E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Upgrading HiFi System



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-27-2013, 06:22 PM   #1
delrioi
Private
 
Drives: 2014 X3 35i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Upgrading HiFi System

I want to upgrade my Hifi system using a JBL MS-8. I an using Technic's HIFI harness. Took my car apart and it's uses a Logic7 amp. What's the best way to pull a signal. I drive an E82 and I think it shouldn't make that big of a difference. Thanks for your help.
delrioi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 06:46 PM   #2
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,774
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by delrioi View Post
I want to upgrade my Hifi system using a JBL MS-8. I an using Technic's HIFI harness. Took my car apart and it's uses a Logic7 amp. What's the best way to pull a signal. I drive an E82 and I think it shouldn't make that big of a difference. Thanks for your help.
A HiFi harness is for a HiFi system. You do not have a HiFi system. You have a Logic7 system.

You should take your car to an audio shop.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: September 2011 ED
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 07:50 PM   #3
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Syracuse

Posts: 3,289
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
What technic is saying is...know what you are doing before you execute....in your case you didn't know which system you had before you attempted an upgrade. Try starting with the Logic 7 section of the sticky.
__________________
eBay - My BMW station for iPhone 4/4s (needs very minor fixes) Reserve $29, starting bid 99c.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 10:23 PM   #4
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,982
iTrader: (0)

You should have read this first

You should have read this first

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323

Don't know which harness you need but most recode the head unit
to a hi fi output if they want to use and MS-8(if they have L7).
What make you think you found an L7 amp do you have a center
speaker in the dash and a equalizer setting in your radio or idrive display? What it say you have in the option list.

Last edited by ctuna; 04-27-2013 at 10:47 PM.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-27-2013, 11:15 PM   #5
delrioi
Private
 
Drives: 2014 X3 35i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
You should have read this first

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323

Don't know which harness you need but most recode the head unit
to a hi fi output if they want to use and MS-8(if they have L7).
What make you think you found an L7 amp do you have a center
speaker in the dash and a equalizer setting in your radio or idrive display? What it say you have in the option list.
The amp has Logic7 on it. I don't have a center speaker, hence the thinking I just had HiFi. I do also have equalizer settings on the idrive display. By the way I do have the right harness.
Attached Images
 
delrioi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 12:06 AM   #6
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

No, I'm afraid you still don't have quite the right harness. That harness is not ready for an MS-8, it's for adding a sub to a Logic 7 Top HiFi system with everything else remaining stock. I got your inquiry about the DA2, see your PMs, but we have full systems where that harness is modified for whatever is being added, and no mods need be done in the field.
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-28-2013, 12:47 AM   #7
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 3,982
iTrader: (0)

No Center Speaker = Hi Fi in every thread

No Center Speaker = Hi Fi in every thread I have seen
but you have equalizer settings you say.
. The new Hi Fi amp is silver but smaller perhaps you could post a picture of it. Or is the center speaker delete in a 135 normal.
ctuna is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 11:39 AM   #8
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 3,922
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by delrioi View Post
The amp has Logic7 on it. I don't have a center speaker, hence the thinking I just had HiFi. I do also have equalizer settings on the idrive display. By the way I do have the right harness.
If you do have logic 7 you have the right harness. You just need to modify it.
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 01:16 PM   #9
VP Electricity
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor

 
VP Electricity's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 XDrive
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: portland oregon

Posts: 3,176
iTrader: (3)

Oh, E82's don't have a center speaker. If you have the EQ, there you go.
VP Electricity is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-29-2013, 01:33 PM   #10
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,774
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by delrioi View Post
The amp has Logic7 on it. I don't have a center speaker, hence the thinking I just had HiFi. I do also have equalizer settings on the idrive display. By the way I do have the right harness.
This is the best way to replace the Logic7 OEM amp with an MS-8: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=826683

It requires coding and an RCA harness between the OEM HU and the MS-8. If no coding and no RCA harness is desired then the OEM amp is kept and all inputs/outputs connections made at the Logic7 harness after cutting it.

If you ordered that harness from me then you should have received a wiring diagram of the harness via email.
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: September 2011 ED
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2013, 12:19 AM   #11
delrioi
Private
 
Drives: 2014 X3 35i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minneapolis

Posts: 53
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technic View Post
This is the best way to replace the Logic7 OEM amp with an MS-8: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=826683

It requires coding and an RCA harness between the OEM HU and the MS-8. If no coding and no RCA harness is desired then the OEM amp is kept and all inputs/outputs connections made at the Logic7 harness after cutting it.

If you ordered that harness from me then you should have received a wiring diagram of the harness via email.
Where can I get the Quadralock to wire the signal. I will recode the HU. One other thing do I need the fiber optic loop thing pictured in the link.

Last edited by delrioi; 04-30-2013 at 12:25 AM. Reason: Forgot question.
delrioi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      04-30-2013, 04:11 AM   #12
Technic
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 E92 M3, 2014 528i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 10,774
iTrader: (16)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by delrioi View Post
Where can I get the Quadralock to wire the signal. I will recode the HU. One other thing do I need the fiber optic loop thing pictured in the link.
Please use PM...
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: September 2011 ED
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST