E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > CIC retrofit from CCC



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-06-2013, 03:07 AM   #23
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,543
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xelion View Post
I removed 612 from my VO and SOS error gone. That's the solution, really easy. I even didn't tru +teld, however my car is from march 2010 built date, and I just replaced TCU with Combox telematik. 5 minutes to switch a pins to new connector and another minute for coding.

Combox is really great thing, but I didn't add BMW apps because I have xperia Z smartphone and not the iPhone 4 and 4s, it is not cool that only these two mobiles can work with BMW Apps.
It may work for 2010 cars onward.
But on previous models, follow what cyrano mentioned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyrano View Post
Steve have you tried to add +TELD to vo ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
I have a TCU for sure and I will definitely have SOS error. If you can please just pm me the solution. Thanks
Add it and code just KMBI and it will be all good.

And thats if taking out BMW assist does not help.
__________________

Last edited by makkan00; 10-06-2013 at 03:17 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 05:55 AM   #24
cage911
Lieutenant
cage911's Avatar
United Kingdom
6
Rep
426
Posts

 
Drives: e93 Msport
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Glad to hear that.
Just imagine I went from standard radio to CIC and combox retrofit.
It is the best retrofit I have done so far.
Re: FSC code, if somebody wants it at reasonable price and has bmw coding software, then give me a shout.
Congrats on the retrofit.

I am like Sam (makkan00); I went from standard CD/radio to retrofitting the CIC and Combox. I also retrofitted Bluetooth and 6FL connectivity. I am in midst of doing 6NF/6NR retrofit, doing the OEM way using the baseplate and iPhone media snap-in module.

It is definitely the best mod, I've have done to date; so if anyone is considering it..........

...... do it you won't regret it.

Sam I will be in touch about doing some coding for me
__________________
BMW E93 Sold but not forgotten.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 07:29 AM   #25
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Okay. Know this is some useful info. Thanks guys. So basically it's an easy swap. Take out old TCU unit and replace it with combox then code it in. What VO date should I be using for this retrofit. I have #0909 already.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 08:08 AM   #26
xelion
Banned
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
Okay. Know this is some useful info. Thanks guys. So basically it's an easy swap. Take out old TCU unit and replace it with combox then code it in. What VO date should I be using for this retrofit. I have #0909 already.
$0910
$6VC

and that's it.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 08:28 AM   #27
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by xelion View Post
$0910
$6VC

and that's it.
and +TELD
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 08:32 AM   #28
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
For those wondering why the auto night mode doesnt work on an E9x and it works on a E60 with CIC!!! The reason why it doesnt support auto night mode is because for some reason the CIC screen for the E9x series doesnt come with a light sensor at the bottom of the screen. On my CCC or the CIC screen from E60 they both come with a plastic screen that protect the led screen. On the bottom. middle of the screen there is a pin hole which contains a light sensor!

If you look carefully at the CIC screen from a E60 it comes with the plastic lens that covers over the housing. In the middle there is a tiny pin hole where the sensor is located. I noticed this because when I retrofitted my CIC unit into my 2007 I wanted the plastic housing over my screen, so I retrofitted the housing onto my new cic screen taking it from the CCC screen. Well thats when I noticed this light sensor. It unfortunate that the circuit board from the E9x cic screen is a drop different than the E60. That is the only difference and hence thats why E60s can have auto night mode available and we cant....We have a slighty different cic board than E60.. YOu can however use a CIC screen from E60 and you will have auto night functionality working, all you would need to do is code it in.

If I can source a really really cheap E60 CIC screen then I will make the change but for now I have a CIC screen that has a plastic lens cover protecting the lcd screen. I think it looks so much better with it..

Notice the pinhole on the left of flash in the middle, the bottom is where a light sensor would be..Remember this housing came from a CCC screen that had the protective plastic housing covering the CCC screen that I modified over to use with my CIC screen
Attached Images
 

Last edited by cn555ic; 10-06-2013 at 09:01 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2013, 08:46 AM   #29
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,543
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cage911 View Post
Sam I will be in touch about doing some coding for me
No worries mate. Sure any time.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2013, 06:55 AM   #30
xelion
Banned
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

And also what worth to add is that if you have COMBOX you have a Bluetooth Audio and Internet

Last edited by xelion; 10-08-2013 at 08:14 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2013, 07:10 AM   #31
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by xelion View Post
And also what worth to add is that if you have COMBOBOX you have a Bluetooth Audio and Internet
Unfortunately I have to get my cic firmware updated to V42 for the combox retrofit.
Appreciate 0
      10-08-2013, 08:14 AM   #32
xelion
Banned
0
Rep
82
Posts

 
Drives: 320d
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

ICOM A+B and it can be done easlie.
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2013, 12:22 PM   #33
dilankk
Private
1
Rep
95
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E93 AW/CR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: CA

iTrader: (1)

Did you have to buy any activation codes or hardware like how the vendors sell? Or did the coding take care of that?
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2013, 01:07 PM   #34
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilankk View Post
Did you have to buy any activation codes or hardware like how the vendors sell? Or did the coding take care of that?
For activating the map or what are you speaking of? Which activation your speaking of ?
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2013, 01:44 PM   #35
dilankk
Private
1
Rep
95
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E93 AW/CR
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: CA

iTrader: (1)

I've seen vendors say you need codes to activate navigation and voice control or the PnP hardware activation method.
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2013, 08:03 PM   #36
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by dilankk View Post
I've seen vendors say you need codes to activate navigation and voice control or the PnP hardware activation method.
You would need activation codes for navigation but the Emulator takes care of that issue even though its not OEM, its the cheapest route.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 02:04 AM   #37
inf1982
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: MSC

iTrader: (0)

Steven, hi!

Haven`t seen that thread before. Missed it! My friend is going to retrofit CIC instead of CCC also.
Thanks again for your help with alpina flash.
Vadim
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 07:36 AM   #38
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by inf1982 View Post
Steven, hi!

Haven`t seen that thread before. Missed it! My friend is going to retrofit CIC instead of CCC also.
Thanks again for your help with alpina flash.
Vadim
No worries....Yeah its the best thing to do to upgrade...Is your friend doing the complete retrofit of navigation? He didnt have navigation before correct? IF so taking off the dash is much more difficult to retrofit than a car with navigation already from factory...It can be done but alot more involved replacing the entire dash to one that has the cut out for the navigation screen..
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 03:30 PM   #39
inf1982
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

 
Drives: e92 335xi
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: MSC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic View Post
No worries....Yeah its the best thing to do to upgrade...Is your friend doing the complete retrofit of navigation? He didnt have navigation before correct? IF so taking off the dash is much more difficult to retrofit than a car with navigation already from factory...It can be done but alot more involved replacing the entire dash to one that has the cut out for the navigation screen..
No no no he has ccc w navigation. He is collecting his financials at the moment to buy parts. And I am collecting info how to code it. Your directions are very useful, and straightforward so hopefully I won't have many questions. But just in case I get stuck I ll be back for
We are going to make step by step DIY of the process.
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 08:12 PM   #40
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
122
Rep
7,543
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cn555ic
For those wondering why the auto night mode doesnt work on an E9x and it works on a E60 with CIC!!! The reason why it doesnt support auto night mode is because for some reason the CIC screen for the E9x series doesnt come with a light sensor at the bottom of the screen. On my CCC or the CIC screen from E60 they both come with a plastic screen that protect the led screen. On the bottom. middle of the screen there is a pin hole which contains a light sensor!

If you look carefully at the CIC screen from a E60 it comes with the plastic lens that covers over the housing. In the middle there is a tiny pin hole where the sensor is located. I noticed this because when I retrofitted my CIC unit into my 2007 I wanted the plastic housing over my screen, so I retrofitted the housing onto my new cic screen taking it from the CCC screen. Well thats when I noticed this light sensor. It unfortunate that the circuit board from the E9x cic screen is a drop different than the E60. That is the only difference and hence thats why E60s can have auto night mode available and we cant....We have a slighty different cic board than E60.. YOu can however use a CIC screen from E60 and you will have auto night functionality working, all you would need to do is code it in.

If I can source a really really cheap E60 CIC screen then I will make the change but for now I have a CIC screen that has a plastic lens cover protecting the lcd screen. I think it looks so much better with it..

Notice the pinhole on the left of flash in the middle, the bottom is where a light sensor would be..Remember this housing came from a CCC screen that had the protective plastic housing covering the CCC screen that I modified over to use with my CIC screen
Great.
Can e6x screen fit in e9x straight?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      10-10-2013, 08:18 PM   #41
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by makkan00 View Post
Great.
Can e6x screen fit in e9x straight?
I do believe so!
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2013, 08:37 AM   #42
roadkillrob
Brigadier General
United_States
58
Rep
3,905
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335Cic, 2011 X5 35i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (14)

Nice and thanks for the info - I did the retro fit also and have not got around to recoding the VO so I can remove the disclaimer, so thanks for the info I will have to take care of that! I did the install a while ago, but ran the old controller, just ordered the new center console trim, could not find anything used as I wanted to keep my Grey Poplar, so ended up having to order one new from a late 09 - just got the ship notification from Tischer as it was backordered so should have it Tuesday - what did you used for the console trim - it is hard to find them for the E93.

Rob
__________________

2008 E93 335i, GIAC Stage 2, HPF IC, Injen Intake, Defective AR Design DP's with useless cats
2014 X3 35i JB Stage 1
Appreciate 0
      10-12-2013, 09:42 AM   #43
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadkillrob View Post
Nice and thanks for the info - I did the retro fit also and have not got around to recoding the VO so I can remove the disclaimer, so thanks for the info I will have to take care of that! I did the install a while ago, but ran the old controller, just ordered the new center console trim, could not find anything used as I wanted to keep my Grey Poplar, so ended up having to order one new from a late 09 - just got the ship notification from Tischer as it was backordered so should have it Tuesday - what did you used for the console trim - it is hard to find them for the E93.

Rob
I am still using my old CCC controller for now...THe new controller is better as for short cuts but I have yet found a trim that matches mine. The Light Poplar is no longer made WHat I am going to do is find a E93 trim with the CIC cutout and basically take all my trim out and having it painted Piano Black along with the center control trim. This is one of the best retrofits I have done! You didnt code your VO? Who did the coding for you as the CIC headunit needs coding in order for the cic to work..

I have an extra retrofit kit if anyone is interested that is located near the New York area.

Last edited by cn555ic; 10-12-2013 at 10:06 AM.
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2013, 08:21 AM   #44
cn555ic
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
cn555ic's Avatar
United_States
246
Rep
18,287
Posts


 
Drives: Bimmerscoding.com
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York

iTrader: (5)

Send a message via Yahoo to cn555ic
So it seems the most sort after firmware for the CIC is V42 which is the only firmware in which BMW apps doesnt require a FSC code to activate it. Its also compatible with the Combox when you retrofit it.. I happen to have gotten lucky with mine as the one I bought has V42 CIC.C16 already on it...
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST