E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Meth Won't stop flowing *SOLVED*



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-20-2013, 12:07 AM   #1
Cmaddox335
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
224
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I e90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (3)

Meth Won't stop flowing *SOLVED*

I just installed the BMS Meth kit with 1 gallon tank. When I went to prime the pump, the nozzle sprays continuously while the car is idling as soon as it's turned on. I've tried on map 0 and map 3, it flows in both.

I used the following link to install it. http://www.burgertuning.com/instruct...it_install.pdf

The only difference is obviously that the tank is mounted in the trunk instead of the wiper tank.


EDIT 23 June 2013:

Solved the problem, the JB4 firmware was out of date and did not support Methanol injection. Once it was updated, the meth flows perfectly!
__________________

Last edited by Cmaddox335; 06-23-2013 at 11:15 PM.
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 12:58 AM   #2
135Hoser
Custom User Title
135Hoser's Avatar
3
Rep
261
Posts

 
Drives: 09 135i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Canada, Eh

iTrader: (0)

if the pump and solenoid are running continuously then you wired something incorrectly or the fsb is defective.

Double check your work.

Also spraying large amounts of meth/ww fluid/whatever into your cylinders is very, very, very bad. you can end up pitting the cylinder walls, or hydrolocking the engine and bending a rod.
__________________
2009 135i
AR Resonated DPs, Line Lock Kit | HPF FMIC | Forge DV's | BMW PE | BMS DCI, OCC, JB4 G5 | Meth
Still todo: Wavetrac LSD, Suspension bits
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 01:50 AM   #3
Cmaddox335
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
224
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I e90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (3)

I'll check the wiring again tomorrow, I removed the fuse for now. I am aware of the effects of overspray though lol.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 09:14 PM   #4
Cmaddox335
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
224
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I e90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (3)

Double checked wiring. It's all correct. The LED on the FSB lights up when the car is running. The actual problem is continuous flow in map 3. When I swap to map 0, after a few seconds flow stops. >.<
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 10:10 PM   #5
Bme30
Captain
Bme30's Avatar
14
Rep
848
Posts

 
Drives: 335i coupe
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 'Merika'

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
The jumper is in the wrong place. It's the piece in the middle of the FSB. Move it over one slot and the problem will be fixed.
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2013, 10:25 PM   #6
Cmaddox335
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
224
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I e90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (3)

I emailed the guys at BMS about that, they said it is supposed to jump the bottom leads (inbetween the red wires), which it is. I guess it won't hurt to try to move it to one of the other two spots.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2013, 12:24 AM   #7
Cmaddox335
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
224
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I e90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (3)

Just moved the jumper to the two other spots, one spot it flowed continuously still and the other spot had no flow at all.

The only other thing I can think of is maybe the power wire and trigger wire that are routed through the car are shorted together. I shot them and they shot open, but it wasn't in a failed state so I don't know how accurate that is. I guess I'll run some wire outside the car to see if that's the problem.

A schematic of the system including a breakdown of the FSB would definitely help out ALOT in troubleshooting this. >.<
__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2013, 02:16 AM   #8
boostaholic786
Lieutenant
boostaholic786's Avatar
6
Rep
564
Posts

 
Drives: E92 JB4 G5 ISO RB's FBO+40%E85
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: irving tx

iTrader: (0)

If I'm not mistaken your suppose to have the car in ACC mode not engine turned on. Because its menu option 7-5 to purge. I dont have meth but I did have it and went just E85. In Texas summer there is ALWAYS a problem with air bubbles, solonoids going bad, bad lines, ect.. I got sick of it when I did the G5 ISO and BMS Flash. But when I purged my meth I would have the car in 7-5 mode, get a little cup, and have a buddy go and push the pedal on the gas to make it flow. When you want it to stop flowing you let off the gas. Just my 2cents
__________________
A/W E92 335i M-sport with JB4 G5 ISO/ E40 WEDGE PERFORMANCE BACKEND FLASH, Alpina TCU flash for AT/Switch-tronic +AR Downpipes, Stett gen 1 intake, Wagner-Tuning FMIC+RB Turbo setup/ RB PCV Valve+ Akro exhaust+60% E85/93 mix,+ HRE P40S wheels, KW coilovers, M3 sways,+BMW performance CF Mirrors, BMW Performance CF deck lid spoiler,+ CF interior trim, p3 vent boost gauge,+ LUX angel eyes (11.73@119mph on street tires) NO METH!
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2013, 10:47 AM   #9
Cmaddox335
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
224
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335I e90
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (3)

I don't have the G5, so i dont have that menu. My jb4 only has 5 menus.
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2013, 11:06 AM   #10
Mike@N54Tuning.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Canada
476
Rep
15,011
Posts


 
Drives: 07335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Earth

iTrader: (88)

Even the G4 firmware has 7 menus. If you only have 5 perhaps your JB4 software is too old to run methanol.

Mike
Appreciate 0
      06-21-2013, 11:16 AM   #11
Chris_506
From RWD to AWD
Chris_506's Avatar
Costa Rica
50
Rep
2,623
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335xi
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SCar

iTrader: (13)

__________________
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2014, 09:08 AM   #12
jbarzelatto
Private First Class
1
Rep
121
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 135i Lemans
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Santiago, Chile

iTrader: (0)

hello guys, im reviving this threat because of this damn jumper problem.

I bought my fsb from a guy that had the cmgs set up so he said that the jumper is changed. I am fully aware that i must move the jumper, etc.. but I dont understand what that means!

First let me start by saying that English is not my first language, Im from Chile, so many things are lost in translation, so be nice lol

All I see in the are pins, I am not sure mayne im missing a part.

But if my set up is with JB4 and no solenoid, using the FSB, which pins do I need to change to?

thanks!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST