E90Post
 


TNT Racewerks
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > Ista-d_2.36_ista-p_2.5.40



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-08-2014, 04:00 PM   #89
fredy3330
New Member
 
Drives: e90 -n46
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greece

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Tinkerman
I Can See You Have An E90 320 07. Is It With N46 Engine Or The Later One?
fredy3330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-08-2014, 11:27 PM   #90
tinkerman
Enlisted Member
 
tinkerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 320i (E90)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Korea

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredy3330 View Post
Tinkerman
I Can See You Have An E90 320 07. Is It With N46 Engine Or The Later One?
N46N according to ETK (parts catalog). Apparently there are slight differences such as no oil separator, and no decorative/sound dampening(?) large cover over the intake manifold. The oil separators tended to breakdown frequently and leak oil(?). And I assume the large cover probably just added to the cost without real benefits(?), so the N46N seems to be a 'lean' version of the N46.
tinkerman is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2014, 04:07 AM   #91
fredy3330
New Member
 
Drives: e90 -n46
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greece

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Tinkrman I Had No Problem With N46 320 06/2006 So Far. I Had Updated My Cas To Solve The Steering Lock, Elv Fault. Problem With Cars Before 09/2006. Before That I Updated Jbbf As A Test.both Updated Using Winkfp And 40 Amp Power Supply Adj. To 14.2 V. I Want To Ask You If You Have Updated Any Modules From When You Bought Tha Car. And If You Have Noticed Any Difference In Any Of The Modules After Update.

Last edited by fredy3330; 01-26-2014 at 03:30 AM.
fredy3330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2014, 05:08 AM   #92
tinkerman
Enlisted Member
 
tinkerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 320i (E90)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Korea

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredy3330 View Post
Tinkrman I Had No Problem With N46 320 06/2006 So Far. I Had Updated My Cas To Solve The Steering Lock, Elv Fault. Problem With Cars Before 09/2006. Before That I Updated Jbbf As A Test.both Updated Using Winkfp And 30 Amp Power Supply Adj. To 14.2 V. I Want To Ask You If You Have Updated Any Modules From When You Bought Tha Car. And If You Have Noticed Any Difference In Any Of The Modules After Update.
In mid 2012, I took my car to the dealer's shop because of a strange warning light that would come and go irregularly. They could not figure out the cause, but thought that the car could use a total ECU update, so my car got updated with ISTA-P to daten v.46.XX, which was 'standard procedure' at that time.
Note: I found out the reason for the the strange warning light and wrote about it in the following sites:
http://www.auto-professionals.co.uk/...d.php?tid=8753

http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...ht=orange+gear

After that, in early 2013, after a long non-driving period while DIY fixing the leaky vacuum pump O-ring with an O-ring from the engine oil filter ( http://www.bmwland.co.uk/forums/view...p?f=4&t=134590 ),
I had to replace the OEM Banner 70Ah battery(which had served well beyond 5 years) with a domestic Delkor 90Ah battery, so I used NCS Expert to update the VO' 'battery classe' info in CAS and FRM. Then used Tool32 to 'Register' the new battery into DME. I made sure that my upgraded 90Ah battery(OEM unit was 70Ah) was at least 90% charged, and I had a 10Amp digital battery charger(working really hard as it is not an appropriate power supply). In hind sight this is not ideal, but it worked. I do not recommend it though. And of course, I was NOT doing flash programming of entire ECUs, rather I was only 'recoding'(coding) specific settings within some ECUs one at a time.

I have not 'flash programmed' my car myself yet, because my car is running fine, and I keep reminding myself the wise advice of some 'hillbilly' mechanic in New Hampshire, USA, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it." Apparently the more recent daten that is incorporated, the more likely that more stringent emissions regulations may have been taken into account for the engine, and result in less power output under certain driving conditions. So, just to be on the safe side, I am not going overboard about 'keeping my car up to date' with the latest version daten(especially as there is nothing noticeably wrong with the car being set at v.46 daten I-Level). Also, I would not 'test' programming on my car.

I also am waiting for prices of ICOM A/A2 to come down, and doing a more serious review of high performance power supplies, other than the Schumacher INC-700A(I've encountered a claim by an experienced indy Korean shop owner that claims his got fried after a year or so of heavy use, and recommended other more hard core units such as the Fronius ACCTIVA Professional Flash, Deutronic DBL 1050/1200, Gysflash 75-12 HF etc.) - although I'd probably end up getting the relatively more affordable Schumacher or a comparable unit in terms of price. I would not attempt to flash ECUs even if a few at a time unless I had a solid power supply that can reliably handle 70Amps (for E90) or more(for F series). It seems that the most common reason for ECU getting 'bricked' is the use of weak/unreliable/inappropriate power supplies.

If I were to 'program' only one or some ECUs, I would make sure that the 'programmed' ECU(s) is 'programmed' with the same 'I-Level'(Integration Level - version of daten) as all the other ECUs, so that all ECU's are at the same 'I-Level'.

Last edited by tinkerman; 01-09-2014 at 10:08 AM.
tinkerman is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      01-09-2014, 03:52 PM   #93
fredy3330
New Member
 
Drives: e90 -n46
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greece

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Thanks Tinkerman For all These Info.
I Just Want To Add Some More From My Experience.
Bmw Manual Says Before Programing The Battery Must Be Fully Charged. This Means With Power Supply (not Battery Charger), Adjusted To 14.4 Volts You Must Not Have Power Draw(amps) More Than 1.5a. When I Started Upating Jbbf81 I Had 0.8a Draw. It Took 2 Minutes To Update And The Maximum Reading Was 1.1amp. I Updated Jbbf81 First To Be To The Safe Side Just To Be Sure. Cas And Dme Are The Modules That Can Immobilize The Car. So I Update Jbbf First To Be Sure All Set O.k. Before Proceding To My Target The Cas260 Module.
It Took Five Minutes For The Cas And The Max Power Draw Was 1.0amp. My Power Supply Has 30amp Stabilized Voltage Output. And Maximum Output 35amp. The Most Important Is The Voltage Output To Be Stabilized, So Whatever The Power Draw To Have Always The Same Voltage. It Took Me Two Years To Decide To Update And I Took All The Necessary Precautions. I Had To Update Cas Because Till Now Three Times Immobilezed The Car From The Steering Lock. I Had To Always Cary A Netbook To Unlock The Steering Lock And Keep Driving. Even If You Use Ista-p And Make A Full Update It Will Update The Units One By One. Not All Together So In My Case There Can't Be A Power Draw Of 70amp. To Have So Many Amps You Have To Operate Almost All The Electric Consumers At The Same Time. I Checked All The Outputs From Each Module Of My Car And Ther Isn't Any Module With Total Power Draw Of Its Consumers More Than 25 Amp.
I Think It Is Risky To Update And The Rest Of My Modules To The Same I Level Without Obvious Reason .

Last edited by fredy3330; 01-09-2014 at 05:34 PM.
fredy3330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2014, 08:49 AM   #94
tinkerman
Enlisted Member
 
tinkerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 320i (E90)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Korea

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

I appreciate you sharing your experiences and knowledge. If your car runs fine after such measures(updating only some ECUs), and no errors are being logged as a result, then so be it(no need to 'fix' the other ECUs), especially if you were programming those ECUs with the same version daten as the other ECUs.

If the programmed ECUs needed to be updated with a later version daten than the I-Level of the remaining ECUs, it does make sense to update all the others too, as in standard practice, so that all ECUs are 'speaking the same language' instead of 'in dialects relative to each other'.
tinkerman is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2014, 10:58 AM   #95
Ilyas
Private
 
Ilyas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Lansing, MI

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [5.00]
When I try to do Identification in ISTA/D (using OBD cable through ICOM emu; in connection manager I'm able to select ICOM device) the program says that my voltage is only 12 V and it's recommended to use higher, I press ok and after a while it sends an error reading VIN. Then I put VIN manually, however ECU tree is no being read properly and I don't have any modules shown in green.
It seems like system sees ICOM emulator, but there is no data transfer through OBD cable going on. Cable tested in INPA/WinKFP/NCSExpert - works fine. In VM it has COM9 assigned.
Can anyone suggest how to make things working?
Ilyas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-10-2014, 11:23 AM   #96
tinkerman
Enlisted Member
 
tinkerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 320i (E90)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Korea

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Since your cable works (with INPA etc.) then I'd suspect your VMware Network Adapter settings. I'd review the instructions in Sensible's 1st post and follow it exactly. Start the VM from its original state (from scratch) if necessary.
tinkerman is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2014, 05:26 PM   #97
ynguldyn
Lieutenant
 
Drives: the other car.
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boston

Posts: 427
iTrader: (0)

I recommend everyone to check rutracker.
ynguldyn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2014, 06:35 PM   #98
Ilyas
Private
 
Ilyas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Lansing, MI

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynguldyn View Post
I recommend everyone to check rutracker.
Just curios what do you recommend to check there?
It seems like the latest one they have is Ista-d 2.35 and Ista P 2.48.3 .
Ilyas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2014, 07:28 PM   #99
ynguldyn
Lieutenant
 
Drives: the other car.
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Boston

Posts: 427
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilyas View Post
Just curios what do you recommend to check there?
It seems like the latest one they have is Ista-d 2.35 and Ista P 2.48.3 .
No, 3.39.
ynguldyn is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-11-2014, 07:52 PM   #100
Ilyas
Private
 
Ilyas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Lansing, MI

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynguldyn View Post
No, 3.39.
yeah, you're right. But it's huuuge.
Ilyas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2014, 04:25 AM   #101
alexxx123
New Member
 
Drives: e87
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: US

Posts: 15
iTrader: (0)

here there is a magnet link click enjoy
alexxx123 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-12-2014, 06:03 AM   #102
Shonky
New Member
 
Drives: E91 323i Touring
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posts: 6
iTrader: (0)

Thanks for this. Still waiting on my cable to arrive though.

FYI: Using 7-zip on Ultra saves about 3.4GB (i.e. nearly 10%) in size over Winrar and its RAR5. Compressed size of 36.9GB vs 40.3GB.

(I had to go and download Winrar since normally I'd just use 7-zip - so I decided to do some comparisons)
Shonky is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2014, 01:41 AM   #103
Ilyas
Private
 
Ilyas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Lansing, MI

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [5.00]
Finally downloaded ~180GB VM with Rheingold 3.39 from Rutracker. Works fine with OBD cable, no complicated setup required. Good for "fast" diagnostics, in multiple languages. Runs ok on old C2D laptop with 3GB RAM with clean OS Win7 and VMWare Workstation 10.
Ilyas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2014, 11:19 AM   #104
Sensible_
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

Posts: 395
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilyas
Finally downloaded ~180GB VM with Rheingold 3.39 from Rutracker. Works fine with OBD cable, no complicated setup required. Good for "fast" diagnostics, in multiple languages. Runs ok on old C2D laptop with 3GB RAM with clean OS Win7 and VMWare Workstation 10.
Is this a combined ISTA P and D VM or just ISTA D (Rheingold)?
Sensible_ is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2014, 11:35 AM   #105
fredy3330
New Member
 
Drives: e90 -n46
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greece

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sensible_ View Post
Is this a combined ISTA P and D VM or just ISTA D (Rheingold)?
IT HAS BOTH AND UPDATED 07/2013. I HAVE JUST NOW DOWNLOADED IT. IT TOOK 4 DAYS.
fredy3330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2014, 11:37 AM   #106
fredy3330
New Member
 
Drives: e90 -n46
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greece

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ilyas View Post
Finally downloaded ~180GB VM with Rheingold 3.39 from Rutracker. Works fine with OBD cable, no complicated setup required. Good for "fast" diagnostics, in multiple languages. Runs ok on old C2D laptop with 3GB RAM with clean OS Win7 and VMWare Workstation 10.
HOW MUCH RAM DID YOU ASSIGNED TO THE VMACHINE?
fredy3330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2014, 03:56 PM   #107
fredy3330
New Member
 
Drives: e90 -n46
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greece

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

SENSIBLE DO YOU KNOW HOW TO CRACK,PATCH OR INSERT LICENCE AT A NATIVE 3.39 Rheingold INSTALLATION?

Last edited by fredy3330; 01-16-2014 at 04:13 PM.
fredy3330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-16-2014, 04:25 PM   #108
Ilyas
Private
 
Ilyas's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW 328xi Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: East Lansing, MI

Posts: 85
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredy3330 View Post
HOW MUCH RAM DID YOU ASSIGNED TO THE VMACHINE?
2GB (I have only 3 total). Can you pm link for native rheingold?
Ilyas is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 01:01 AM   #109
fredy3330
New Member
 
Drives: e90 -n46
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Greece

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

Ilyas What Changes for connecting with dcan cable Have You Made Before Connecting This Virtual Machine to Your Car? I Haven't Connected Yet. Have You Used The Machine Or A Snapshot? My Laptops Are Not Compatible With The Snapshots. Thanks

Last edited by fredy3330; 01-17-2014 at 01:14 AM.
fredy3330 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      01-17-2014, 03:03 AM   #110
tinkerman
Enlisted Member
 
tinkerman's Avatar
 
Drives: '07 320i (E90)
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Korea

Posts: 44
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fredy3330 View Post
Ilyas What Changes for connecting with dcan cable Have You Made Before Connecting This Virtual Machine to Your Car? I Haven't Connected Yet. Have You Used The Machine Or A Snapshot? My Laptops Are Not Compatible With The Snapshots. Thanks
Hi, if you are thinking of 'Gini's Snap Shot Method' which I've written about in another forum, that is an entirely different VM for the ICOM Emulator that Gini generously shared. Sensible's VM includes the ICOM Emulator in the same VM as the ISID, but there isn't any 'snap shot' of being in a state past the security dongle check of the ICOM Emulator as it is in Gini's shared ICOM Emulator VM. So fiddling with snap shots in Sensible's VM will not do anything for you other than take a snap shot of the current state of the VM as it is installed in your laptop.

All you need now is a working USB dongle for the ICOM Emulator(that Sensible cleverly incorporated into this thread's VM). Gini has shared his USB dongle's image so it can be cloned, and I've written about how to make your own dongle:
http://forums.bimmerforums.com/forum...Gini%29-Part-1

Log into the site so you can see the images I've attached within the posts.

Cheers

Last edited by tinkerman; 01-17-2014 at 03:10 AM.
tinkerman is offline   South Korea
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST