E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > OpenFlash Tablet: In-Dash Boost Gauge and On-Board Datalogging



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-24-2013, 03:04 AM   #1
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
700
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

OpenFlash Tablet: In-Dash Boost Gauge and On-Board Datalogging

The Rombinhood team is just wrapping up final details. They hope to have this update available to all in time for the weekend. I think this is the first MSD80/81 flash tune with Dash Activations.


Last edited by shiv@vishnu; 07-24-2013 at 03:22 AM.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 03:36 AM   #2
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,026
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (1)

Awesome work! Fast progress keeping my tinkering needs under control. Has it been possible through the procede or now the open flash to hijack the digital center screen? A meth flow or peak and hold boost gauge would look sweet in there.
__________________
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: In the works. Having a little Deja Vu
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+ RIP .
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 03:42 AM   #3
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
700
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3000GT MR View Post
Awesome work! Fast progress keeping my tinkering needs under control. Has it been possible through the procede or now the open flash to hijack the digital center screen? A meth flow or peak and hold boost gauge would look sweet in there.
Yes, the OpenFlash Tablet can hijack anything on the dash, including the center screen. It's using the same code as the Procede for the in-dash boost gauge. It's relatively easy to add the other dash functions as well. However, meth flow signal will be hard since there is no signal input on the Tablet that will accept a flow sensor signal. We might have to get more creative with it
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 03:55 AM   #4
Game
Major General
Game's Avatar
United_States
81
Rep
5,118
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lockport/Chicago, IL

iTrader: (15)

Well you guys got that going real quick. This thing just keeps getting better.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 04:04 AM   #5
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,026
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (1)

Shiv that's great to hear. Now my head keeps coming up with all these dumb ideas for the center display. I don't know crap about that type of coding otherwise I'd try to help. But a peak and hold boost gauge would be awesome or even a boost gauge. 20+psi makes gas gauge useless for me. Digital AFR would be a good one too or IAT . Ahh i gotta stop!
__________________
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: In the works. Having a little Deja Vu
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+ RIP .
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 04:08 AM   #6
3000GT MR
Major
3000GT MR's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
1,026
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i/3000gt vr4
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sav GA

iTrader: (1)

Sorry one more!! . Knock alert. Either digital knock read out or have them go full box color like when you start your car with the procede. Ok I'm done this time i swear
__________________
335i 2010 e92 M-sport Mods: In the works. Having a little Deja Vu
335i 2009 e90 665RWHP Mod's: Vishnu/FFtec 6466 single turbo, VRSF exhaust, spec 3+ RIP .
3000GT VR4 1994 647AWHP Mod's: Fully built/forged block, twin TD-05's, Meth, and a whole lot of support.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 04:59 AM   #7
index1489
Colonel
index1489's Avatar
United_States
29
Rep
2,116
Posts

 
Drives: Out of warranty BMW
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Chino, CA

iTrader: (7)

I rented a new mustang recently, all these amazing digital gauges are built into the car already, AFR, cylinder head temp, inlet air temp, transmission temp, a track mode with accelerometer..... my 330i doesn't even have a temp gauge, what the hell was BMW thinking, replacing it with a useless mechanical instant mpg.
__________________
Gotta pay to play.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 06:35 AM   #8
Tzu
Major
Canada
15
Rep
1,491
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (1)

Is new firmware for procedes ever going to be released?
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 08:25 AM   #9
Johnny Boost
Major
21
Rep
1,167
Posts

 
Drives: '11 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: TBD

iTrader: (0)

Is on-the-fly map switching still being developed also? I remember someone mentioning that as long as the device is plugged in, it is possible.
__________________
BMS Intake | BMS DP | Cobb AP V3 | E50 Pro Tune by PTF | VRSF CP | Alpina B3 TCU | Custom Coding

LUX v4 LEDs | Shadowline Grills | M3 Lip Spoiler | 5% tint
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 08:39 AM   #10
feedmyfast
Private First Class
2
Rep
177
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Pembroke Pines,FL

iTrader: (0)

this might come off like a stupid question but i would like to confirm. the gauge hijaking is specifically for the gauge cluster correct? i ask because i have the bmw performance steering wheel if i hijacked my oil temp gauge i dont want the same crazy readings on my steering wheel.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 08:40 AM   #11
enrita
Major General
enrita's Avatar
Sweden
92
Rep
7,331
Posts

 
Drives: 335i - Big turbos
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Italian in Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by feedmyfast View Post
this might come off like a stupid question but i would like to confirm. the gauge hijaking is specifically for the gauge cluster correct? i ask because i have the bmw performance steering wheel if i hijacked my oil temp gauge i dont want the same crazy readings on my steering wheel.
yes of course. 2 different things.
__________________
07 335i AT - TD St.2 Turbos - COBB (Custom Cobb mapping by http://www.protuningfreaks.com/) - JB4G5 ISO - Okada Coils - NGK 5992 Plugs - E85 Walbro - Injen Intake - Helix IC - Snow Stg. 3 - Stett CP - AR DPs - midpipes 100 HJS Cats - Bastuck Quad - PSS10 - QUAIFE LSD - BMS OCC - Forge DVs - AR OC - ALCON BBK - M3 Chassi - Dinan CP - Velocity M rear Toe arms - Advan RZ-DF - Level 10 AT upgrade - Alpina AT Flash
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 08:41 AM   #12
mkPOTO
Mr. Nice Says Hello
mkPOTO's Avatar
200
Rep
15,636
Posts

 
Drives: 1999 528I
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA

iTrader: (23)

Garage List
any word on if this will work on a m3?
__________________

EVOLVE E600 BMW E92 M3
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 08:52 AM   #13
mwahlert
Lieutenant Colonel
mwahlert's Avatar
29
Rep
1,556
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Durham, NC

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
I assume the OFT must remain connected for the in dash boost display to function?
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 09:19 AM   #14
135Pats
Turbo's Here
135Pats's Avatar
United_States
61
Rep
5,678
Posts

 
Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (2)

Charge temps and Lambda would be AWESOME in-dash. Good work here.
__________________
E88 N54 Alpinweiss/Coral Red/Motiv HTA 3586r Tial .82AR/Meisterschaft Race/Berk Resonated/ER CP/Synapse/VRSF FMIC/FFTEC LPFP/HFS-4 DO Stainless Lines/BMS Thermostat Delete/Rob Beck PCV Valve + Cap/BMS OCC/ST Coilovers/M3 FCA + Tension Rods/M3 Subframe Bushings/M3 FSB/DINAN Camber Plates/Apex ARC-8/Project Kics/VAC Hubs/Rogue Transmission Mounts/Alpina TCU Flash/Icarbon/Kerscher/BMW Performance
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 09:23 AM   #15
WLF
Second Lieutenant
United_States
5
Rep
216
Posts

 
Drives: n54 e92
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shiv@vishnu View Post
Yes, the OpenFlash Tablet can hijack anything on the dash, including the center screen. It's using the same code as the Procede for the in-dash boost gauge. It's relatively easy to add the other dash functions as well. However, meth flow signal will be hard since there is no signal input on the Tablet that will accept a flow sensor signal. We might have to get more creative with it
Shiv i sent u an email i got no response. Sent you a pm on this forum no response either. I know ur busy but keep in mind that the only thing keeping me and some other folks from buying any other product from you is the bad customer support that everyone complains about.
Ill give it another shot and send u a pm.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 09:29 AM   #16
BuraQ
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
BuraQ's Avatar
United_States
63
Rep
3,201
Posts


 
Drives: 11" E92 335is
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335is  [3.03]
@ Shiv


Ok my last question, others told yes it does but I just want confirmation, sorry if I missed it being mentioned somewhere else.

Can I use this tablet as a "stand alone" data logger and diagnostic tool with out having to flash any software and without the PROCede ?

I am pretty sure it saves the logs in CSV Multipoint rows
__________________
BQ Tuning by WedgePerformance - Torque Junkies
400+ launches, 3 Driveshafts, No DCT Slippage, Flash Only
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 09:41 AM   #17
themyst
Major General
themyst's Avatar
South Korea
86
Rep
6,602
Posts

 
Drives: E90 335i LCI
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: NYC

iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to themyst
why hijack the dash gauges when you can mount the unit and get multiple channels at once? id assume you need the unit connected to hijack the gauges anyway, so its kind of redundant.
__________________
E90 LCI N54 6AT
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 11:25 AM   #18
nodnarb
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E90 335i & 2012 X3 35i
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: San Francisco, CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst
why hijack the dash gauges when you can mount the unit and get multiple channels at once? id assume you need the unit connected to hijack the gauges anyway, so its kind of redundant.
Fuel gauge hijack is much easier to read than the screen on the tablet. Also some people don't want to mount the tablet.

Coming from procede 2b, I really miss boost on fuel, but I'm loving the stage-0 OTS!
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 11:30 AM   #19
Jeff@TopGearSolutions
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Jeff@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
242
Rep
18,297
Posts


 
Drives: C6 Z06, GSXR-750, 09 335i
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: TopGearSolutions.com

iTrader: (32)

Send a message via AIM to Jeff@TopGearSolutions
Quote:
Originally Posted by themyst View Post
why hijack the dash gauges when you can mount the unit and get multiple channels at once? id assume you need the unit connected to hijack the gauges anyway, so its kind of redundant.
I thought the gauges could be hi-jacked without the tablet being plugged in? I dont know but it would be quite silly to have to leave the unit plugged in to hi-jack gauges.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 11:54 AM   #20
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
700
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nodnarb View Post
Fuel gauge hijack is much easier to read than the screen on the tablet. Also some people don't want to mount the tablet.

Coming from procede 2b, I really miss boost on fuel, but I'm loving the stage-0 OTS!
+1
For a data like boost, which is monitored so frequently, it's more useful to have it displayed on the dash than on the Tablet screen. And boost, in particular, is always better to read on an analog gauge (needle) than on a digital readout since it gives the user a better sense of what is going on with respect to boost stability. At this point, it's easy to add on the other Procede in-dash displays (AFR, IAT, Ign Advance, etc,.).
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 11:55 AM   #21
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
700
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuraQ View Post
@ Shiv


Ok my last question, others told yes it does but I just want confirmation, sorry if I missed it being mentioned somewhere else.

Can I use this tablet as a "stand alone" data logger and diagnostic tool with out having to flash any software and without the PROCede ?

I am pretty sure it saves the logs in CSV Multipoint rows
Yes, you can use the tablet as a stand-alone data logger/dash activator/diagnostic tool/etc,. without needing to flash the software or without the Procede.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkPOTO View Post
any word on if this will work on a m3?
We have m3 support right now. So the Tablet can already read and right to the DME. At least for the older software versions. Recently BMW introduced some anti-tamper DME code which needs to be worked around. I think Rombinhood and his team will be supporting MSS60 themselves with OTS maps and the XDF files. But I don't think they are at that point yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WLF View Post
Shiv i sent u an email i got no response. Sent you a pm on this forum no response either. I know ur busy but keep in mind that the only thing keeping me and some other folks from buying any other product from you is the bad customer support that everyone complains about.
Ill give it another shot and send u a pm.
I just got your PM from this morning. Couldn't find your email in my inbox. Or any pertaining to E85 in-house custom tuning. I think I do a pretty darn good job of answering questions and keeping up with messages. Still, if someone does not get a response in the timeframe they expect, I encourage them to pick up the phone and call the office. You probably won't talk to me because I am usually in the field testing. But the guys can answer 99% of the questions you may have. To answer your question, we have not done a straight E85 tune yet with just a flash. Let alone one with E85+meth. So I can't quote you on how much it will cost for tuning such a set-up in-house. Nor can I suggest the OpenFlash tablet for you at this time. A lot more E85 only testing needs to be done if it's to be used in a flash-only application. Sorry.

Last edited by shiv@vishnu; 07-24-2013 at 12:39 PM.
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2013, 12:04 PM   #22
Lunatic Fringe
Private First Class
1
Rep
132
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Sideways

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff@TopGearSolutions View Post
I thought the gauges could be hi-jacked without the tablet being plugged in? I dont know but it would be quite silly to have to leave the unit plugged in to hi-jack gauges.
I think the unit has to be plugged in. In order for a feature like that to work without an external device, new tables would need to be written into the DME which requires a lot of work. It's been done on the Evo Romraider platform I believe, but it took a lot of community development which hopefully is what we see with OpenFlash

Shiv can correct me if I'm wrong...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST