E90Post
 


GT Haus
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Who has a Dash Cam Rolling?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-13-2013, 02:23 PM   #1
vanondemand
Banned
 
vanondemand's Avatar
 
Drives: E92 335i M/T
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 662
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Who has a Dash Cam Rolling?

Dash camera's have been rising in popularity in my area, every few cars have a camera rolling in it. Anyone else here drive with one rolling?
vanondemand is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2013, 07:41 PM   #2
jwzimm
Captain
 
jwzimm's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335i X-drive Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton, WA

Posts: 940
iTrader: (9)

I do. I have a Blackvue and I am really glad it is there. Cheap insurance really.
jwzimm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2013, 09:00 PM   #3
E46driver
First Lieutenant
 
E46driver's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 E92 N51 328i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Rowland Heights

Posts: 381
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwzimm View Post
I do. I have a Blackvue and I am really glad it is there. Cheap insurance really.
Does the camera use alot of electricity, how often do you have to extract the data, can it record 24 hours straight?
__________________
2009 Alpine White E92 N51 328i Automagic |Coral Red/Black Dakota Leather Interior | BMW Performance Exhaust | Varrstoen ES1 | Gloss Black Roof Vinyl | M-Sport Kit(-Skirts) | LUX H8 V3 AE | GP Thunder Fogs
E46driver is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2013, 09:06 PM   #4
jwzimm
Captain
 
jwzimm's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 335i X-drive Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton, WA

Posts: 940
iTrader: (9)

I don't think it uses much power. I have it plugged into the cigarette lighter with a TPower C battery pack as well. That keeps it running for a couple hours after I shut down.

As for the data, it automatically overwrites the oldest files so I don't extract the data unless I need it. I have a 32 GB card in it and that holds a few days worth of driving for me.
jwzimm is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-13-2013, 11:05 PM   #5
roadkillrob
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2008 335Cic, 2011 X5 35i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

Posts: 3,870
iTrader: (14)

I run one 32 gb card also, wired into car and never turns off unless battery drops below 11.8 volts, car can sit a week without getting any power warnings or having any issues.
__________________

2008 E93 335i, GIAC Stage 2, HPF IC, Injen Intake, Defective AR Design DP's with useless cats
2014 X3 35i JB Stage 1
roadkillrob is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2013, 01:30 AM   #6
Brian!
Private
 
Drives: 2009 328i xDrive
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 98
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanondemand View Post
Dash camera's have been rising in popularity in my area, every few cars have a camera rolling in it. Anyone else here drive with one rolling?
I got the finevu cr500 just a month after I got my E90

had it hardwired to the fuse box, so the dash cam can record while the car is at park (motion detection)

I bought it from a Korean in Vancouver, he's pretty good knowledge of what hes selling. and few different brand of dash cam

pm me if you want his info
Brian! is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2013, 01:48 AM   #7
mythek
ridiculously slow over dips
 
Drives: 2008 335i Coupe TIAG
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Orange County, CA, USA, NA, EARTH.

Posts: 601
iTrader: (5)

a little off topic, but those who are using the dashcam or simply a camera to record video while your car is parked for security reason....what measures have you taken to stop thief from taking the camera (along with memory card where the video is stored in)?
mythek is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2013, 02:46 AM   #8
Karura
First Lieutenant
 
Drives: E92 335is DCT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vancouver

Posts: 339
iTrader: (0)

I use one, but only when moving. I don't care about parking mode, as that consumes too much power anyway.
Karura is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      11-14-2013, 03:22 AM   #9
cisf0rcalvin
Second Lieutenant
 
cisf0rcalvin's Avatar
 
Drives: E90 LCI
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nevada

Posts: 280
iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2010 BMW 328i  [4.25]
I have mine hardwired into my fuse box. it uses .12 A of power. I have a power magic set to 12v. Also I have a small solar trickle charger attached to my rear shelve but i'm pretty sure its not strong enough lol.
__________________
Add Ons: Charcoal Filter Delete, K&N Drop-in, Air Scoops, HID Angel Eyes, Splitters, M3 Lip Spoiler, Gloss Black Kidney Grills, Blackvue DR500-GW, M-Tech rear, BMW Performance Exhaust
cisf0rcalvin is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST