E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Problem with coding AE's as DRL!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-16-2013, 12:35 PM   #1
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

Exclamation Problem with coding AE's as DRL!

I own a 2007 328i with the production date of 06/2007. Myself and another member that was helping me code my car have run into an issue with my car not responding when we tried coding the angel eyes as day time running lights. We were able to successfully code a bunch of other things but this is the only code that doesn't want to work. I have confirmed that my car has a FRM2 installed(see photo below). At this point I'm not sure if we are missing something in the coding or if something was over looked. Here is part of the code that we were changing for the NFRM.

"VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL
drl_s

PWM_FL_FKT_DRL
wert_02

TAGFAHRLICHT_ECE_1
aktiv"



Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2013, 07:58 PM   #2
BMW..
Lieutenant
10
Rep
596
Posts

 
Drives: E46 M3 /E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Boca Raton FL

iTrader: (0)

Use your stalk menu and make sure the drl is actually on and not off
__________________
Mystic Blue E90
Phoenix Yellow E46
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2013, 08:03 PM   #3
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW.. View Post
Use your stalk menu and make sure the drl is actually on and not off
I've gone through that menu and they are set to "ON" but it's my low beams that stay on as DRL.
Appreciate 0
      07-16-2013, 08:30 PM   #4
charles.soori
Second Lieutenant
Canada
3
Rep
221
Posts

 
Drives: e90 08 328i
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ottawa,Ontario

iTrader: (1)

make sure your not coding in expert profile.
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2013, 04:44 AM   #5
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles.soori View Post
make sure your not coding in expert profile.
We used the "MAN profile" to do this, like always. The other member that helped me was able to use the same code and it work great for him...
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2013, 10:46 AM   #6
scanboy
Lieutenant
United_States
7
Rep
440
Posts

 
Drives: E90 Montego Blue+Black Int.
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (0)

Did you read the module again after coding to confirm that it was indeed changed to drl_s? I remembered that this was the only thing I changed, from drl_h to drl_s. I have the exact same car as yours 07 328, with production date 06/2007.
Appreciate 0
      07-17-2013, 05:41 PM   #7
pweber
Banned
pweber's Avatar
Germany
2
Rep
258
Posts

 
Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

iTrader: (0)

PM me, gmail stopped working.
Appreciate 0
      07-18-2013, 05:51 PM   #8
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****** View Post
PM me, gmail stopped working.
Are You receiving my emails today?
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 09:51 AM   #9
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanboy View Post
Did you read the module again after coding to confirm that it was indeed changed to drl_s? I remembered that this was the only thing I changed, from drl_h to drl_s. I have the exact same car as yours 07 328, with production date 06/2007.
I just checked this today with ****** and everything is as it should be. the AE come on when i have my high beams on but they stay off as DRL.

any other help would be greatly appreciated!
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2013, 10:30 AM   #10
taywk
Registered
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (0)

Happen to my e90 07 too. Drl on = headlight on . Can't get it run as DRL after I change it to angel light headlamp
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2013, 02:44 AM   #11
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

I have the same problem almost.(tagfarlight_mit_xxx)
Using the above settings i can choose what lights i want to be on as DRL.. tail light numberplate lights etc. but for SL1 / SL2 (angel eyes) nothing happens.
There still turned off in daylight.
Another strange thing is choosing the NSW (foglights) the low beam goes on all the time even i day light.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2013, 09:14 AM   #12
Ruhnie
Private
Ruhnie's Avatar
0
Rep
72
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Jet Black E90 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeisnorml View Post
I own a 2007 328i with the production date of 06/2007. Myself and another member that was helping me code my car have run into an issue with my car not responding when we tried coding the angel eyes as day time running lights. We were able to successfully code a bunch of other things but this is the only code that doesn't want to work. I have confirmed that my car has a FRM2 installed(see photo below). At this point I'm not sure if we are missing something in the coding or if something was over looked. Here is part of the code that we were changing for the NFRM.

"VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL
drl_s

PWM_FL_FKT_DRL
wert_02

TAGFAHRLICHT_ECE_1
aktiv"
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
I'm having the same issue, did you ever resolve it? Also, what is PWN_FL_FKT_DRL for (and what module)? I don't see it in the google spreadsheet list of codes. This is on a 09/07 e90.
Appreciate 0
      08-06-2013, 06:02 PM   #13
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

nope still no success
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 03:45 PM   #14
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

My problem with the fogs as DRL enable was no problem at all.. It was getting to dark outside.. The light sensor almost need direct sunlight to be in DRL-mode.

But still nu success with the AE.. They are still off in DRL-mode
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 03:50 PM   #15
Ruhnie
Private
Ruhnie's Avatar
0
Rep
72
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 Jet Black E90 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dallas

iTrader: (0)

I found that even if you set drl to activ in the module, you still have to turn it on from the BC stalk or in idrive. Mine is working now.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2013, 07:15 PM   #16
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruhnie View Post
I found that even if you set drl to activ in the module, you still have to turn it on from the BC stalk or in idrive. Mine is working now.
in my BC stalk my DRL are set to on! :/
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2013, 09:12 PM   #17
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

I'm getting service on my car tomorrow and i'm also going to have them look at a few things about why AE are not coming on as DRL. Not sure maybe it could be something like a wire in the wrong pin set on the plug? I'm pretty sure it isn't a burnt fuse or the coding.
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2013, 01:30 AM   #18
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Yeah, i have iDrive and it set to on.
My AE:s is working great in park light mode and with the switch all the way to the right together with dipped beam so it must be something with the coding... at least in my case.
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2013, 11:44 AM   #19
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

i have a feeling i'm going to have to have the bmw dealership diagnose this issue :/
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2013, 03:03 PM   #20
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

UPDATE: after going to the dealership they wiped all the old coding bring my car back to default and re uploaded the latest coding for my E90. Everything is working just as it should with no issues. ****** re coded some euro codes for me as well as AE as DRL and everything is working just fine!
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2013, 03:09 PM   #21
ChrizLoud
Vtech St2 - 380hp/750nm
ChrizLoud's Avatar
Sweden
1
Rep
73
Posts

 
Drives: BMW E61 535D LCI Touring
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Great it got sorted out for you.. Still no luck here.
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2013, 05:22 PM   #22
mikeisnorml
Private First Class
mikeisnorml's Avatar
1
Rep
105
Posts

 
Drives: 07 BMW 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrizLoud View Post
Great it got sorted out for you.. Still no luck here.
Thanks,

you for sure have it coded correctly? explain your situation exactly?...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST