personally get new sensors.

Sounds like a cracking idea that!
__________________
Previously: 2003 Peugeot 206 1.6 8v | 2006 E90 320d M-Sport, 19" BBS CH, Full Ice-cold JL audio install, August 2010 Total BMW 6 page feature car. | 2003 Nissan 350Z GT Coupe 286BHP
Now:2010 E92 LCI 335d M-Sport
MEGA is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 10:45 AM   #19
Delusive
Major
 
Delusive's Avatar
 
Drives: Static E92
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bay Area, CA

Posts: 1,479
iTrader: (6)

I'm just gonna say what every other member wanted to say but didn't want to

"This ain't no Civic so quit being cheap"

Translation:
Change your sensor because it's mandatory when replacing brake pads, no excuses!

__________________
Delusive is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 04:28 PM   #20
zltm089
Major General
 
zltm089's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i SE Coupe Space Grey
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: LONDON

Posts: 7,350
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 335i  [5.00]
For all of you saying CHANGE YOUR SENSOR.

Just for your info, BMW Battersea changed my sensors a few times and the light kept coming up. In the end, we gave up and we removed the wear indicator.

In my case, it was an unknown technical issue.

Not sure in OP's case....

Anyway, if you haven't change your sensor OP....

well,

CHANGE YOUR SENSOR!
__________________

Current Car: E92 335i SE Dream Cars: AMG SL65 Black,GallardoSuperleggera, GTR 2012, Agera R, F430 Scuderia, DBS, EVO X FQ400, Lexus LFA, F10 M5, M4, GT3 RS4.0, Ferrari 458, Ferrari F12, R8 V10 plus, Jaguar F Type V8, Lamborghini LP700-4 Aventador, Chevrolet Camaro ZL1, C63 AMG Coupe Black, Vanquish 2012, Laferrari, GT3 991, McLaren 650s.
zltm089 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 07:18 PM   #21
Ajerthan
Bimmaaaa
 
Ajerthan's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 325D & YZF R125
Join Date: May 2012
Location: West London

Posts: 500
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
2009 BMW 325  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by doughboy View Post
+1

The sensors wear in stages, so the car knows for a long while how the discs are wearing, probably it started wearing about 20000miles ago.

You'll see how thick a new sensor is compared to an old one.

It's not like the old system of metal-metal 'redlight' single stage warning.
Okay makes sense. Cheers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MEGA View Post
Change the sensors because it's part of the steps required to service the vehicle.

You will now firstly need a fault code clearing.

There is no further discussion to be had.

What explanation do you need? You have to do it because it has to be done

I am not sure how more to put this.
Ok, I now understand the reasoning behind this and sensors are replaced. It sometimes helps to know why it is necessary change them. Sorry if this is common sense. First time I'm playing around with sensors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by willhollin View Post
Not sure if this has been mentioned before but i'd personally get new sensors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JS-NA.E92 View Post
I'm just gonna say what every other member wanted to say but didn't want to

"This ain't no Civic so quit being cheap"

Translation:
Change your sensor because it's mandatory when replacing brake pads, no excuses!



It's not a matter of of costs, its about knowing why you do it. I have now so its all good, just need to clear codes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zltm089 View Post
For all of you saying CHANGE YOUR SENSOR.

Just for your info, BMW Battersea changed my sensors a few times and the light kept coming up. In the end, we gave up and we removed the wear indicator.

In my case, it was an unknown technical issue.

Not sure in OP's case....

Anyway, if you haven't change your sensor OP....

well,

CHANGE YOUR SENSOR!
Interesting..


The other day I was BMW getting my seat belt hander replaced. Where a elderly women came in, I think my engine oil is low. Turned out it was just the coolant that was low and charged her £15+vat for a top up. The guy bought out some coolant in 1L castrol oil bottle. Seemed fishy
__________________

| E92 BMW 325D | alpinweiß | Red VMR 710 Rims | Black Kidney Grills | M Sport| Navigation | 1m Bumper |
| Sexy Angle Lites |
InstaGram: Ajerthan

Last edited by Ajerthan; 05-17-2013 at 12:27 PM.
Ajerthan is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      05-16-2013, 07:27 PM   #22
N8N
Major
 
N8N's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 335i 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sterling, VA

Posts: 1,443
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to N8N Send a message via MSN to N8N Send a message via Yahoo to N8N
I saw someone allude to this in a previous post, but the sensor has two stages, one is probably already worn, the sensor starts wearing long before the service indicator comes on. This is how the car estimates how long your brakes will last - it knows when they were new, it knows when it hit the first stage, and it extrapolates from there how long it will be until the pads hit the wear limit and trip the "replace brakes now" portion of the sensor.

So... if you don't replace the sensor, the car still thinks that the brakes are somewhere between half worn and worn out. The way I understand it nobody would ever replace brake pads before the sensor hit the first stage because it would be false economy, the sensor is less expensive than 1/2 the cost of the pads (assuming that the sensor hits the first stage at half worn.)
N8N is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST