E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Help with coding a Dension 500



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-30-2013, 03:13 PM   #1
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (7)

Help with coding a Dension 500

I am trying to install an Dension 500 to a E92 (2006) model and require help with the coding.
I have read various guides as to the install and watched a youtube clip as the instructions that came with it are not very helpfull

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=391473
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=84125

I presume it was just adding the code $672 to the VO through NCS expert but is there more to this?

The dension is to be installed in the boot where the CD changer is located, as there is a fiber optic connection. However I am unsure what i need to do to enable it. Before it is taken somewhere with autologic I would like to give it one more shot
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      06-30-2013, 04:41 PM   #2
IanS100
Colonel
 
IanS100's Avatar
 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

Posts: 2,593
iTrader: (0)

If you're replacing an existing CD changer with the Dension I don't think you'll need any coding but if it's a virgin install you will. Mine was coded on AutoLogic, which is a one click automated process, but I can't help further than that. makkan00 will probably be able to advise you further
IanS100 is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      06-30-2013, 04:47 PM   #3
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,041
iTrader: (48)

I am unable to understand your question. Is your question related to hardware or software?
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2013, 02:30 AM   #4
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (7)

Related to software
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2013, 02:46 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,041
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mistryn
Related to software
So, when you alter the VO, what do you do next?
And is it a car with ccc or just HU?
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2013, 04:45 AM   #6
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (7)

I have just altered the vo i was using a guide which i can post later on when i get home. Is there a next step?

It has idrive base stereo
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2013, 02:11 PM   #7
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (7)

This is what i do - o through NCS expert - load profile - expertmode (I know this route is not the best advisable) - F1 (read VIN) - F3 to read FA - select model E89 - Choose ECu (CAS) - F2 to modify VO - select model - check vin ok - added the $672 code - F6 to go back - F4 process ECU - slecetc CAS - F2 change job - select FA write - F3 execute job - F1 change ecu -

After the above this is where I get stuck as my instructions say to select LMA from choose ECU - however I cannot see this option

is there more after this and if so please can you explain?
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2013, 02:11 PM   #8
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,041
iTrader: (48)

After altering the VO, code
CAPPL/ CGATE/ CAUDI
as per new VO.

Your Dension should work (if its not in hidden mode or whatever mode is that when you go to stealers).

IF it does not, then you will need to update your car (CCC). A trip to dealer or somebody with autologic + knowledge should do the job.
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2013, 02:14 PM   #9
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,041
iTrader: (48)

Forget CAS/FRM. Code what I mentioned above.
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      07-01-2013, 02:22 PM   #10
mistryn
Lieutenant Colonel
 
mistryn's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 335D
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Mids

Posts: 1,987
iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
After altering the VO, code
CAPPL/ CGATE/ CAUDI
as per new VO.

Your Dension should work (if its not in hidden mode or whatever mode is that when you go to stealers).

IF it does not, then you will need to update your car (CCC). A trip to dealer or somebody with autologic + knowledge should do the job.
wow speedy reply Mak, many thanks
when you say code CAPPL/ CGATE/ CAUDI is that selectable under Choose ECU function (as I cannot remember off the top of my head) and then I just need to add the $672 code to those 3?

Its a 2006 model and not sure if the ccc has been updated - is there any way I can find out what version it is on?
mistryn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST