E90Post
 


E92 Lighting
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography > Official High dynamic range (HDR) Photo's



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-03-2007, 12:52 PM   #1
mds82
Major General
mds82's Avatar
128
Rep
5,858
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
Official High dynamic range (HDR) Photo's

Lets see what members can do to create some of their own HDR Images. I'm pretty new at this but i'll start off with 2 versions of the same image i took.

If you dont know what HDR Images are, here is a good place to start reading about it.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_dynamic_range_imaging



Appreciate 0
      10-03-2007, 02:12 PM   #2
l4wr3nc3
The Law.
l4wr3nc3's Avatar
Taiwan
182
Rep
14,279
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Rowland Heights, CA

iTrader: (17)

Send a message via AIM to l4wr3nc3
I'll post up mine

__________________

2008 Lotus Exige S240 | 2007 BMW 335i
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2007, 08:04 AM   #3
boostedbavarian
......................... .........................
boostedbavarian's Avatar
Germany
99
Rep
9,791
Posts

 
Drives: to many cars too fast
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: ON THE Cresents

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to boostedbavarian
thats an awsome pic law, i love hdr photos when there taken right..
________
Lamborghini espada specifications
________
Cheap silver airsoft spring pistol m757s
________
BUKASHKIK
________
real estate Pattaya

Last edited by boostedbavarian; 08-19-2011 at 04:58 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2007, 11:39 AM   #4
mds82
Major General
mds82's Avatar
128
Rep
5,858
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
i'm still working on mine.

Photoshop CS2 is being a pain for me - i keep getting errors when trying to made the HDR. I'm using 1 RAW image to make 3 JPG's

Last edited by mds82; 10-04-2007 at 10:10 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-04-2007, 10:11 PM   #5
mds82
Major General
mds82's Avatar
128
Rep
5,858
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 325xi
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: South Central Connecticut

iTrader: (40)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to mds82 Send a message via Yahoo to mds82
ANother one i took yesterday
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      10-05-2007, 06:49 PM   #6
Excellence
G-STAR
Excellence's Avatar
65
Rep
1,899
Posts

 
Drives: E90 to A5
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Richmond, BC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mds82 View Post
i'm still working on mine.

Photoshop CS2 is being a pain for me - i keep getting errors when trying to made the HDR. I'm using 1 RAW image to make 3 JPG's
You gotta update your CS2.
Theres several RAW camera updates. Maybe thats why your getting errors.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2007, 02:14 PM   #7
schneid4323
Banned
United_States
52
Rep
1,134
Posts

 
Drives: 335i, M6
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dallas TX

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to schneid4323
I need to relearn photoshop, any online tutorials or anything?
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2007, 07:40 PM   #8
wintermint
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Here are a couple of my attempts. Each image consists of three photos with exposure compensation values of -2, 0, +2 EV:




Last edited by wintermint; 10-14-2007 at 08:17 PM. Reason: the first image I uploaded had accidentally leaked black into the bottom portion of the image
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2007, 07:41 PM   #9
Nikki
Major General
Nikki's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
6,373
Posts

 
Drives: del Sol VTEC & Sepang Z4MC
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: OC

iTrader: (9)

Where were those photos taken? Do you have the 1st one at 1600 x 1200?
__________________
Nikki

Appreciate 0
      10-13-2007, 07:48 PM   #10
wintermint
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

The first one is overlooking Machu Picchu in Peru. The second is from the south rim of the Grand Canyon, Arizona.

1600x1200 versions:




Last edited by wintermint; 10-14-2007 at 08:14 PM. Reason: the first image I uploaded had accidentally leaked black into the bottom portion of the image
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2007, 08:01 PM   #11
darkcloud
Colonel
darkcloud's Avatar
United_States
76
Rep
2,387
Posts

 
Drives: 09 VW JSW
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: cleveland, oh

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2006 325i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to darkcloud
OK who want to teach me how to use my D40x???? I want to take pictures like this haha. How do I start?
__________________

retired 06 E90 325i

New: 09 VW Platinum Grey Jetta Sportwagen 2.0T SEL w/DSG, panoramic sunroof and Ipod adapter
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2007, 08:26 PM   #12
Nikki
Major General
Nikki's Avatar
United_States
213
Rep
6,373
Posts

 
Drives: del Sol VTEC & Sepang Z4MC
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: OC

iTrader: (9)

Thanks, awesome photos.
__________________
Nikki

Appreciate 0
      10-13-2007, 11:42 PM   #13
01stang
...
01stang's Avatar
5
Rep
322
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkcloud View Post
OK who want to teach me how to use my D40x???? I want to take pictures like this haha. How do I start?
me 2 me 2 i just got a rebel xti 3 days ago... still messing w/ it... i would eventually love to take pics like those!!!!!
__________________

Mods: Black out kidney grill, 6000k d1s, 6500k foglight, mtech angel eyes and cornering light, m6 reps, m3 tri color steering wheel, somewhat matching shift boot and brake boot, led lisence plate, led interior, led rear signal, led side marker, aero front lip, cf emblem overlay
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2007, 05:56 PM   #14
avlnch
Lieutenant Colonel
24
Rep
1,574
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 Individual M5
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South FL

iTrader: (0)

Does the type of camera give you HDR pictures or do you need to "make" them with the image you took in photoshop?

I need a good camera..
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2007, 06:55 PM   #15
Gripster
Captain
Gripster's Avatar
United_States
19
Rep
923
Posts

 
Drives: F10 535 M-Sport
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by avlnch View Post
Does the type of camera give you HDR pictures or do you need to "make" them with the image you took in photoshop?

I need a good camera..
Camera needs to be flexible enough to allow exposure control. You need to take identical pictures at different exposures and then combine them.
__________________
2006 330i - ZSP/ZPP/ZCW/i-Drive/Steptronic Sold
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2007, 08:47 PM   #16
wintermint
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Thanks. I've just edited my earlier posts of Machu Picchu since
the previous versions had regions of solid black in the middle of
the photos (must have accidentally pressed the flood fill tool or
something in Photoshop...)

To create each image I shot three identical photos but at different
exposures (-2, 0, +2).
I next used Photomatix to generate a tonemapped HDR image from
the three shots. I then used Photoshop to crop and selectively adjust
the curves for different parts of the image.

I've found this site useful as a guide to using Photoshop to edit photos:
http://www.photowalkthrough.com/videotutorials.html
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2007, 10:21 PM   #17
TurboFan
Ski bum
TurboFan's Avatar
94
Rep
6,207
Posts

 
Drives: sideways
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knee deep in the pow

iTrader: (8)

OK, I'm sold. I've got to check this out. Almost everything I shoot I bracket, so I have tons of photos to try this with. Now, to find the time to learn...

EDIT:
Looks like the challenge is finding photos where I didn't move between bracket shots!
OK, that wasn't too hard. First attempt:
Name:  JDL_8127_5_6_tonemapped.jpg
Views: 594
Size:  93.2 KB
__________________

1999 e46 328i Ti Silver / Black[retired]
2007 e90 335xi Jet Black / Black[retired]
2011 e70 X5 35d Vermillion Red / Cinnamon
2011 e92 M3 LeMans / Fox Red extended

Last edited by TurboFan; 10-14-2007 at 10:41 PM.
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2007, 10:57 PM   #18
TurboFan
Ski bum
TurboFan's Avatar
94
Rep
6,207
Posts

 
Drives: sideways
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knee deep in the pow

iTrader: (8)

OK, one more. Kinda sucks, looks like I need to start bringing the tripod along.

Name:  JDL_8282_0_1_tonemapped.jpg
Views: 595
Size:  93.8 KB
__________________

1999 e46 328i Ti Silver / Black[retired]
2007 e90 335xi Jet Black / Black[retired]
2011 e70 X5 35d Vermillion Red / Cinnamon
2011 e92 M3 LeMans / Fox Red extended
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2007, 06:58 PM   #19
RuleTheBends
Private
RuleTheBends's Avatar
United_States
0
Rep
64
Posts

 
Drives: Bayerische Motoren Werke AG
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: CA

iTrader: (0)

Very nice contributions, HDR photos are pretty interesting
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2007, 08:25 PM   #20
TurboFan
Ski bum
TurboFan's Avatar
94
Rep
6,207
Posts

 
Drives: sideways
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knee deep in the pow

iTrader: (8)

When you are doing HDR work, do you have trouble keeping the detail sharp? In the low-res pictures here you can't see it, but when I look at these uncompressed (42MB) blown up full-size (100% on Dell UltraSharp 19" LCD, nVidia GeForce 4 something, old calibration), I see lots of blur or un-natural imagery. Looks like the negative was double-exposed on a film camera. Is this the nature of HDR, or am I doing something wrong? Trying to find a scene where NOTHING moves between 3-5 shots is proving VERY difficult. help?
__________________

1999 e46 328i Ti Silver / Black[retired]
2007 e90 335xi Jet Black / Black[retired]
2011 e70 X5 35d Vermillion Red / Cinnamon
2011 e92 M3 LeMans / Fox Red extended
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2007, 08:36 PM   #21
TurboFan
Ski bum
TurboFan's Avatar
94
Rep
6,207
Posts

 
Drives: sideways
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Knee deep in the pow

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by avlnch View Post
Does the type of camera give you HDR pictures or do you need to "make" them with the image you took in photoshop?

I need a good camera..

I litterally started doing this HDR thing last night, so take this with a grain of salt...

No, the camera does not give you the HDR pic. HDR software combines multiple pictures of the same scene at different exposures, using the best parts of each scene. However, a better camera can make it easier, it seems. I found that my Nikon RAW files (I'm sure Canon is the same) greatly simplified the process - I didn't have to enter any image data. The Photomatix read the exposure data from the images, and did it all automatically.

From what I've read, you want to have 2 or more images of the exact same scene that have different exposures. On the two I posted, I was bracketing my shots, shooting (Nikon D200) at metered exposure, -1/3 stop and -2/3 stop. The D200 tends toward overexposure, that's why I didn't do +/- 1/3 stop. So, that could mean that if the metered exposure was 1/200 sec @ f/4, I took the picture, then the camera would have automatically set the camera for 1/250 @ f/4, and then 1/320 @ f/4. I usually shoot in aperature or manual mode. I don't recall if I set my camera to always change shutter speed when I bracket or if it just came that way..

It helps that the camera shoots pretty quick in Continuous(High) mode - about 5 frames / sec. If I hold down the shutter release, it'll take 3 pics in less than 1 second and then stop until I release my finger from the shutter release.
__________________

1999 e46 328i Ti Silver / Black[retired]
2007 e90 335xi Jet Black / Black[retired]
2011 e70 X5 35d Vermillion Red / Cinnamon
2011 e92 M3 LeMans / Fox Red extended
Appreciate 0
      10-15-2007, 09:11 PM   #22
wintermint
New Member
0
Rep
10
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 335i
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

I've found that getting the pictures sharp at 100% resolution is clearly
harder than taking a single photo but not super difficult if there are no
moving objects in the foreground (trees or grass blowing in the wind,
cars, ...).

Photomatix has an option to align the images which helps correct minor
global shifts, but it's not great if the global shifts are larger.

A tripod really helps, and hand held shots are a much more hit-and-miss
affair. The two photos that I posted were actually hand held, but shot
with a wide angle lens (around 24mm on a full sensor) and in continuous
drive mode so the consecutive images were only shifted by at most a few
pixels -- something that Photomatix corrected just fine.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST