E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > Retrofit CIC and Combox on E92 with standard CD player



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-08-2013, 06:23 AM   #67
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bungleaio View Post
It's pretty simple just go to nav and programme an address to go to and start the navigation, then go back to where you can stop the navigation. Have the stop navigation bit selected but don't press select. Then on which ever short cut button you want to program it too just press and hold.

That button will then stop any current navigation or start navigation to the last destination.

You may be able to program the button before you start the navigation but mine wouldn't let me when I tired it on mine earlier but that might because it was already programmed for that function.

The number buttons are fantastic, I don't have any programmed for radio presets, mine are

1 - Start/stop navigation
2 - Climate settings (I don't have a rest button so I can get the fans going if the engine is off)
3 - Map Overhead view
4 - Map Perspective
5 - Split screen on/off
6 - Brightness of the idrive screen (I don't really use this but I've not found another use for this button)
7 - Change the map between coloured or the grey version with the yellow/orange/red lines
8 - Night mode for the map

CIC wasn't a priority when I bought my car but it was a nice thing to have but I couldn't live without it now. I love having the maps on with the traffic reports. Also having a satnav stuck to the screen with wires to the cigarette lighter has not been missed.

I'm really looking forward to getting a combox installed, it should complete the package nicely.
Many thanks matey.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 06:25 AM   #68
dest
Captain
dest's Avatar
United Kingdom
10
Rep
843
Posts

 
Drives: 330d Msport Touring
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Northamptonshire

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post

Stage II:
Combox which MAY* give you
- 6FL connecting your ipod / iphone with standard usb cable

*depends on the software of your CIC and what hardware you buy. 6NR require different hardware to other options.

Ipod connection is of absolute importance to me, so would there be any way of knowing which I would have to buy to ensure it works?

Cheers for all the help
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 06:29 AM   #69
magic77
Colonel
magic77's Avatar
United Kingdom
38
Rep
2,735
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Surrey

iTrader: (0)

Thanks sounds like a plan once I've decided will get it touch if thats ok
__________________
F30 335i M Sport
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 10:45 AM   #70
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by magic77 View Post
Thanks sounds like a plan once I've decided will get it touch if thats ok
Sure bud.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-08-2013, 11:09 AM   #71
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dest View Post
Ipod connection is of absolute importance to me, so would there be any way of knowing which I would have to buy to ensure it works?

Cheers for all the help
Sorry, missed your response.
As far as its E series Combox (model number: BN2000) and not F series, it will give you 6FL.

All my CIC / combox had appropriate files. So Jammy has been really luck that it worked without any hassle. The CIC which I sold with DAB also has appropriate level of software.

I am installing a combox for somebody who has 2009 CIC and looking forward to see all the issues I come across.

I will update here once I gather all the info.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2013, 04:52 AM   #72
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
BMW started combox on late 2010 cars and its ultimate solution for media.
It is optional and it can give you
- 6FL connecting your ipod / iphone with standard usb cable
- 6NF ability to stream the music over the bluetooth
- 6NR ability to play videos off you iphone / ipod + BMW applications (update Facebook status, tweets, internet radio)
- Bluetooth if you havn't had it.
- BMW internet
- BMW live

Guys
I have been asked multiple questions on combox retrofit in past 3 weeks. More or less people ask the same questions so I thought I'll put some FAQs here.

1- Why should I fit combox?

There are multiple reasons to have one. To start with, it gives you the ability to listen to your music just via standard apple cable (6FL).
It also gives you the album art.
It gives you ability to have internet on your car.
You can stream your music via bluetooth.
You can have BMW applications (6NR). Examples are face book, tweeter and some other applications.
You can listen to internet radio. You'll need to tether the data packet / internet through your network provider.

2- What should I choose? 6FL, 6NF, 6NR?

With combox you will get 6NF automatically (ability to stream the music) with coding.

For 6FL, you will need to buy additional USB fakra cable (50) and USB + aux in socket if you do not have one already fitted on your car.
And coding for it.

For 6NR application, it can work on 6FL usb hub and additional coding required with correct software on your CIC. If your CIC has a latest software, then it requires FSC code insertion by the dealer.

For 6NR video, You will need to buy additional USB fakra cable, and USB + aux in (switchable b.w audio / video), Y cable which can support audio and video), Video signals cable, Aux signals carrier cable.

6FL + 6NF is must with this retrofit. And with coding you can enable the 6NR for bmw application.

However 6NR video capability is for those who want to have the video from your iphone on the CIC screen.

3- I have TCU/ Mulf/ Mulf 2/ Mulf high. Can I replace those with combox?


Yes, you can with correct hardware and software.

4- I have BMW assist. Will I be able to retain the BMW assist with this retrofit?

No, your beloved dealer does not allow to transfer your bmw assist account to a different IMEI (of combox).

5- Can I send a link of google maps to my car? Or can I find my car with BMW application?

Unfortunately, not. Since you are using your mobile phone to tether the internet and not via combox IMEI, therefore it is not possible.

6- Can I get it fitted in my car if I do not have bluetooth? I do not have any module in the boot?

Yes, it can be fitted with the correct kit. Though combox will be fitted at the front of the car to save the cost.
So you will have phone + combox options.

7- How do I know if I have a combox or something else?


Check the photos in the first post and it clearly shows you the combox. Check it in your car. And if cannot be bothered to check in your car, then go through the specs of your car and it should clearly states that you have a combox.

8- I already have a combox. Can I retrofit 6FL, and other options?


Yes, you can.
I had a car where the owner bought official 6FL kit (275) from the dealer and I fitted it.
You do not require that kit as with appropriate software, you can have 6FL just by adding
-usb / aux in socket
-a cable
-coding

9- My car is late 2008- early 2009. I do not have 7 digits postcode search / insertion. Can I retrofit this?


Yes, you can. However you will have to get the firmware on your CIC updated.
If you go to your beloved dealer / indy, they will update it to the latest firmware, which require insertion of FSC code for 6NR. FSC code is not cheap and is in excess of 200.
You will require your CIC updated to specific firmware. You can go through the thread 'coders in UK' or simply ask me.

10- Can you update the maps while you flash my CIC?

Yes, I can provide FSC codes for map update (not for 6NR) and update your maps if your car is already with me.

I hope it helps others. I am going to add this to first post.
Disclaimer: I am in no way expert. So what I wrote may be slightly wrong. By all means, give me a shout to correct it.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2013, 08:14 AM   #73
poison e90
Private First Class
poison e90's Avatar
1
Rep
119
Posts

 
Drives: m sport 318
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: cumbernauld

iTrader: (0)

congrats jammy install looks amazing makan well done on the install i have ccc in my car (2005 55 plate)what would i need to upgrade to the cic and estimated cost cheers poison
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-25-2013, 03:29 PM   #74
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by poison e90 View Post
congrats jammy install looks amazing makan well done on the install i have ccc in my car (2005 55 plate)what would i need to upgrade to the cic and estimated cost cheers poison
Thanks for the compliment.
You will need complete CIC kit and few other bits and bobs.
See a CIC in classified for sale by me, as it tells you exactly what you should buy.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 08:03 AM   #75
jimpom23
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
240
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Leeds

iTrader: (0)

Completely and utterly in awe....

Amazing job and one that would really add to anyone's car and driving experience.

Question to those saying they will get done when their warranty expires - is that because the media system won't be covered under it anymore as it wasn't "professionally" fitted? As far as I can tell all parts are genuine so is it not just a case of anything related to that install would perhaps be refused but anything unrelated it is fair game still warranty wise?

My thought process is I would like this but would like to keep my warranty and don't see it as a JB4 type of issue if that makes sense?
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 12:54 PM   #76
oliyaoe93
Private
0
Rep
99
Posts

 
Drives: 320i LCI e93
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: South London

iTrader: (0)

I need CIC Retrofit to my car

Hi makkan00, just bought my LCI E93 a few weeks ago with non navigation. I am looking to retrofit CIC XD
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 02:46 PM   #77
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by oliyaoe93 View Post
Hi makkan00, just bought my LCI E93 a few weeks ago with non navigation. I am looking to retrofit CIC XD
Hi
Kindly refer to this thread
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=884265

At the moment, this is the only CIC I have. If it goes, it goes. Beauty is that it is combox compatible.
That thread also gives you rough idea on the cost of CIC / combox installation.
Ps: I can get the double scoop dashboard as well.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 03:31 PM   #78
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Came across this
http://bimmerretrofit.com/store/inde...ory&path=62_65
Worth of visiting the page to see what others pay for these services.
Considering that, guys had a bargains who retrofitted combox and other bits by me.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-12-2013, 05:08 PM   #79
edd335
Private First Class
1
Rep
112
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e92
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Came across this
http://bimmerretrofit.com/store/inde...ory&path=62_65
Worth of visiting the page to see what others pay for these services.
Considering that, guys had a bargains who retrofitted combox and other bits by me.
Not only is it less than half the price of bimmerretrofit but Sam does the physical install and the coding, from start to finish!

I decided was going to do a retrofit about a month ago. I opted for more than most and figured if going to do it, going to go all the way, so went with combox/6NR/6FL/6NF as well as the CIC. Massive shout out to Sam/Makkan00 for the faultless install, and for being so helpful in every way possible, a genuinely nice guy. Any one looking to get this installed and coded in the UK, he's your man, worth the drive even from way up north. And yes, that includes if you need your dash changed to a double scoop/you don't have CCC already like me and jammy, as you can obviously see from this write up!!!

Dont doubt, just do it, and get Sam to ACTUALLY do it LOL........ CIC ALL THE WAY
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 10:51 AM   #80
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Flashed another CIC today to enable 6NR.



The owner had Samsung Galaxy S3. I can confirm that internet / BMW online worked with it.
I could not test 6FL with android phone as the chap had ipod.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 12:54 PM   #81
mikeoz
Private First Class
1
Rep
170
Posts

 
Drives: bmw 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: cambs

iTrader: (1)

I can confirm that since getting home I have tried the s3 with music and it works.
I dont normally use the phone for music thats why Sam couldn't test at time.
Overall great job and nice guy.
Well worth getting this job done.
Thanks sam.
Mike
Appreciate 0
      09-21-2013, 01:38 PM   #82
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeoz
I can confirm that since getting home I have tried the s3 with music and it works.
I dont normally use the phone for music thats why Sam couldn't test at time.
Overall great job and nice guy.
Well worth getting this job done.
Thanks sam.
Mike
Thanks Mike, appreciate your feedback.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2013, 04:44 PM   #83
Forbsk
Registered
Forbsk's Avatar
0
Rep
3
Posts

 
Drives: E92 330D
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Fantastic job. I'm really interested in installing a USB and Aux connection in the centre console and was wondering how much this type of job would cost including parts. I currently only have the Aux in the centre console and the USK in the glove box and already have a combox (if that makes a difference). Please let me know as I am a newbie with an LCI e92.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2013, 05:25 PM   #84
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
31
Rep
2,633
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post

4- I have BMW assist. Will I be able to retain the BMW assist with this retrofit?

No, your beloved dealer does not allow to transfer your bmw assist account to a different IMEI (of combox).

5- Can I send a link of google maps to my car? Or can I find my car with BMW application?

Unfortunately, not. Since you are using your mobile phone to tether the internet and not via combox IMEI, therefore it is not possible.
Will I be able keep the original combox fitted to my car & retain "BMW assist" & Google maps "Send to" car when the CIC Business Nav is upgraded to Pro? I use "Send to" car every day & would hate to lose it, ideally I'd like to gain "Send" routes from BMW Connected Drive.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2013, 07:06 PM   #85
cage911
Lieutenant
cage911's Avatar
United Kingdom
6
Rep
426
Posts

 
Drives: e93 Msport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forbsk View Post
Fantastic job. I'm really interested in installing a USB and Aux connection in the centre console and was wondering how much this type of job would cost including parts. I currently only have the Aux in the centre console and the USK in the glove box and already have a combox (if that makes a difference). Please let me know as I am a newbie with an LCI e92.
Welcome to the forum Keith, I can retrofit USB/Aux unit for you but you will need someone like Sam (makkan00) to code your car and update your V.O. with $6FL.

You may want to consider retrofitting 6NF/6NR.
__________________
BMW E93 Sold but not forgotten.
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2013, 11:08 PM   #86
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forbsk View Post
Fantastic job. I'm really interested in installing a USB and Aux connection in the centre console and was wondering how much this type of job would cost including parts. I currently only have the Aux in the centre console and the USK in the glove box and already have a combox (if that makes a difference). Please let me know as I am a newbie with an LCI e92.
You need
6FL socket (see classified)
Cable for it (approx 50-55)
Installation and coding

And
If you wish to retain aux-in, then running new aux-in connector/ cable to combox.
It becomes redundant when you use 6FL, as ipod is connected via standard apple usb cable.
But some members wishes to retain the aux-in.


All of above is applicable if you have combox already in your car.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2013, 11:12 PM   #87
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS100 View Post
Will I be able keep the original combox fitted to my car & retain "BMW assist" & Google maps "Send to" car when the CIC Business Nav is upgraded to Pro? I use "Send to" car every day & would hate to lose it, ideally I'd like to gain "Send" routes from BMW Connected Drive.
Ian
AFAIK, as we are retaining your original combox, and its settings, nothing should change in your car.

so with professional CIC, you should be able to retain all that.
Unfortunately sending route from BMW connected drive may not be possible, as we'll retain the OEM combox and its settings.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-01-2013, 11:14 PM   #88
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,603
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cage911 View Post
Welcome to the forum Keith, I can retrofit USB/Aux unit for you but you will need someone like Sam (makkan00) to code your car and update your V.O. with $6FL.

You may want to consider retrofitting 6NF/6NR.

Cage and all those who are thinking of going for 6NF/6NR, I'd suggest you to try composite method rather Mini A/V socket.
I had it on my car and on another member's car and having few connectivity issues.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST