E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Log File Review



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-18-2013, 10:26 PM   #1
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
Log File Review

Can anyone get this log to open up? This windows 8 computer is always giving me trouble. May have to wait until work tomorrow to check it out.
Attached Files
File Type: zip data_file1.zip (10.8 KB, 14 views)
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2013, 10:30 PM   #2
rwilliams_09
New Member
 
Drives: 08 E90
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fayetteville Arkansas

Posts: 8
iTrader: (-1)

Yes, it worked just fine. Has little to do with current windows operating system. Try this sir.
rwilliams_09 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2013, 10:32 PM   #3
rwilliams_09
New Member
 
Drives: 08 E90
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Fayetteville Arkansas

Posts: 8
iTrader: (-1)

Attached this time, you will can copy the data and paste into an excel document.
Attached Files
File Type: txt data_file1.txt (49.8 KB, 59 views)
rwilliams_09 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-18-2013, 10:37 PM   #4
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
Thank you!

Last edited by ETS Michael; 09-19-2013 at 11:28 AM.
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 12:03 AM   #5
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
Datazap site is really cool.

http://www.datazap.me/u/ets-michael/...-log-quick-3rd
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 07:24 AM   #6
Transport3r
Maaaaaaaaaaaaaad
 
Transport3r's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 E92 & N52 Z4
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Melbourne, FL

Posts: 1,206
iTrader: (2)

Man, those IATs look awesome
Are you hitting fuel trim ceiling or do they peg at 34.1 because you're stacking?
__________________
Josh-

Transport3r is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 08:30 AM   #7
jpsimon
Team Zissou
 
jpsimon's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

Posts: 9,015
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETS Michael View Post
glad you like it!
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

jpsimon is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 08:47 AM   #8
AWTT335i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United states

Posts: 308
iTrader: (0)

20:1 AFR!!! You must be stoked about that lol. Your car needs more fuel in a really bad way...
AWTT335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 10:33 AM   #9
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
I will give you a little insight in why i'm doing this little test as well. I run a JZW flash on my car (not on this log of course). So i wanted to install the procede so i could log, but to make sure everything was correct I flashed my car back to stock last night. Installed the procede and did a quick 2-3 pull. Tonight I plan on putting the procede into map 0 and doing a few pulls on the jzw tune. I just don't have the ability to log with the flash tune, so this should give me the best of both worlds. I just need to read up and see if map 0 is really a pass through map or do i need to lower some of the fuel adjustments down, etc.



Michael
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 10:36 AM   #10
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
Quote:
Originally Posted by Transport3r View Post
Man, those IATs look awesome
Are you hitting fuel trim ceiling or do they peg at 34.1 because you're stacking?
I'm not stacking. This is just the Procede, i put my car back to stock last night besides full bolt on's of course. You like my start at 90f and end at 86f lol.

Michael
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 12:41 PM   #11
AWTT335i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United states

Posts: 308
iTrader: (0)

Procede has full control over the wastegates even in map 0, so no its not strictly pass through. It will target whatever PSI the DME is targeting because it still has full control over the wgdc. BTW, dude be careful. You do see how unbelievable lean you are running in those logs, right? I would suspect that BOOM is not that far away.... 20:1 AFR at peak torque is generally NOT a good thing.
AWTT335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 12:55 PM   #12
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
Quote:
Originally Posted by AWTT335i View Post
Procede has full control over the wastegates even in map 0, so no its not strictly pass through. It will target whatever PSI the DME is targeting because it still has full control over the wgdc. BTW, dude be careful. You do see how unbelievable lean you are running in those logs, right? I would suspect that BOOM is not that far away.... 20:1 AFR at peak torque is generally NOT a good thing.
Yes, this was 1 pull, It's on map 0 right now. I'm going to make adjustments to the OL Fueling tonight and see if it changes. I really want to be able to log my flash tune.

Michael
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 01:52 PM   #13
Ilma
Colonel
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

Posts: 2,552
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETS Michael View Post
Yes, this was 1 pull, It's on map 0 right now. I'm going to make adjustments to the OL Fueling tonight and see if it changes. I really want to be able to log my flash tune.

Michael
I don't think Procede will log parameters in map 0.

So if you want to log what your flash is doing then you will have to run Procede in map 1 and zero out all the bias variables that Procede controls like Boost, AFR, Timing and OL fueling.

And as AWTT mentioned.....your wastegate duty cycles will still be controlled by the Procede tables regardless.....which is not necessarily bad.

I stacked OFT flash with procede and it was fine and I was able to log what the OTF flash was doing via procede datalogs.

Here are the user adjustables that I set to zero out my procede while running map 4 for methanol control.

If you are not running meth, then just zero out the values for meth on the bottom user adjustables. Also don't forget to set all cells in the AFR offset table (in the background) to 50 = stock passthrough values:

.
.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Sticky is an idiot
Ilma is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 02:47 PM   #14
chumley
Captain
 
chumley's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Naples, FL

Posts: 711
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilma View Post
Here are the user adjustables that I set to zero out my procede while running map 4 for methanol control.

If you are not running meth, then just zero out the values for meth on the bottom user adjustables. Also don't forget to set all cells in the AFR offset table (in the background) to 50 = stock passthrough values:
.
Forgive what's probably a stupid Q but your settings above are the settings you used to effectively run the OTF but retain the Procede in Map 4 to just control meth? Are you using the ProcedeFlash file or one of the others on the OTF side?

I'm running the stack using Shiv's basic settings in the readme and while it does have that crazy immediacy to boost, I kinda feel like the Procede alone in Map 4 was smoother and generally felt better. Might just be my settings with the stack.
__________________


PROcede V5Rev3+Openflash stacked, PWM Meth, DCI, BMW PE, ETS FMIC, Koni's w/Swifts, Rogue, Powerflex, SWS8xi's, Alufelgen Hyperblacks, LUX V4
chumley is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 04:26 PM   #15
Ilma
Colonel
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

Posts: 2,552
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumley View Post
Forgive what's probably a stupid Q but your settings above are the settings you used to effectively run the OTF but retain the Procede in Map 4 to just control meth? Are you using the ProcedeFlash file or one of the others on the OTF side?

I'm running the stack using Shiv's basic settings in the readme and while it does have that crazy immediacy to boost, I kinda feel like the Procede alone in Map 4 was smoother and generally felt better. Might just be my settings with the stack.
Not a stupid question at all......in fact you are right on with your perception.

I was not running the Procede fuel flash.

I was running procede stacked with the OFT stage 1 map (which I modified slightly to hold boost longer with less taper).

And yes, the role of the procede was to simply manage my vishnu pwm kit.

And yes, the boost hit was very noticeable running the stacked tablet map and noticeably more immediate than running the Procede alone.

I speculate the reason for this was changes shiv made to the boost control PID settings in the flash table map......and also the fact that while stacked, the flash may control boost targets, but the Procede still controls the wastegate duty cycles to meet those targets, and I suspect they are more aggressive.

I am currently back to running just the procede (no stacking) and the throttle feel is much smoother and more linear and a bit more driveable too.....but I have to admit to missing that boost punch of the stacked combo.

If you examine the torque request% tables in the flash mapping, (I believe those define throttle feel) you see that you get about 80-90% torque at about 50% throttle.
__________________
Sticky is an idiot

Last edited by Ilma; 09-19-2013 at 04:36 PM.
Ilma is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 10:54 PM   #16
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
More screwing around if anyone wants to look. Loaded back up the auto tuning maps for fun.

http://datazap.me/u/ets-michael
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 11:19 PM   #17
Ilma
Colonel
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

Posts: 2,552
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETS Michael View Post
More screwing around if anyone wants to look. Loaded back up the auto tuning maps for fun.

http://datazap.me/u/ets-michael
Set your OL user adjustable to 100% and use the following cell values for your Open Loop table maps for map1 and map2

This should give you more reasonable trim values and better fueling.
:
.
.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Sticky is an idiot
Ilma is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 11:37 PM   #18
Ilma
Colonel
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hometown

Posts: 2,552
iTrader: (0)

You should also make sure you are running the right firmware for your maps......not sure which firware version matches the autotune maps, but those autotune logs are improving in the right direction, but your trims are still cycling into flatline but no longer pegged at max.

Looks like your DME might be going into open loop fuel mode sometimes.
__________________
Sticky is an idiot
Ilma is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      09-19-2013, 11:43 PM   #19
ETS Michael
 
ETS Michael's Avatar
 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA

Posts: 1,160
iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to ETS Michael
Yeah i uploaded the firmware that comes with the map pack. I'm going to try this again tomorrow and see what comes of it.
ETS Michael is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      09-20-2013, 08:16 AM   #20
AWTT335i
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United states

Posts: 308
iTrader: (0)

Lean dude.
AWTT335i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST