E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing / Warranty > Service Engine Soon Light ON e92?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-26-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Service Engine Soon Light ON e92?

So been driving with the service engine soon light on for a couple weeks now. No loss of power in the car, sounds fine runs like nothing is wrong. Tight on cash atm and don't want to bring her in and pay 100 bucks to see whats up. Any way to reset the light?? I have checked the gas cap and all that stuff. I don't have the machine to reset it. Ive gone through the menus in the car and cant seem to get it off. Any advice?? thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2013, 07:58 AM   #2
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

You'll need a scan tool to read and reset it, if you're on a budget you can get that all set up for the price of a cable if you have a laptop. They range from $22-$100.
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2013, 12:32 PM   #3
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

I have a laptop can you point me in the right direction of the cable I can buy online somewhere? Didnt know I could do it from my pc.
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2013, 04:16 PM   #4
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

There's a us seller now that sells them for $21.99 on ebay, search bmw dcan
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2013, 06:40 PM   #5
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
There's a us seller now that sells them for $21.99 on ebay, search bmw dcan
Thank you!!
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2013, 10:28 AM   #6
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Pm'ed you with a link to the software
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2013, 11:22 AM   #7
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
Pm'ed you with a link to the software
Thanks so once I buy the cable I can use the software rather then the cd provided??
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 12:23 PM   #8
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roccob1123
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
Pm'ed you with a link to the software
Thanks so once I buy the cable I can use the software rather then the cd provided??
Yes that cd is worthless
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 12:56 PM   #9
GoRomeo
Colonel
GoRomeo's Avatar
26
Rep
2,363
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Diego CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [2.83]
I used TORQUE free app on my tablet and just bought the blutooth adaptor for like $ 15.00 last year and was able to reset "Service Engine Soon" light. You can also use your android phone if you have one. Not sure if TORQUE app is available for Iphones.

Out of pocket $15.00
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 05:59 PM   #10
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoRomeo
I used TORQUE free app on my tablet and just bought the blutooth adaptor for like $ 15.00 last year and was able to reset "Service Engine Soon" light. You can also use your android phone if you have one. Not sure if TORQUE app is available for Iphones.

Out of pocket $15.00
Does torque read and reset BMW specific fault codes or just generic OBD II?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 06:30 PM   #11
GoRomeo
Colonel
GoRomeo's Avatar
26
Rep
2,363
Posts

 
Drives: 330i
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Diego CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 330i  [2.83]
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks View Post
Does torque read and reset BMW specific fault codes or just generic OBD II?
Not sure to be honest but is a good question. I would be interested in knowing this as well.

I used the free app version. Im sure someone here in the forum can help?
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 08:19 PM   #12
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoRomeo View Post
I used TORQUE free app on my tablet and just bought the blutooth adaptor for like $ 15.00 last year and was able to reset "Service Engine Soon" light. You can also use your android phone if you have one. Not sure if TORQUE app is available for Iphones.

Out of pocket $15.00
Never heard of this, thanks for the info ill look into it!
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 08:25 PM   #13
mlifxs
Diamond Geezer
mlifxs's Avatar
24
Rep
1,788
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 2007 328i Saloon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
i have torque pro. i think it only reads generic odb codes.
i found another product on this forum, go to
**************.com.
Reads proprietary codes from the DME, resets codes, registers battery and resets adaptation.
There is a free version that does all of this. You will still need a cable, the site includes links to cables on amazon. good luck.
__________________
AA Stage 2 - M3 control Arms FR - BMW PS2 - Dinan springs - APEX EC-7 - H&R front swaybar - GC street camber plates - Whiteline subframe inserts
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 08:44 PM   #14
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

This is what Im currently looking at now. Do you think I will be able to reset the service engine soon light with this? I have an iphone so this is the only ap and plug in that would work for me. Seems like a pretty neat tool!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-iOBD2-WI...-/330834770024
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 09:22 PM   #15
mlifxs
Diamond Geezer
mlifxs's Avatar
24
Rep
1,788
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 2007 328i Saloon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by roccob1123 View Post
This is what Im currently looking at now. Do you think I will be able to reset the service engine soon light with this? I have an iphone so this is the only ap and plug in that would work for me. Seems like a pretty neat tool!

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-iOBD2-WI...-/330834770024
Not sure, maybe others can chime in as well. I'll try and explain what I used and why.

For Torque and Torque Pro (software that works on Android), an ELM 327 Bluetooth device such as this will work:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
This is the actual device I ordered and it does work fine with Torque or Torque pro on my android phone. If you have an Iphone, there is at least one app, "DashCommand" that should work (I have no experience with it, just what I'm reading). DashCommand also appears to use an ELM 327 device.

The setup I'm mentioning above only reads ODB II codes, best of my knowledge. I have cleared an ODB II code using Torque and the ELM 327 device above.

I've also read and cleared proprietary BMW codes, but not with Torque. I found them using the **************.com software mentioned in my previous post to your thread.

ALSO

If you have an Autozone close by, they will scan your car with an ODB II scanner for free and may be able to clear an ODB II code. I don't think they can do anything with BMW proprietary codes.

Might be worth going there first. Autozone is pretty helpful on this issue as well as free fluid disposal and tool lending.
__________________
AA Stage 2 - M3 control Arms FR - BMW PS2 - Dinan springs - APEX EC-7 - H&R front swaybar - GC street camber plates - Whiteline subframe inserts
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 09:36 PM   #16
mlifxs
Diamond Geezer
mlifxs's Avatar
24
Rep
1,788
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 2007 328i Saloon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
I just checked your ebay post again.
Best I can tell, you get some sort of ODB II adapter. Not sure if it's ELM 327, didn't see a reference. And then they have a link to software on Itunes to use with the adapter they sell you.

Looks similar to the things Torque does on Android. Just a little pricier.
__________________
AA Stage 2 - M3 control Arms FR - BMW PS2 - Dinan springs - APEX EC-7 - H&R front swaybar - GC street camber plates - Whiteline subframe inserts
Appreciate 0
      07-30-2013, 09:56 PM   #17
Chriztofor
Colonel
Chriztofor's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
2,720
Posts

 
Drives: '06 325i Auto
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (1)

No cable needed
__________________
If no codes are being thrown use Chevron Techron fuel injector cleaner (concentrate). It solves rpm fluctuating upon cold start-up. Also, for most BMW problems start off by scanning your car with the Peake Research Tool. It contains the actual BMW codes. If you want to register a newly installed battery for free (just buy a $10 cable) and google/download BMWLogger
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2013, 07:42 PM   #18
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlifxs View Post
I just checked your ebay post again.
Best I can tell, you get some sort of ODB II adapter. Not sure if it's ELM 327, didn't see a reference. And then they have a link to software on Itunes to use with the adapter they sell you.

Looks similar to the things Torque does on Android. Just a little pricier.

Thanks for the reply and knowledge. Ya it is a little pricey but seems like it does the same thing as torque for the android as you said. Also I tried to reset it just by going through the way in that video, however it won't reset the service engine soon light.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2013, 07:45 PM   #19
Chriztofor
Colonel
Chriztofor's Avatar
United_States
42
Rep
2,720
Posts

 
Drives: '06 325i Auto
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chicago Burbs

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roccob1123 View Post
Thanks for the reply and knowledge. Ya it is a little pricey but seems like it does the same thing as torque for the android as you said. Also I tried to reset it just by going through the way in that video, however it won't reset the service engine soon light.
Read the posts on this link http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...3+series+reset
__________________
If no codes are being thrown use Chevron Techron fuel injector cleaner (concentrate). It solves rpm fluctuating upon cold start-up. Also, for most BMW problems start off by scanning your car with the Peake Research Tool. It contains the actual BMW codes. If you want to register a newly installed battery for free (just buy a $10 cable) and google/download BMWLogger
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2013, 07:52 PM   #20
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriztofor View Post
I will try it again following this. I will post if it works.. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2013, 07:55 PM   #21
mlifxs
Diamond Geezer
mlifxs's Avatar
24
Rep
1,788
Posts

 
Drives: Jet Black 2007 328i Saloon
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriztofor View Post
think your post is useful for resetting CBS or brake light after replacing sensor. I don't think this will clear CEL due to ODB II error.
__________________
AA Stage 2 - M3 control Arms FR - BMW PS2 - Dinan springs - APEX EC-7 - H&R front swaybar - GC street camber plates - Whiteline subframe inserts
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2013, 07:59 PM   #22
roccob1123
Second Lieutenant
roccob1123's Avatar
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlifxs View Post
think your post is useful for resetting CBS or brake light after replacing sensor. I don't think this will clear CEL due to ODB II error.
Ya thats what im thinking too. It did not get rid of the light the first time I tried this process.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST