E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N57 / M57 Turbo Diesel Discussions - 335d > Ecotune Dyno results Mustang



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-26-2013, 03:13 PM   #1
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

Ecotune Dyno results Mustang



Ended up postponing the golf tourney so I went down to the same place where xbox got his dynoed. Something rather curious happened on the 2nd and 3rd pulls. The power dropped considerably after around 2400 rpm as you may see on the graph. No explanation, no error codes, its as if the 2nd turbo isnt working or something. I'll have to email this graph to the tuner and see if they have any ideas about this. After the 3rd crappy pull I took the car off the dyno and drove it on the street. The lack of power after 2400 rpm was very apparent. After parking it and waiting a short time I started it back up and the power was back... wtf right?

Might be a bit hard to see but max hp was 277 and max tq was 436 on run 1
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2013, 04:00 PM   #2
crazyinp
Lieutenant
 
Drives: BMW 335d
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Bay Area

Posts: 550
iTrader: (4)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335d  [0.00]
those are at the wheels right? So if you use xbox recommended 12% lost ,310HP and 490TQ.

Would love to see JBD on the same dyno.
crazyinp is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-26-2013, 06:18 PM   #3
yatzee
Retired TDI guy
 
yatzee's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 335D
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Montreal

Posts: 87
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2009 BMW 335d  [0.00]
JBD has a dyno on their site - do we trust that info?
__________________
2009 335d - JDB - MS-8
yatzee is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2013, 06:46 AM   #4
TDIwyse
Major
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

Posts: 1,061
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_planet View Post

Ended up postponing the golf tourney so I went down to the same place where xbox got his dynoed. Something rather curious happened on the 2nd and 3rd pulls. The power dropped considerably after around 2400 rpm as you may see on the graph. No explanation, no error codes, its as if the 2nd turbo isnt working or something. I'll have to email this graph to the tuner and see if they have any ideas about this. After the 3rd crappy pull I took the car off the dyno and drove it on the street. The lack of power after 2400 rpm was very apparent. After parking it and waiting a short time I started it back up and the power was back... wtf right?

Might be a bit hard to see but max hp was 277 and max tq was 436 on run 1
So it appears you triggered something that put you in a reduced power mode. Have you ever had this happen on the road when driving hard, or just on these dyno pulls?

On the dyno pulls, how long did each pull take? I've not used a Mustang, but on a Superflow it can be setup to act like a Dynojet (really fast pull where the run takes a few seconds) or a loaded cell where the rollers can be loaded down to slow the pull (important for big diesel trucks with big turbo's that won't spool up without a load).

How long did you wait between pulls?

Was the DPF in a regen mode?

What did the EGT's look like during the pulls? Were things getting too hot?

Will be interested to hear what Ecotune says about this.
TDIwyse is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2013, 09:57 AM   #5
acewiza
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 335D
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIwyse View Post
So it appears you triggered something that put you in a reduced power mode.
It's inconceivable for any sort of limp mode to still be putting out over 400ftlbs torque.
acewiza is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2013, 10:06 AM   #6
TDIwyse
Major
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

Posts: 1,061
iTrader: (0)

Not true. Notice the power is limited across rpm. Lower rpm allows more torque for the power limit.
TDIwyse is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2013, 10:55 AM   #7
acewiza
Banned
 
Drives: 2011 335D
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado

Posts: 115
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_planet View Post
No explanation, no error codes, ...
True, various "limp modes" are triggered from sensors resulting in rpm limiting. One thing they all include however, is lighting a CEL or SES indicator.

Maybe Joe's SES lamp is burned out.
acewiza is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2013, 05:02 PM   #8
TDIwyse
Major
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

Posts: 1,061
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by acewiza View Post
True, various "limp modes" are triggered from sensors resulting in rpm limiting. One thing they all include however, is lighting a CEL or SES indicator.

Maybe Joe's SES lamp is burned out.
He's running a remapped car. The OEM programming and "normal" codes/faults/SES lights are subject to the designer of his modified programming.

There are times when these remaps block out entire sections of faults to enable their alternations, which can lead to unusual interactions with other sections of code ...
TDIwyse is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2013, 05:22 PM   #9
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TDIwyse View Post
So it appears you triggered something that put you in a reduced power mode. Have you ever had this happen on the road when driving hard, or just on these dyno pulls?

On the dyno pulls, how long did each pull take? I've not used a Mustang, but on a Superflow it can be setup to act like a Dynojet (really fast pull where the run takes a few seconds) or a loaded cell where the rollers can be loaded down to slow the pull (important for big diesel trucks with big turbo's that won't spool up without a load).

How long did you wait between pulls?

Was the DPF in a regen mode?

What did the EGT's look like during the pulls? Were things getting too hot?

Will be interested to hear what Ecotune says about this.

The tuner didn't wait very long between the first and second pulls. He did smoke a cigarette between second and third lol

I do not know if regen mode was active. I also wasn't monitoring any other parameters such as egt. It is possible that the car entered regen, as it was blowing some smoke out of the exhaust during all pulls. Perhaps I can go back another time and run my Bluetooth gizmo to monitor the parameters.
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-27-2013, 07:06 PM   #10
TDIwyse
Major
 
Drives: 2011 335d
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: MidWest

Posts: 1,061
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_planet View Post
The tuner didn't wait very long between the first and second pulls. He did smoke a cigarette between second and third lol

I do not know if regen mode was active. I also wasn't monitoring any other parameters such as egt. It is possible that the car entered regen, as it was blowing some smoke out of the exhaust during all pulls. Perhaps I can go back another time and run my Bluetooth gizmo to monitor the parameters.
I've found the "Torque" app to be incredibly valuable. With it, I'm able to see EGT's, EGR, HP/Tq, boost, coolant temps ...

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showpo...45&postcount=5

It will show you, without doubt, when you are experiencing DPF regens.

My car, with my normal driving, does a regen every ~400 miles. This aligns with the BMW technical documents, see page 133:

http://prodcds.bmwuniversity.com/lib...Technology.pdf

The DDE will initiate regeneration every 300 to 500 miles depend-
ing on several factors. Mostly, the regeneration is transparent to
the driver. There may be a light loss of power for a short period
while the soot is burned off.
TDIwyse is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 07:08 AM   #11
Puerto Rican 335d
Colonel
 
Puerto Rican 335d's Avatar
 
Drives: Montego Blue 335d
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Puerto Rico

Posts: 2,713
iTrader: (0)

have you guys thought of the car went on limp mode cause of heat soaked IC?
__________________
RENNtech Flash/WAGNER IC
VMR710 19"/Execuhitch Hitch/Koni FSD
Soft Ride Bike Rack
Amsoil Cetane Boost Diesel Fuel Additive
Amsoil Diesel Fuel Additive Concentrate
Puerto Rican 335d is offline   Puerto Rico
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 09:28 AM   #12
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puerto Rican 335d View Post
have you guys thought of the car went on limp mode cause of heat soaked IC?
I'm very doubtful that's the case. The guy had 2 4 foot fans running in front of my car and a blower fan. The first run went without a hitch. I think i will go back there in a couple weeks, do full data logging and see what the deal is.
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 09:41 AM   #13
xboxgod
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 E90 335d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Wow. I totally missed this until this morning.

I wonder if Ecotune coded out limp mode on purpose. This would be bad. My JBD only triggers limp mode if the car isn't warmed up and the JBD is set to 100%.

I have a ODBII bluetooth connector and the Torque app. Let me know when you go to dyne it again and we can hook it up to your car and log some data.
xboxgod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 09:48 AM   #14
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by acewiza View Post
True, various "limp modes" are triggered from sensors resulting in rpm limiting. One thing they all include however, is lighting a CEL or SES indicator.

Maybe Joe's SES lamp is burned out.
lol... well i scanned for DTCs after the fact and there were no active or pending codes, so as far as the car is concerned everything was operating nominally.
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 09:50 AM   #15
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxgod View Post
Wow. I totally missed this until this morning.

I wonder if Ecotune coded out limp mode on purpose. This would be bad. My JBD only triggers limp mode if the car isn't warmed up and the JBD is set to 100%.

I have a ODBII bluetooth connector and the Torque app. Let me know when you go to dyne it again and we can hook it up to your car and log some data.
Cool, thanks! I already have one just had a brain fart and didnt use it, lol.
I have an idea... when you get your JBD back, we can meet up at PRT and dyno both cars!
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 09:57 AM   #16
xboxgod
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 E90 335d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_planet View Post
Cool, thanks! I already have one just had a brain fart and didnt use it, lol.
I have an idea... when you get your JBD back, we can meet up at PRT and dyno both cars!
Sounds like a plan. I am doing it as soon as I get it back. Haha.

Gotta figure out my meth predicament too.
xboxgod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 10:01 AM   #17
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xboxgod View Post
Sounds like a plan. I am doing it as soon as I get it back. Haha.

Gotta figure out my meth predicament too.
Maybe we can both figure it out
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      10-28-2013, 10:14 AM   #18
xboxgod
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2011 E90 335d
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX

Posts: 249
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_planet View Post
Maybe we can both figure it out
Well Burger Motorsport quit making the meth kit for the D. I am sooooo confused on meth injection, I don't even know where to start. They made it sound like the JBD was the fuel controller and you had to hook it up to that. I know Snow Performance makes one, but I need to figure out how to install it. I found a BMS WW kit for the n54, but I don't have a fuel controller so I don't know that I can make it work. I've been harassing TDIwyse about it actually. (Thanks)
xboxgod is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2013, 10:32 PM   #19
FormerRotor
Major
 
FormerRotor's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 335d, M-Sport
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MD

Posts: 1,462
iTrader: (4)

Every times come back to this thread I am reminded as to why I wasn't entirely comfortable with Ecotune. Did we ever figure out why the car went into limp without any visible warning to the driver?
__________________

My Picture Threads (Oldest to Newest): 1 2 3
Join BMW CCA! (Use my link and I get credit )
FormerRotor is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-18-2013, 11:25 PM   #20
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

No but I went back to dyno and made 3 full power passes with even greater numbers. Car was probably doing a regen at the time and exhaust was getting too hot so it pulled the power. Haven't had any issues since then. It's a shame there's no indicator that tells regen.
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-19-2013, 12:02 AM   #21
dixy2k
Lieutenant
 
Drives: 335d
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CA

Posts: 587
iTrader: (0)

Do you have the most recent graphs?
dixy2k is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-19-2013, 03:16 PM   #22
joe_planet
Captain
 
Drives: 2011 X5d
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: DFW

Posts: 639
iTrader: (1)

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=914705
joe_planet is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST