E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > All-Wheel-Drive (Xi / xDrive) Talk > 2006 330xi Transfer Case Help



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-02-2013, 10:02 PM   #1
Strictly4Boosting
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 Bmw 330xi
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kearny NJ

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

2006 330xi Transfer Case Help

I have a 2006 BMW 330xi e90 , all 3 lights are on my gauges (brake, abs, traction ) I bought the actuator and I want to install on my own. I have about 120k and I figured I would change the transfer case fluid as well. I tried searching but does anyone know if I have to re-flash the computer after this work is performed? I was told on the actuator you don't need to reprogram, but that the fluid you need to re-flash or reprogram the computer at dealer. Can't I just disconnect the battery and then wait 15min and reconnect? Please need help because I don't want to spend extra money at a dealer or find someone who can flash or have to buy equipment. Want to perform the work myself. Thank You.
Strictly4Boosting is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-03-2013, 01:45 PM   #2
phozenstone
Brigadier General
 
phozenstone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY

Posts: 4,813
iTrader: (70)

you have to reset it either using the BT Tool or have the dealer do it for $100+. Depends on the build though but it seems mixed whether or not you need to. Some have gone into limp mode until they reset; and others didn't requrie reset at all. I have a June 2007 build and it required a reset. Invest in a BT tool, it pays itself off after 2 uses.
__________________
E92 Xdrive / Montego Blue / M3 Black Novillo Leather / OEM 351M 19" Wheels / Mtech Rear w/ IS Diffuser / Aero Lip / LCI Tailights / M3 Steering Wheel w/Paddles / 40% Huper Optik / Lux V3 / 4300K HID Fogs / Dynavin D99 / 3 Stage Intake Manifold / Magnaflow Dual Exhaust Conversion 4" Tips / K&N Filter w/ charcoal delete / Active Autowerke Stage 2 Tune / KW V1 Coilovers / BMW Performance Strut Bar
phozenstone is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-05-2013, 02:20 PM   #3
Strictly4Boosting
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 Bmw 330xi
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kearny NJ

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

I think im going to bring it in a shop, worse case scenario ill pull the fuse until i can get it reflashed if it helps !
Strictly4Boosting is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2013, 09:28 AM   #4
jeguth1s
Private First Class
 
jeguth1s's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cincinnati

Posts: 180
iTrader: (1)

No need to reset on an '06. I have the same car and did this in the fall. pm if you any questions
__________________
Bilstein+Eibach, UUC F&R sways, Powerflex bushings, PE+Supersprint 2nd cat delete, Euro Intake
jeguth1s is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2013, 11:24 AM   #5
Strictly4Boosting
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 Bmw 330xi
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kearny NJ

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

So i got it done this weekend ! The shop tried to reset the codes and it comes up (vtg transfer case ) fault code = 54c8 classification resistor


I tried erasing codes and it will not erase.

If I turn the car on and off all three lights reset.
If i move in reverse the lights will not come on, but once i go forward it goes on and stays on.

Last edited by Strictly4Boosting; 06-10-2013 at 11:32 AM.
Strictly4Boosting is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2013, 01:01 PM   #6
phozenstone
Brigadier General
 
phozenstone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY

Posts: 4,813
iTrader: (70)

What are you using to reset the code? Bt tool?
__________________
E92 Xdrive / Montego Blue / M3 Black Novillo Leather / OEM 351M 19" Wheels / Mtech Rear w/ IS Diffuser / Aero Lip / LCI Tailights / M3 Steering Wheel w/Paddles / 40% Huper Optik / Lux V3 / 4300K HID Fogs / Dynavin D99 / 3 Stage Intake Manifold / Magnaflow Dual Exhaust Conversion 4" Tips / K&N Filter w/ charcoal delete / Active Autowerke Stage 2 Tune / KW V1 Coilovers / BMW Performance Strut Bar
phozenstone is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2013, 04:26 PM   #7
Strictly4Boosting
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 Bmw 330xi
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kearny NJ

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

I tried it with autel maxidas scanner , entered all the info of the vehicle and tried to erase and no dice , it erases and then comes back on at the same time
Strictly4Boosting is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2013, 04:29 PM   #8
Strictly4Boosting
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: 2006 Bmw 330xi
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kearny NJ

Posts: 46
iTrader: (0)

I also took out fuses and put them back in. Disconnected & reconnected battery to see if that would help and nothing. Pretty much stuck !
Strictly4Boosting is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-10-2013, 10:26 PM   #9
phozenstone
Brigadier General
 
phozenstone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 Montego Blue
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NY

Posts: 4,813
iTrader: (70)

You can't just use any obd scanner. I would just take it to the dealer at this point for them to reset it. Next time I would just buy the BT tool but seeing your car is undrivable right now I would get the dealer to do it
__________________
E92 Xdrive / Montego Blue / M3 Black Novillo Leather / OEM 351M 19" Wheels / Mtech Rear w/ IS Diffuser / Aero Lip / LCI Tailights / M3 Steering Wheel w/Paddles / 40% Huper Optik / Lux V3 / 4300K HID Fogs / Dynavin D99 / 3 Stage Intake Manifold / Magnaflow Dual Exhaust Conversion 4" Tips / K&N Filter w/ charcoal delete / Active Autowerke Stage 2 Tune / KW V1 Coilovers / BMW Performance Strut Bar
phozenstone is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-24-2013, 05:32 AM   #10
killakill
Lieutenant
 
Drives: e92328xi (SOLD), e93 328i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: toronto

Posts: 530
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Strictly4Boosting View Post
I have a 2006 BMW 330xi e90 , all 3 lights are on my gauges (brake, abs, traction ) I bought the actuator and I want to install on my own. I have about 120k and I figured I would change the transfer case fluid as well. I tried searching but does anyone know if I have to re-flash the computer after this work is performed? I was told on the actuator you don't need to reprogram, but that the fluid you need to re-flash or reprogram the computer at dealer. Can't I just disconnect the battery and then wait 15min and reconnect? Please need help because I don't want to spend extra money at a dealer or find someone who can flash or have to buy equipment. Want to perform the work myself. Thank You.
Had same issues I installed the position motor on the transfer case and lights went away on its own. I remember reading a bmw tech post regarding this issue. If the light doesn't go away after you install the motor it may be that you have a true internal fault in the transfer case and thus require a whole new transfer case.

PLease google the issue you shud be able to find it
killakill is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST