E90Post

European Auto Source

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Need Help..Turbo Seal? White smoke!/ Overheating

05-26-2013, 01:54 AM   #1
vertm3freak

Drives: E46 M3, 335i

Need Help..Turbo Seal? White smoke!/ Overheating

Hi everyone, I'm new to e90post forum as i just sold my E46 M3 and bought a 2007 335i.
I just noticed a couple days ago some smoke coming out of the exhaust that smells a little like oil burning. After doing a little research i believe my turbo seals are going bad. I was wondering how much do they cost?
is this fixable or i would have to get a new turbo? Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by vertm3freak; 05-28-2013 at 03:55 AM.
      05-26-2013, 01:59 AM   #2
williamf
Audi Convert

Drives: Past: 335i Now: TTRS stage 2+

Lots and lots of info on this forum about turbo problems with your model. Feel free to read until your hearts content. But the short answer is bring it to the dealer. You might still have a warrantably repair.
williamf is offline   United_States
      05-26-2013, 02:17 AM   #3
vertm3freak

Thanks, I am sure that i'm out of warranty already. But i have been looking to find out if turbo seal can be changed or fixed or if this is a sign for the turbo going bad.
I also noticed that the oil level went down as i got an oil change a month ago!
      05-26-2013, 02:49 AM   #4
SharkBait
Second Lieutenant

Drives: 2010 E92 335i

Garage List
If you have any wastegate rattle, you could potentially have them replaced for free as long as you're under 8 years/82k miles. There is a long thread (one of many) on the subject.

Anyone know if there is a rebuild kit for these turbos? New seals, bearings, etc.
      05-26-2013, 02:57 AM   #5
vertm3freak

Quote:
Originally Posted by SharkBait View Post