E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Alpina Transmission Flash



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-04-2013, 12:34 PM   #1
SeanCorky
Sparkling Graphite
SeanCorky's Avatar
United Kingdom
2
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Alpina Transmission Flash

Has anyone in the UK tried the Alpina transmission flash for 335i?

It is meant to be a lot better than standard and can be flashed if you have a coding cable .

More info http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=815840
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 01:57 AM   #2
gangzoom
Major
13
Rep
1,201
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i M sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Leicester

iTrader: (0)

Some one has done this I'm sure. I tired it but got stuck at the final 'update phase'. Kept on getting 'ECU protected'(or something similar). Could have tried tried to force the update but didn't want to brick my transmission. My car has a sep 07 build date so it should have worked

Last edited by gangzoom; 05-05-2013 at 04:19 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 03:48 AM   #3
windymissile
Lieutenant
7
Rep
589
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

I asked this question in the "coding" sticky. No reply as yet. The yanks do it as a matter of course. I thought someone would be all over it on this side of the pond.
WM
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 04:09 AM   #4
SeanCorky
Sparkling Graphite
SeanCorky's Avatar
United Kingdom
2
Rep
168
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Liverpool

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
I'm looking to get one of the coding cables and have a go at it, i'm waiting to see how the open source tuning comes along in the N54 forum first though, as that will dictate what cable i need to buy.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 04:18 AM   #5
gangzoom
Major
13
Rep
1,201
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i M sport
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Leicester

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by windymissile View Post
I asked this question in the "coding" sticky. No reply as yet. The yanks do it as a matter of course. I thought someone would be all over it on this side of the pond.
WM
The transmission flash is abit more risky than say coding the Radio HU from base audio to 'HiFi'. I tried the transmission flash but got an error on the last bit, I don't have enough understanding of it to be confident enough to try and force the flash through...after all if you bugger it up your end up with no gears on the car.

There are other forums where you can get all the advice/software needed for coding. Took me about 2 hours to find and download all the files. Just use Google and have a go, just don't end up bricking the transmission ECU!!
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 06:58 AM   #6
windymissile
Lieutenant
7
Rep
589
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Nuts and bolts, I can do. Pooters, not.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 12:08 PM   #7
rialnet
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
42
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E92
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Manchester

iTrader: (1)

interesting thread, i'll be interested to see how you get along with this mod

:-)
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 01:40 PM   #8
Yoro35i
TROll
Yoro35i's Avatar
United Kingdom
31
Rep
2,338
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335I M
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

If anyone willing to try tackling this im willing to pay a small sum for a member here to flash mine!

Makkan maybe ???!
__________________
MY08 E92 335i M Sport|Wrap by Surrey Project |ETS Intercooler|VSRF Dp's|BMS OCC|BMC filter|CoBB AP|EBC Yellow & Coolcarbons rear|Alpina AT Map|Michelin PSS |CF grills,CF mirror,CF Performace spoiler|LCI light|CIC controller retrofit|2014 Mods: Birds B3 Suspension kit,Project Mu pads,Afe Filter and PTF Protune & Pilot sports cups. Gone:Forged FMIC, Eisenmann Race Quad, Eisenmann Sport Dual, Duke Dynamic Diffuser. Eibach Pro springs.
Appreciate 0
      05-05-2013, 02:27 PM   #9
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,551
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Guys
I can do this and Alpina engine flash on 320Ds.
I did not reply in the coding section as the chap wanted somebody near him.
All the cars which I have coded come to me or if I am travelling, I announce it in advance to give members a chance to get the things done.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2013, 02:50 AM   #10
windymissile
Lieutenant
7
Rep
589
Posts

 
Drives: 335i M Sport
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks Makkan00. I think a trip to you might have to be organised, unless you're planning on heading north any time....?
WM
Appreciate 0
      05-06-2013, 10:50 AM   #11
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,551
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by windymissile View Post
Thanks Makkan00. I think a trip to you might have to be organised, unless you're planning on heading north any time....?
WM
Guys
If your car is built 03/07 or afterward with N54 engine, then you can upgrade it to Alpina software.

It has been reported that in some cars paddle shifter does not work, but owners still retained the Alpina software as according to them its more worth of having than the paddle shifted.

Windy, can you pm me your postcode so I can check if I ever pass by you.

Thanks.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      05-07-2013, 02:51 AM   #12
seanblee
Captain
seanblee's Avatar
United Kingdom
10
Rep
753
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Enfield, UK

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via MSN to seanblee
I'm running it on my car and I'm pretty happy with it. I didn't have any trouble with the flashing but agree it is potentially risky if you're not 100% comfortable with what you're doing.

It works much as described on the US boards...

'D' shifts smoother than standard and tends to sit in a higher gear than standard, presumably to make better use of the B3 engine's increased torque output. On gentle acceleration with light throttle openings, it can be a bit CVT-like - revs remain constant but it shifts up through the gears and varies the torque converter slip to control road speed. At wider throttle openings, it's much as before.

'DS' becomes 'S' as it shows the ratio the box has selected on the dash (e.g. 'S1', 'S2' etc). It tends to hold gears longer than standard, rev-matches downshifts better and shifts quicker. 'M' is more of the same, except obviously you control when it shifts. There's talk that it won't automatically upshift if you hit the limiter, but I've never yet felt the need to rev the engine to the limiter to find out!
__________________
2007 E92 335i SE auto | Quaife LSD | Birds B3 ARBs | Evolve Stage 1 | Morel Hybrid 402 | Rainbow IL-W8F | JL 10W3v3 | RF 3sixty.3 | Alpine PDX-V9

Appreciate 0
      06-03-2013, 10:39 AM   #13
ArsE92
Second Lieutenant
ArsE92's Avatar
United Kingdom
4
Rep
272
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i SE
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: North-West UK

iTrader: (1)

So has this really taken off over here? I'd love to get mine done but unfortunately I'm up north.

I might look into doing it myself when I get a moment!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST