E90Post
 


N54Tuning.com
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Need HELP! Audio Experts Alpine amp/JL sub/ Technics harness



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-21-2013, 11:17 AM   #1
FEDE/E92
Private First Class
1
Rep
102
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA

iTrader: (2)

Need HELP! Audio Experts Alpine amp/JL sub/ Technics harness

Good Morning, Im in need of some help of the audio experts here. Really quick on my set up I have a 335i with L7 system all I wanted was to ass a sub to the trunk for a little more base. Here is the set up
1. Alpine PDX 1.600 amp
2. JL W6v2-d4
3. Technics Harness
4. Factory L7

My problems is when it comes to the amp and hooking up the RCA cables coming from my LOC. The only way seems to work is crossing RCA cables between channel 1 & 2. For some reason this doesnt seem correct but is the only way seems to work. I posted some pics please all help be appreciated
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 12:28 PM   #2
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
65
Rep
3,647
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

Ok start by reading the labels on your RCA hookups, you clearly have one hooked up to an input and one to an output. Why in the world did that make sense to you?
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 01:15 PM   #3
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,494
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

So are you saying it doesn't work if they are connected properly (both on input)?

If so you might have one channel on your loc out of phase with the other and they are canceling each other out. It doesnt seem likely since you got the harness though. I really don't think it's a good idea to have your input plugged into the preout.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 01:17 PM   #4
FEDE/E92
Private First Class
1
Rep
102
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA

iTrader: (2)

It doesn't Mr. Obvious, but that the only way it works. I wont it work hook in my inputs
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 01:21 PM   #5
FEDE/E92
Private First Class
1
Rep
102
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA

iTrader: (2)

bmw325i I do have the the Technics Harness with LOC
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 01:37 PM   #6
taibanl
Brigadier General
taibanl's Avatar
65
Rep
3,647
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

iTrader: (4)

I suppose its also possible that the rca jacks are wired incorrectly internal to the amp. Try 1 ch at a time in each of inputs. Then try other. That should sort out if amp or loc issue.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2013, 03:01 PM   #7
Technic
Lieutenant General
Technic's Avatar
United_States
174
Rep
11,205
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by FEDE/E92 View Post
Good Morning, Im in need of some help of the audio experts here. Really quick on my set up I have a 335i with L7 system all I wanted was to ass a sub to the trunk for a little more base. Here is the set up
1. Alpine PDX 1.600 amp
2. JL W6v2-d4
3. Technics Harness
4. Factory L7

My problems is when it comes to the amp and hooking up the RCA cables coming from my LOC. The only way seems to work is crossing RCA cables between channel 1 & 2. For some reason this doesnt seem correct but is the only way seems to work. I posted some pics please all help be appreciated
Is this an used amp? If this is the only way that it works then it is defective as the input and output are electrically the same internal to the amp. Thus if the input terminal does not work but its respective output does then the issue is internal to the amp.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 12:03 PM   #8
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

Hey guys im after a technic amp harness for my 2005 320i. I have the professional hu with 6 speakers but I looked in the trunk and there appears to be a little silver amp?I thought if you have 6 speakers no tweeters you were definitely base but then I thought base has no amp?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 12:12 PM   #9
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

I want to run hertz 2way coax 4in fronts and oem subs off a cheap jvc 4 channel amp 60 x 4 rms oem rears off hu and I have an audison bit ten also.would this set up be ok?Obviously not going to be booming but I just want a bit more volume some highs and a balanced system.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 12:19 PM   #10
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,494
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsima View Post
I want to run hertz 2way coax 4in fronts and oem subs off a cheap jvc 4 channel amp 60 x 4 rms oem rears off hu and I have an audison bit ten also.would this set up be ok?Obviously not going to be booming but I just want a bit more volume some highs and a balanced system.
You really should start your own thread since your question has nothing to do with this one. Is your car even an e90 since its an 05?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 12:47 PM   #11
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

I just joined so I dont think it will let me start a thread.yes its an 05 e90 h&r sport kit csl 19 reps im not sure why mines 05 perhaps it was a registration mistake here in Australia.have you any advice in regards to my queries bud?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 12:51 PM   #12
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

Yeah it saysi have to wait 24 hours before I can pm members or start threads.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 01:05 PM   #13
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 01:06 PM   #14
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,494
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsima View Post
I just joined so I dont think it will let me start a thread.yes its an 05 e90 h&r sport kit csl 19 reps im not sure why mines 05 perhaps it was a registration mistake here in Australia.have you any advice in regards to my queries bud?
You should start out by reading the stickies.

Do you have tweeters on the front doors? Or a center speaker on the dash? Not sure about that amp you might want something with some more power.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 01:37 PM   #15
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

No tweeters no center speaker weird huh..im only running hertz dcx 100 4in fronts they
are rated 30w rms 4 ohm so I thought the amp would be ok? I guess the amp wont be giving much power to the sub but then I was hoping to somehow get a balanced sound with the bit ten dsp?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 03:05 PM   #16
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,494
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsima View Post
No tweeters no center speaker weird huh..im only running hertz dcx 100 4in fronts they
are rated 30w rms 4 ohm so I thought the amp would be ok? I guess the amp wont be giving much power to the sub but then I was hoping to somehow get a balanced sound with the bit ten dsp?
Are you sure you have an amp? Can you take a picture of it?

Which amp are you planning to use? The reason I said it might not have enough power is because most cheap amps are overrated and don't put out as much power as they say. What is your budget?
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 07:46 PM   #17
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
Are you sure you have an amp? Can you take a picture of it?

Which amp are you planning to use? The reason I said it might not have enough power is because most cheap amps are overrated and don't put out as much power as they say. What is your budget?
Well I it looks like an amp?but I dont think it is what is it?sorry im a complete noob in this car audio world.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by simsima; 08-03-2013 at 08:20 PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 07:50 PM   #18
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

Heres the gear.so my main question is do I have base and id like to source a harness for complete plug n play.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2013, 08:00 PM   #19
simsima
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: 2005 e90 320i, h&r sport,19in
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
Are you sure you have an amp? Can you take a picture of it?

Which amp are you planning to use? The reason I said it might not have enough power is because most cheap amps are overrated and don't put out as much power as they say. What is your budget?
Dont really have a budget just want to spend a little as possible and get a decent sound . perhaps later on I could use this amp to power front and rears and get a separate trunk sub amp combo and bypass the under seat woofers all together?still works out cheaper than a 5 chanel amp with earthquake sws 8s.as for sq?fingers crossed lol
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2013, 12:21 AM   #20
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,494
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by simsima View Post
Well I it looks like an amp?but I dont think it is what is it?sorry im a complete noob in this car audio world.
No thats not an amp. I think its for bluetooth or something else, not sure. PM technic for a harness. You should be able to fix the eq on the bass system with the bit ten without recoding, but if you recode your headunit to hifi you will start out with a flat low level signal.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST