E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Remote Start - No Extra Key Required



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-13-2013, 03:11 PM   #1
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Remote Start - No Extra Key Required

just did the install with the idatalink/flashlogic/omega unit, quick and easy No wires to cut, no extra key lost or hiding anywhere. Less than 15 minutes to install.

Last edited by shadowinstallz; 11-15-2013 at 03:38 PM.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 04:26 PM   #2
gdkalyanapu
Private First Class
gdkalyanapu's Avatar
United_States
2
Rep
193
Posts

 
Drives: 07 e90 335i, 09 e93 335i
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (8)

Do you mean it works with the oem key? Will it work for e93 with comfort access and OEM alarm system?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 04:30 PM   #3
///M3NACE
Banned
///M3NACE's Avatar
60
Rep
3,907
Posts

 
Drives: E36 M3, E36 Vert , E90 N52
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Downers Grove, IL

iTrader: (5)

Interested will this work with a 6mt or a special bypass is needed?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 05:10 PM   #4
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

The only thing is be concerned about is the range of the stock remote. What's the point of remote start if you have to be standing 5 feet away to use it. Unless this kit fixes that or uses a separate remote.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 06:04 PM   #5
fmonteiro444
First Lieutenant
fmonteiro444's Avatar
3
Rep
383
Posts

 
Drives: 09 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (5)

Garage List
I'm definitely interested!
__________________
09 335xi - DCI, CP-E CP w/Tial, JB4 w/custom flash, E45, 50/50 meth, Alpina Flash - 12.4 @115
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 06:06 PM   #6
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

No extra bypass required, yes it integrates with factory alarm etc...yes it will work with comfort access,but you would have to press unlock to actually enter the vehicle of course, you have an option to get a separate remote for extended range if you want. But if u park r vehicle close by where u can see it then it's fine like in front of our home. No manual transmission at this moment. It can be done probably with a clutch bypass and neutral safety which will be additional wiring
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 08:39 PM   #7
Ali-323i
Lieutenant
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
512
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [0.00]
What's required for a clutch bypass? Coding or physical alterations?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 08:54 PM   #8
TMR
Colonel
TMR's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
2,894
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

iTrader: (11)

PM me a price for the unit.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2013, 11:43 PM   #9
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
What's required for a clutch bypass? Coding or physical alterations?
physical alterations...any experienced installer would be able to do this
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 05:38 PM   #10
MASAID335
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 335i e92
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: So Cal

iTrader: (0)

Interested

Please PM pricing, thank you
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 09:04 PM   #11
Ali-323i
Lieutenant
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
512
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowinstallz View Post
physical alterations...any experienced installer would be able to do this
Would I still be able to turn the car on without starting the engine? (Currently needed to clear service messages, done by starting without pressing clutch)
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 09:52 PM   #12
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
Would I still be able to turn the car on without starting the engine? (Currently needed to clear service messages, done by starting without pressing clutch)
Yes, of course, only bypass during remote start
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 10:01 PM   #13
Ali-323i
Lieutenant
Ali-323i's Avatar
Canada
6
Rep
512
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 323i (Cdn) 4dr E90
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 323i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadowinstallz View Post
Yes, of course, only bypass during remote start
I wasn't sure. The last 2 cars of mine (both manual eagle talons) would start without pushing the clutch even when starting it with the key. That's why I thought I'd confirm. Why would this behaviour be different in this application than in my previous cars?
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2013, 10:44 PM   #14
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
I wasn't sure. The last 2 cars of mine (both manual eagle talons) would start without pushing the clutch even when starting it with the key. That's why I thought I'd confirm. Why would this behaviour be different in this application than in my previous cars?
The alarm basically tricks the car into thinking that you are pushing the brake/clutch when the remote start is activated. When I use my remote start the brake lights even turn on for a second when the car turns on. The clutch wiring is probably pretty similar to the brake wiring on an automatic.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 01:29 AM   #15
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
superjay's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
597
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

iTrader: (0)

It will not work with manual. The firmware is not finished.

This is not a DIY piece. It must be programmed by a dealer.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 01:33 AM   #16
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
superjay's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
597
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

iTrader: (0)

Albert, I'm not sure where you're getting these, but selling this as a DIY is false advertising.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 01:47 AM   #17
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay View Post
It will not work with manual. The firmware is not finished.

This is not a DIY piece. It must be programmed by a dealer.
I'm sure it could work with a manual if installed properly even if its not designed for it. Only difference is you need a neutral safety switch and you need to bypass the clutch instead of the brake. That's just what it seems like to me unless there's some other reason it can't be done.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 05:39 AM   #18
RimasRS
Colonel
RimasRS's Avatar
28
Rep
2,397
Posts

 
Drives: 135i MT 2009 AW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

interesting...
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 06:57 AM   #19
superjay
Resident Car Audio Guru
superjay's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
597
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 E93 335i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Coral Springs, FL

iTrader: (0)

No. It really can't. You are welcome to try, but you are going to find your self disappointed, and with an expensive product that no longer works. Compustar has a lead tech with a 135. If it COULD be hacked to work with manual she would already have done it.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 10:52 AM   #20
bmw325i
Brigadier General
59
Rep
4,511
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay View Post
No. It really can't. You are welcome to try, but you are going to find your self disappointed, and with an expensive product that no longer works. Compustar has a lead tech with a 135. If it COULD be hacked to work with manual she would already have done it.
Well I don't have a manual, but I just don't see why it can't be done. The only difference between an automatic and a manual is you have to push the clutch instead of the brake to start it, plus you need to make sure the car is in nuetral to be safe about it. I'm sure you know more about this setup than I do though.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 01:03 PM   #21
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ali-323i View Post
I wasn't sure. The last 2 cars of mine (both manual eagle talons) would start without pushing the clutch even when starting it with the key. That's why I thought I'd confirm. Why would this behaviour be different in this application than in my previous cars?
whoever did you install on the previous 2 cars didnt do the bypass correctly.
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2013, 01:07 PM   #22
shadowinstallz
Enlisted Member
1
Rep
41
Posts

 
Drives: E90
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by superjay View Post
No. It really can't. You are welcome to try, but you are going to find your self disappointed, and with an expensive product that no longer works. Compustar has a lead tech with a 135. If it COULD be hacked to work with manual she would already have done it.
you dont need a hack, you need an experienced installer
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST