E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Alpina B3 Flash DIY with Winkfp



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-09-2013, 07:26 AM   #23
inf1982
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e92 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: MSC

iTrader: (0)

Steven, hi!
Would this flash work for 335 w/o paddles?
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2013, 08:35 AM   #24
Bimmer335i07
BK Employee of the month! / Moderator
Bimmer335i07's Avatar
United_States
236
Rep
15,801
Posts

Drives: BMW 335i Sedan
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: ...

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by inf1982 View Post
Steven, hi!
Would this flash work for 335 w/o paddles?
Yes, it does. I don't have paddles and Steven installed the Alpina Flash for me remotely.

__________________

Sponsored by: Pics of the ---> Barbera Beast <---
Martino Auto Concepts (Like them on Facebook MAC) Factory Trained & Authorized by BMW of North America

Matt@Camber-Toe (Like them on Facebook Camber-Toe)
LuxAngelEyes (Like them on Facebook LuxAngelEyes)
LTBMW (Like them on Facebook LTBMW)
OEMconcepts (Like them on Facebook OEMconcepts)
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2013, 09:12 AM   #25
SINasTER
Second Lieutenant
SINasTER's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 335xi 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Laval, Qc.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by inf1982
Steven, hi!
Would this flash work for 335 w/o paddles?
Yes, only restrictions are:

#1- N54 and N55 engine (so BMW 135, 335 and 535)

#2- car build date is not ilder than March 2007

#3- of course, the car must be an automatic 6 speed (6AT) :
__________________
Quote:
Logical thinking:
My GF hates my car... My car hates my GF...

Logic dictates to dump her, move on, find another trophy for the passenger seat 'cause finding another perfect car is near impossible !!
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2013, 12:05 PM   #26
pweber
Banned
pweber's Avatar
Germany
2
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: M57 330D
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Heilbronn

iTrader: (0)

I don't think it works with 535i.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2013, 11:18 PM   #27
SINasTER
Second Lieutenant
SINasTER's Avatar
Canada
2
Rep
258
Posts

Drives: 335xi 2008 E90
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Laval, Qc.

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 335xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ******
I don't think it works with 535i.
Oups... My bad!
__________________
Quote:
Logical thinking:
My GF hates my car... My car hates my GF...

Logic dictates to dump her, move on, find another trophy for the passenger seat 'cause finding another perfect car is near impossible !!
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2013, 12:01 AM   #28
E90305
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
202
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: coral springs

iTrader: (2)

i can code this for anyone down in south fl let me know guys
Appreciate 0
      08-13-2013, 06:43 PM   #29
hatton
Private First Class
hatton's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
113
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Zionsville IN/Ames IA

iTrader: (0)

I'm confused as to what's the difference between the NCS expermentool like shown in the "BMW Coding success tutorial" and Winkfp. Any explanation would be great.
Appreciate 0
      08-15-2013, 07:23 PM   #30
hatton
Private First Class
hatton's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
113
Posts

Drives: 2008 335i Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Zionsville IN/Ames IA

iTrader: (0)

Right after configuring the winKFP I got this error message once starting the flash.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2013, 12:18 AM   #31
thyshallsmite
Private First Class
2
Rep
193
Posts

Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

soo where do i get winkpf?
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2013, 06:51 AM   #32
inf1982
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: e92 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: MSC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thyshallsmite View Post
soo where do i get winkpf?
It is part of BMW standard tools.
Appreciate 0
      08-16-2013, 11:00 AM   #33
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
249
Rep
18,292
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatton View Post
Right after configuring the winKFP I got this error message once starting the flash.
Its two things that can cause that error. The cable is not correctly configured or the cable that you bought is not good.
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2013, 10:59 AM   #34
lupul
Registered
Canada
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Laval

iTrader: (0)

Thnx cn555ic for the great review plenty of info, i decided to do the flash yesterday with the help of ****** and got to say ITS AMAZING!!! there is a period of adaptation for the ecu but gizz it does a huge difference

thanx guys for all the info and help!
Appreciate 0
      08-17-2013, 12:02 PM   #35
The Die
The Stig's American Cousin
The Die's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: '10 E90 335xi, '13 E84 X1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Powell, OH

iTrader: (1)

Why isn't this a sticky?
Appreciate 0
      08-27-2013, 10:27 PM   #36
cbecker33
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: StL

iTrader: (4)

This seems to be just what I'm looking for. Can someone give me an idea how much of a difference it makes?
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 07:23 AM   #37
The Die
The Stig's American Cousin
The Die's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: '10 E90 335xi, '13 E84 X1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Powell, OH

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbecker33 View Post
This seems to be just what I'm looking for. Can someone give me an idea how much of a difference it makes?
Shifts happen much faster. It's such a game changer that you'd be crazy to not do it. I actually went back to stock for a bit before reflashing back to the Alpina because I wanted to really see the difference. It was extremely noticeable.
__________________
-Greg
2010 335xi 6AT | Black Sapphire Metallic | Black Dakota Leather | Alpina B3 Flash | BB Open Flash | JB4 | BMS DCI | Tons more to come...

Live in Central Ohio? Looking to have some coding done? Shoot me a PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 09:15 AM   #38
cbecker33
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: StL

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Die View Post
Shifts happen much faster. It's such a game changer that you'd be crazy to not do it. I actually went back to stock for a bit before reflashing back to the Alpina because I wanted to really see the difference. It was extremely noticeable.

Great - thanks for the feedback. I need to track down someone in the St. Louis area to help me out. The DIY looks a little scary for someone who has never coded a car (well, I did my old Audi).
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 12:57 PM   #39
The Die
The Stig's American Cousin
The Die's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: '10 E90 335xi, '13 E84 X1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Powell, OH

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbecker33 View Post
Great - thanks for the feedback. I need to track down someone in the St. Louis area to help me out. The DIY looks a little scary for someone who has never coded a car (well, I did my old Audi).
It's super simple. The directions might look a little scary, but the hardest part is getting the software setup and working properly. The actual "coding" takes 2 minutes tops.
__________________
-Greg
2010 335xi 6AT | Black Sapphire Metallic | Black Dakota Leather | Alpina B3 Flash | BB Open Flash | JB4 | BMS DCI | Tons more to come...

Live in Central Ohio? Looking to have some coding done? Shoot me a PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 01:01 PM   #40
cbecker33
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: StL

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Die View Post
It's super simple. The directions might look a little scary, but the hardest part is getting the software setup and working properly. The actual "coding" takes 2 minutes tops.
I don't have the hardware! My laptop died a year ago and I never replaced it. I pretty much just use a tablet or my phone nowadays....
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 01:39 PM   #41
The Die
The Stig's American Cousin
The Die's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
147
Posts

Drives: '10 E90 335xi, '13 E84 X1
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Powell, OH

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbecker33 View Post
I don't have the hardware! My laptop died a year ago and I never replaced it. I pretty much just use a tablet or my phone nowadays....
One of the guys local to me saw how easy it was to code when I did his car. He bought a laptop off of Craigslist for $50, got the cable for $40, and he's been going to town since.
__________________
-Greg
2010 335xi 6AT | Black Sapphire Metallic | Black Dakota Leather | Alpina B3 Flash | BB Open Flash | JB4 | BMS DCI | Tons more to come...

Live in Central Ohio? Looking to have some coding done? Shoot me a PM.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 03:36 PM   #42
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
249
Rep
18,292
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbecker33 View Post
Great - thanks for the feedback. I need to track down someone in the St. Louis area to help me out. The DIY looks a little scary for someone who has never coded a car (well, I did my old Audi).
The instructions are as simple and dummy proof as much as possible, but if you are not familiar with the software and coding then yeah reading it can be a little intimidating...Cant get anywhere unless you try!
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 03:43 PM   #43
cbecker33
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: StL

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
The instructions are as simple and dummy proof as much as possible, but if you are not familiar with the software and coding then yeah reading it can be a little intimidating...Cant get anywhere unless you try!


What are the minimum computer requirements? I have a relic that I can dig up and try, but it is on XP and has 1GB of RAM.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2013, 03:52 PM   #44
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
249
Rep
18,292
Posts


Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbecker33 View Post
What are the minimum computer requirements? I have a relic that I can dig up and try, but it is on XP and has 1GB of RAM.
Thats fine...It will be slow but it will do but you would still need to buy a cable
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST