E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > PROcede V2 on the BMW diagnostic service computer



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-11-2007, 10:20 AM   #1
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

PROcede V2 on the BMW diagnostic service computer

Hi guys,

As announced I have been at my dealership today.

I have a PROcede V2 in the car and am the guy who had a limp mode with V2 map 2.0.0 hitting the speed limiter.

The error has been:

30FE - turbo pressure too high ( @ 6208rpm )

Now, we had another issue with the PROcede V2 on newer cars, the expected switched power fuse was not there. I investigated in this last weekend and found a solution.

Thread: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=88087

Since I hooked up the PROcede V2 to this power source, the 2DED powermanagement warning disappeared as well. Of course, I had this error stored from the 2 days when the PROcede was hooked up to the 50 AMP fuse directly, but there were no entries since the PROcede V2 is hooked up to the new switched power source described in the thread.

I don't know whether Shiv is using this source with his new jumper cable, but if he does we will see no more power drain warnings as well.

BTW, I did a lot of PROcede V2 testing since the one week I have it in the car. The reported issue has been the only one on my side. The car feels great and very strong. Since others had no problems with map V2.0.1 as well, it would be great if Shiv could make different V2.0.1 maps for MT and AT cars again.

Enjoy your great PROcede V2 product ! I hope Shiv will ship out a bunch of V2 upgrades soon.

In other words, PROcede V2 is 100% invisible to the BMW service computer when you have no limp mode .

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .

Last edited by e.n335; 10-11-2007 at 10:42 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 10:37 AM   #2
stefano7171
Lieutenant
stefano7171's Avatar
8
Rep
467
Posts

 
Drives: BMW e93 335i Msport
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: torino, Italy

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for the Report "Major"!
__________________
Current: e93 335 Msport, black sapphire on sanbeige, MT, 19" rims 225m, satnav, usb, CA, voice control, HBA, windstop, heated seats.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 10:49 AM   #3
Cookiemonster
Captain
Cookiemonster's Avatar
7
Rep
791
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 335XI e92
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Jupiter

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 533ogetnom View Post
which was
Got V2...went on high speed run....got half engine light when he hit top speed....promised he would go to dealer and do a scan.....This thread is the what happened at the dealer!
__________________
2007 335I sedan (retired)
2010 335xi coupe
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 11:07 AM   #4
fotios335i
Major General
fotios335i's Avatar
United_States
121
Rep
6,769
Posts

 
Drives: 12 BSM F30 sport/msport 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: cape cod MA

iTrader: (61)

dont you think the whole "turbo pressure too high" code is a little scary?
__________________

2012 335i sport to full Msport, M adaptive and vss, sport 8 AT, fully loaded, Black saphire, black dakota leather, mperformance carbon interior with shifter, M performance grills, rear spoiler, front splitter, side sill extensions, MPPK, MPE exhaust, morr alloys vs8.2's with michelin pss, p3 gauge, msport wheel, etc, etc
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 11:07 AM   #5
Dascamel
Lieutenant Colonel
Dascamel's Avatar
20
Rep
1,662
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 e92 M3, 2010 e91 328i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bakersfield, CA

iTrader: (0)

So was the Procede installed when you went to the dealer? I'm assuming you took it out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios330i View Post
dont you think the whole "turbo pressure too high" code is a little scary?
I would be scared but in general not planning of bouncing off the speed limiter much in the states, plus the car is triggering limp mode as a safety feature. But yes I have a feeling Shiv should address this one quickly.

edit: Is the new map already out 2.0.1?
__________________
2008 E92 M3 Jerez Black,DCT,Fox Red ext,Prem,Tech,19", ipod/usb, CF roof and trim
2010 E91 328i Space Gray,Black int, M sport, most options
2007 Montego Blue 335i (retired)

Last edited by Dascamel; 10-11-2007 at 11:48 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 11:09 AM   #6
BoostedBMW
Moderator
BoostedBMW's Avatar
United_States
82
Rep
6,787
Posts

 
Drives: TiAg E92 335
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2003 S2000  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to BoostedBMW
Hmmm.... I wonder how many bone stock cars the dealer has seen throw that code?
__________________
-Michael.
Berlina Black S2000 CR is now in the garage

l 19" Rial Daytona Race l KW V2 l Eisenhaus Race Exhaust l
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 11:15 AM   #7
1clean335i
Perf BMW mag issue 147, 159
1clean335i's Avatar
Vietnam
154
Rep
6,754
Posts

 
Drives: Project Estoril
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Central Florida

iTrader: (30)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by BoostedBMW View Post
Hmmm.... I wonder how many bone stock cars the dealer has seen throw that code?

I havent seen it yet.... And I havent seen it on my personal car yet either. I've topped it out over a dozen times easily too...

Whats the boost at on the V2?
__________________
'13 Estoril Blue 335i M-sport
*Don't PM me!* Message me here- http://www.facebook.com/ProjectEstoril
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 11:58 AM   #8
Serjames
Colonel
Serjames's Avatar
United Kingdom
37
Rep
2,426
Posts

 
Drives: E93 335i M-sport
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Surrey - UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Addressed to those that are worried, i.e. not the Eugens's of the world.

Remember this is an OVERBOOST scenario when the engine management system cuts fuel or what ever it does when the speed limiter is reached.

A similar scenario occured on some other testers cars when they went from WOT to no throttle very quickly.

It's NOT that the turbos are suddenly spinning twice as fast, only that the build up of air post compressor has no where to go and the diverter valve is either not reacting fast enough or it IS, but it detects more air pressure than it was expecting within it's "CONSERVATIVELY SAFE" range of measurement

I.e. I'm not scared, just another example of very good safe engineering by BMW, that we, er need to circumnavigate.

SJ
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:02 PM   #9
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fotios330i View Post
dont you think the whole "turbo pressure too high" code is a little scary?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dascamel View Post
So was the Procede installed when you went to the dealer? I'm assuming you took it out?
...
edit: Is the new map already out 2.0.1?
No, this is not scary. It happens on some cars when you lift the pedal quickly or run into the speed limiter above 6000rpm ( both events close the throttle very quick on higher boost ). The diverter valves cannot blow off fast enough and the code is thrown.

Map v2.0.1 is out and some of us are verifying whether it fixes the issue. It looks very good, this means no issues with v2.0.1. up to now. The OP is the result of one part of this process. It's done that all of you get a great PROcede V2.

The PROcede is always installed in my car. The guys at my dealership help me to indentify issues with my tuning.

Cheers
Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:19 PM   #10
max boost
Lieutenant
max boost's Avatar
12
Rep
408
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335i
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: east side

iTrader: (1)

eugene hows many key cycles will be needed to take clear a history code?
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:22 PM   #11
leftcoastman
Lieutenant Colonel
23
Rep
1,710
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near some canyons

iTrader: (1)

^ +1

Does a diagnostic read still pull up your old power codes?
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:29 PM   #12
judec
born to be turbocharged
judec's Avatar
Slovakia
15
Rep
1,347
Posts

 
Drives: Not a bimmer yet
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Slovakia

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via ICQ to judec Send a message via Skype™ to judec
one thing is it's not scary, cuz we possibly know why did that happen. Anoher thing is maybe the new Forge valves could provide a solution and release the pressure faster. Another thing is that if U dont have a fellow dealership and some hole notices the code, he could eventually report that to BMW, cuz under normal circumstances such a code should not appear, so this could be a trojan horse for V2 users... but this is just a speculation, dont flame me.

THX Eugen, great info, as usual. What's new with your car PC?
__________________
Disclaimer: All this message was written with recycled electrons.

Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:33 PM   #13
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

There is a limited buffer for all the events. At least the last 3 occurances of every event type are stored. Keying on/off the car will not help. The events are stored until they are deleted or the FIFO ( first in - first out ) logic kicks them out.

- Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:42 PM   #14
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftcoastman View Post
^ +1

Does a diagnostic read still pull up your old power codes?
+1
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:42 PM   #15
DrDomer
Major
DrDomer's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
1,349
Posts

 
Drives: 2004 330ci ZHP, 1999 Miata
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Iowa

iTrader: (0)

How many days does it typically take for these type of codes to be cleared? Can they be cleared with time?
__________________
Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. ~Albert Einstein
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:46 PM   #16
jon@themshop
Captain
jon@themshop's Avatar
United_States
13
Rep
759
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles/Eagle Rock, CA

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDomer View Post
How many days does it typically take for these type of codes to be cleared? Can they be cleared with time?
They won't be cleared till a BMW diagnostic computer or some sort of diagnostic tool clears it. Even if the limp mode or SES light goes away, a "cold" fault will still be retained in the DME.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:46 PM   #17
Sniz
Lieutenant General
Sniz's Avatar
189
Rep
10,572
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335 - gone // e36 M3 turbo
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ellicott City, MD

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDomer View Post
How many days does it typically take for these type of codes to be cleared? Can they be cleared with time?
I dont think so, but i'm certainly not a BMW tech. I think they will be stored until they are cleared.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:47 PM   #18
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jon@themshop View Post
They won't be cleared till a BMW diagnostic computer or some sort of diagnostic tool clears it.
Confirmed.
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:48 PM   #19
DrDomer
Major
DrDomer's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
1,349
Posts

 
Drives: 2004 330ci ZHP, 1999 Miata
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Iowa

iTrader: (0)

Ahhh.. Ok.. It'll store 3 such events till either further events happen to kick the oldest out or they are deleted.
__________________
Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. ~Albert Einstein
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:54 PM   #20
timtech
Lieutenant
timtech's Avatar
10
Rep
516
Posts

 
Drives: 335
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Over there

iTrader: (7)

Does a product like this allow you to clear the events?

http://www.obd-2.com/

I have one available but my car is in getting a fuel pump today so I would guess everything will be cleared.

I know I never seen the error on the c-reader.
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 12:57 PM   #21
e.n335
Moderator
e.n335's Avatar
Austria
97
Rep
4,480
Posts

 
Drives: e93 ///M3 DCT, 07/2009
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Switzerland, ZH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDomer View Post
Ahhh.. Ok.. It'll store 3 such events till either further events happen to kick the oldest out or they are deleted.
At least ...

After every major PROcede install ( when the wiring changes ) I let clear the error codes in my ECU so I have a clean and defined basis to analyze, if I like/have to. Of course, it will not be that easy for you in some cases. Decide if you want to ( hint, hint, hint ! ) when you want to avoid discussions in some cases. You will have to pay for it, it lasts about 15 minutes.

- Eugen
__________________
Not more than 500 chp for my daily driver. Well, ... .
Appreciate 0
      10-11-2007, 01:01 PM   #22
DrDomer
Major
DrDomer's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
1,349
Posts

 
Drives: 2004 330ci ZHP, 1999 Miata
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Iowa

iTrader: (0)

I wish I had that relationship with my dealership.
__________________
Any man who can drive safely while kissing a pretty girl is simply not giving the kiss the attention it deserves. ~Albert Einstein
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST