E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > 6NR Coded - Snap In No Audio



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-31-2013, 04:42 PM   #1
Awharton
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London uk

iTrader: (0)

6NR Coded - Snap In No Audio

Hi.

I have updated the software and coded my E92 03/11 to have 6NR functionality. My car has the following fitted at the factory:

S6FLA USB/Audio interface
S6NFA Music interface for Smartphone
S6VCA SControl for Combox

Everything works fine via the USB port (BMW Apps etc) and audio.

When trying with the Media adapter snap in, although everything works fine via iDrive - there is no audio. I can control everything fine and play - just no sound.

Does anyone have any ideas why this might be?

Cheers.
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2013, 07:00 AM   #2
graham999au
Private First Class
graham999au's Avatar
Australia
4
Rep
146
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Hi not sure if this helps but my media adapter was faulty and so no audio. Also I'm impressed you got 6NR working, don't you need an FSC code???
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ __________________________
2011 E92 335i M Sport Coupe/DCT/Black Sapphire/Oyster/Bamboo Grain/Sunroof/OEM Performance Exhaust/Individual Audio/Heated Seats/TV/Folding Mirrors/6FL iPod/6NF Extended Connectivity/Internet/ACS Roof spoiler/ACS Aluminium Peddles
Appreciate 0
      09-03-2013, 09:21 PM   #3
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

I am also interested in this, what steps did you follow?
Appreciate 0
      09-04-2013, 08:12 AM   #4
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,557
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

6nf is free only on certain firmwares of CIC.
Op, if I am not wrong, you need to change the base plate to switchable baseplate which can carry audio + video signals.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2013, 08:16 PM   #5
Awharton
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London uk

iTrader: (0)

6NR is free up to certain firmware levels for CIC. CIC and COMBOX both need to be at the right levels for free enabling of 6NR. 6NF was installed at the factory so the correct baseplate is already present to carry audio, so should be working both before and after 6NR coding.

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
6nf is free only on certain firmwares of CIC.
Op, if I am not wrong, you need to change the base plate to switchable baseplate which can carry audio + video signals.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2013, 08:17 PM   #6
Awharton
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London uk

iTrader: (0)

Have tried two snap ins - same issue. No FSC code needed if at the right firmware level on the CIC module.

Quote:
Originally Posted by graham999au View Post
Hi not sure if this helps but my media adapter was faulty and so no audio. Also I'm impressed you got 6NR working, don't you need an FSC code???
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2013, 06:51 PM   #7
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Is there a way to flash lower firmware levels using Winkfp with icom?
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2013, 03:17 PM   #8
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,557
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Awharton
Have tried two snap ins - same issue. No FSC code needed if at the right firmware level on the CIC module.

Quote:
Originally Posted by graham999au View Post
Hi not sure if this helps but my media adapter was faulty and so no audio. Also I'm impressed you got 6NR working, don't you need an FSC code???
Concentrate on your coding.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-09-2013, 03:17 PM   #9
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,557
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks
Is there a way to flash lower firmware levels using Winkfp with icom?
If you even find a answer to that, kindly update us as well.
Afaik, its not possible.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2013, 04:01 AM   #10
xelion
Banned
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Hey makkan00,

I see that you have 6FL / 6NF / 6NR in your car.
Where can I buy COMBOX MEDIA in EU for E90 production date 03/2010 with CIC?
I would like to have Bluetooth audio streaming.
Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2013, 06:36 AM   #11
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,557
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelion
Hey makkan00,

I see that you have 6FL / 6NF / 6NR in your car.
Where can I buy COMBOX MEDIA in EU for E90 production date 03/2010 with CIC?
I would like to have Bluetooth audio streaming.
Any suggestions?

Thanks.
Where about are you in Europe?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2013, 06:47 AM   #12
xelion
Banned
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Poland currently. I just want to have BT audio streming.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2013, 12:17 PM   #13
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks
Is there a way to flash lower firmware levels using Winkfp with icom?
If you even find a answer to that, kindly update us as well.
Afaik, its not possible.
I have been able to revert back to previous software versions when asked, as long as I
Have a zb number (usually transmission upgrades people don't like. Seems like it should be possible if you have the older zb numbers.
Appreciate 0
      09-10-2013, 03:54 PM   #14
stevers314
packet jockey
stevers314's Avatar
2
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335d M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lex

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
can you post up your trace files from CIC & MEDIA? I'll compare them against mine.
__________________
2011 335d
With great torque comes great responsibility
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 06:10 AM   #15
Awharton
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London uk

iTrader: (0)

Attached now. I think the following coding change may work:

From:
USB2_IPOD_AUDIO
analog

To:
USB2_IPOD_AUDIO
digital

Haven't had a chance to test yet as out of the country - but think it should do the trick.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevers314 View Post
can you post up your trace files from CIC & MEDIA? I'll compare them against mine.
Attached Files
File Type: zip trc.zip (6.2 KB, 23 views)
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 08:39 AM   #16
stevers314
packet jockey
stevers314's Avatar
2
Rep
253
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335d M Sport
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lex

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 335d  [0.00]
Found the following differences which might help. My car has 6FL, 6NF, 6VC & also shipped with 6NR. To date I have not tried the snap-in, only USB.

your CIC
Code:
AUX1
	standard
CDMM_USB_VIDEO  (likely not relevant)
	none
my CIC
Code:
AUX1
	wert_21
CDMM_USB_VIDEO
	second_usb
Couldn't find anything which looked different in the MEDIA trace. I'm attaching my CIC and MEDIA dumps in case I missed something.

Hope this helps at least rule out a coding issue.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 2011335d.zip (6.9 KB, 19 views)
__________________
2011 335d
With great torque comes great responsibility
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 11:50 AM   #17
Awharton
New Member
0
Rep
17
Posts

 
Drives: Bmw 330d
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: London uk

iTrader: (0)

Great - thanks for your help. Will post back here with my results once I've had a chance to test.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevers314 View Post
Found the following differences which might help. My car has 6FL, 6NF, 6VC & also shipped with 6NR. To date I have not tried the snap-in, only USB.

your CIC
Code:
AUX1
	standard
CDMM_USB_VIDEO  (likely not relevant)
	none
my CIC
Code:
AUX1
	wert_21
CDMM_USB_VIDEO
	second_usb
Couldn't find anything which looked different in the MEDIA trace. I'm attaching my CIC and MEDIA dumps in case I missed something.

Hope this helps at least rule out a coding issue.
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 12:19 PM   #18
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,557
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelion
Poland currently. I just want to have BT audio streming.
Going to have one in few weeks.
Give me a shout if you are after one.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 12:21 PM   #19
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,557
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00
Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks
Is there a way to flash lower firmware levels using Winkfp with icom?
If you even find a answer to that, kindly update us as well.
Afaik, its not possible.
I have been able to revert back to previous software versions when asked, as long as I
Have a zb number (usually transmission upgrades people don't like. Seems like it should be possible if you have the older zb numbers.
Its different with transmission bud.
Once CIC goes to next level with fsc authentication with 6nr, then I do not think that you can revert back.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-11-2013, 05:30 PM   #20
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

I would like to see it tried though, Winkfp allows you to do some things that dealer level software does not.
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2013, 06:57 AM   #21
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,557
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate5ks
I would like to see it tried though, Winkfp allows you to do some things that dealer level software does not.
Kindly update me if you get success.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      09-13-2013, 07:30 AM   #22
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
8
Rep
620
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

I would need somebody with a lower software version that allows 6NR without FSC code to post their ZB numbers from the User information field.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST