E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > DIY: How to setup BMW Standard Tools 2.12 w/Windows 7 x86 (32-bit)



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-04-2014, 11:58 AM   #67
dwells
ಠ_ಠ
 
dwells's Avatar
 
Drives: Monaco Blue 335i coupe
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New England

Posts: 1,521
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 808AWD325xi View Post
I can't say as the DIY was tested with Windows 7. Another forum member posted to this thread saying that no changes were required for XP SP3.
Gotcha. I'll try taking a stab at it and see how it goes. The laptop I'll be using is pretty old and these applications were all first built long before Windows 7 was around, so I figure I'll try just using XP.

When using Windows 7, did you need to run any of the applications under XP compatibility mode? I've heard others mention it, but didn't see it in the guide.
__________________
| 335i coupe | Monaco Blue | JB4 G5 ISO | Style 313M | Huper 40% tint | Aero lip | CSL trunk spoiler | M3 sideskirts
| Paint-matched grilles | Painted reflectors | GP Thunder II angel eyes | Smoked LED sidemarkers | Self-coded |
dwells is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-04-2014, 02:08 PM   #68
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
 
808AWD325xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 634
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwells View Post
When using Windows 7, did you need to run any of the applications under XP compatibility mode? I've heard others mention it, but didn't see it in the guide.
No.
808AWD325xi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2014, 04:32 PM   #69
JStang
N54 ADDICT
 
JStang's Avatar
 
Drives: FBO E92 335i
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: St. Petersburg, FL

Posts: 2,952
iTrader: (6)

Can anyone send me the latest and greatest files? I'm picking up a Windows laptop tonight. Thanks in advance!

jeremystanger@gmail.com
__________________
JStang is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-11-2014, 04:37 PM   #70
fmonteiro444
First Lieutenant
 
fmonteiro444's Avatar
 
Drives: 09 335i X-Drive
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NJ

Posts: 368
iTrader: (5)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JStang View Post
Can anyone send me the latest and greatest files? I'm picking up a Windows laptop tonight. Thanks in advance!

jeremystanger@gmail.com
Sent you an email
__________________
09 335xi - DCI, CP-E CP w/Tial, JB4 w/custom flash, E45, 50/50 meth, Alpina Flash - 12.4 @115
fmonteiro444 is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-12-2014, 10:53 AM   #71
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
 
808AWD325xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 634
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JStang View Post
Can anyone send me the latest and greatest files? I'm picking up a Windows laptop tonight. Thanks in advance!

jeremystanger@gmail.com
Links to all necessary software are embedded within the DIY.

BMW Standard Tools 2.12 is comprised of the latest tools; INPA 5.0.6, NCS Expert 4.0.1, EDIABAS 7.3.0, etc. It only contains the tools themselves, no INPA scripts or configuration files. This is why the DIY begins with installing an earlier release of INPA. INPA 5.0.2 contains the latest (last?) INPA scripts to be released in English. Later scripts are in German.

SP Daten v50.2 is valid for E9x integration levels through E89x-13-07-503. Unless your car has been updated in the last 90 days or so, it's unlikely that you'll require a newer release.
808AWD325xi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2014, 04:29 PM   #72
NeedleBanger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Even after I imported the daten files etc, when I open INPA it doesn't have any cars to choose from at all. I followed all the steps (or so I thought), but in the tutorial pics it seems like there was suppose to be a bunch of cars to choose from in BMW Standard Tools (prob from installing daten files). When I got to that step I didn't have anything to choose from at all, just F1 = info & F2 = script.

I tried to say f* it by taking it to a BMW shop, but now they're saying my frm module wont respond to their diagnostic tool at all. Is this from me fooling around with that K+DCAN cable??? As far as I know, the cable didn't even work properly & I never even got anything to happen with any of the programs. I didn't change any settings or anything. Can anything get messed up by simply plugging in the K+DCAN and running INPA (I was only checking for a connection)? Agonizing...

correction: the cable probably works fine, I just have no clue what is going on.
NeedleBanger is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2014, 04:33 PM   #73
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedleBanger View Post
Even after I imported the daten files etc, when I open INPA it doesn't have any cars to choose from at all. I followed all the steps (or so I thought), but in the tutorial pics it seems like there was suppose to be a bunch of cars to choose from in BMW Standard Tools (prob from installing daten files). When I got to that step I didn't have anything to choose from at all, just F1 = info & F2 = script.

I tried to say f* it by taking it to a BMW shop, but now they're saying my frm module wont respond to their diagnostic tool at all. Is this from me fooling around with that K+DCAN cable??? As far as I know, the cable didn't even work properly & I never even got anything to happen with any of the programs. I didn't change any settings or anything. Can anything get messed up by simply plugging in the K+DCAN and running INPA (I was only checking for a connection)? Agonizing...

correction: the cable probably works fine, I just have no clue what is going on.
i can help you set it up remotely if you have the cable
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2014, 04:34 PM   #74
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ************ View Post
i can help you set it up remotely if you have the cable
just pm me
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2014, 07:55 PM   #75
NeedleBanger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Hey Joe, thanks so much for offering a hand! To my amazement, I just picked up my car from the mechanic shop... and they actually installed/coded the tail lights properly!!!! They said I was the 1st person to ever ask to have my tail lights upgraded/coded. The only thing they couldn't do for me was the corner amber turn signal delete. I would be thrilled if I could get this corner delete to work, but my kyboshed version of BMW Tools is throwing a nice sized hurdle in my way. Im going to retrace my steps for installing the daten files (I swear I did this right), and if I get totally pooched ill pm you right away. I have Windows 7 64-bit, if that's the problem...
NeedleBanger is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-21-2014, 09:37 PM   #76
joepcrepairs
Banned
 
Drives: 09 e92 335
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Norwalk, Ca

Posts: 118
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedleBanger View Post
Hey Joe, thanks so much for offering a hand! To my amazement, I just picked up my car from the mechanic shop... and they actually installed/coded the tail lights properly!!!! They said I was the 1st person to ever ask to have my tail lights upgraded/coded. The only thing they couldn't do for me was the corner amber turn signal delete. I would be thrilled if I could get this corner delete to work, but my kyboshed version of BMW Tools is throwing a nice sized hurdle in my way. Im going to retrace my steps for installing the daten files (I swear I did this right), and if I get totally pooched ill pm you right away. I have Windows 7 64-bit, if that's the problem...

to useexrpert and do coding you need win7 32bit edition or lower can be winvista or xp..
joepcrepairs is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2014, 02:08 PM   #77
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
 
808AWD325xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 634
iTrader: (0)

Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedleBanger View Post
Even after I imported the daten files etc, when I open INPA it doesn't have any cars to choose from at all. I followed all the steps (or so I thought), but in the tutorial pics it seems like there was suppose to be a bunch of cars to choose from in BMW Standard Tools (prob from installing daten files). When I got to that step I didn't have anything to choose from at all, just F1 = info & F2 = script.

I tried to say f* it by taking it to a BMW shop, but now they're saying my frm module wont respond to their diagnostic tool at all. Is this from me fooling around with that K+DCAN cable??? As far as I know, the cable didn't even work properly & I never even got anything to happen with any of the programs. I didn't change any settings or anything. Can anything get messed up by simply plugging in the K+DCAN and running INPA (I was only checking for a connection)? Agonizing...

correction: the cable probably works fine, I just have no clue what is going on.
If INPA displayed no chassis selections, you either did not install INPA 5.0.2 and copy the CFGDAT and SGDAT folders to removable media for safe keeping to begin with or after installing BMW Standard Tools 2.12, you incorrectly copied the INPA initialization file, scripts, and configuration files from your saved CFGDAT and SGDAT folders to the C:\EC-APPS\INPA\CFGDAT and C:\EC-APPS\INPA\SGDAT folders.

Your BMW shop's inability to access the FRM module via their "diagnostic tool" is a separate issue.

Incorrectly installing BMW Standard Tools 2.12, plugging in a K+DCAN cable and running INPA with no initialization file (INPA.INI) CANNOT possibly harm your vehicle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedleBanger View Post
Hey Joe, thanks so much for offering a hand! To my amazement, I just picked up my car from the mechanic shop... and they actually installed/coded the tail lights properly!!!! They said I was the 1st person to ever ask to have my tail lights upgraded/coded. The only thing they couldn't do for me was the corner amber turn signal delete. I would be thrilled if I could get this corner delete to work, but my kyboshed version of BMW Tools is throwing a nice sized hurdle in my way. Im going to retrace my steps for installing the daten files (I swear I did this right), and if I get totally pooched ill pm you right away. I have Windows 7 64-bit, if that's the problem...
This DIY was tested with Windows 7 32-bit.
808AWD325xi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-22-2014, 02:23 PM   #78
Oo vvR3cKz oO 619
GEARS OF WAR 3
 
Oo vvR3cKz oO 619's Avatar
 
Drives: N54 E93
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: WEST COAST

Posts: 185
iTrader: (3)

very useful
__________________


Oo vvR3cKz oO 619 is offline   No_Country
0
Reply With Quote
      02-23-2014, 11:54 AM   #79
NeedleBanger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

808AWD325xi - copying the CFGDAT and SGDAT folders to removable media was exactly what I didn't do. Can I uninstall and retry all this, or was it kinda a 1-shot deal?

When I first downloaded this program, it wouldn't even start up or anything so I went in and tried installing every possible thing in the INPA folder (like a retard) and I remember it saying in german somewhere: "Not compatible with 32-bit version..." So that sucks.
NeedleBanger is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-24-2014, 04:05 PM   #80
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
 
808AWD325xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 634
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedleBanger View Post
808AWD325xi - copying the CFGDAT and SGDAT folders to removable media was exactly what I didn't do. Can I uninstall and retry all this, or was it kinda a 1-shot deal?

When I first downloaded this program, it wouldn't even start up or anything so I went in and tried installing every possible thing in the INPA folder (like a retard) and I remember it saying in german somewhere: "Not compatible with 32-bit version..." So that sucks.
You would need to start from scratch at the very beginning of the DIY to capture the INPA 5.0.2 CFGDAT and SGDAT folders needed to bootstrap INPA 5.0.6 after installing BMW Standard Tools 2.12.
808AWD325xi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2014, 12:35 PM   #81
NeedleBanger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

ok right on, thanks for your help!
NeedleBanger is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2014, 03:32 PM   #82
NeedleBanger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

I managed to get BMW Tools up & running properly , but I'm not sure if my cable is working. I set it to Port 1 & Latency 1. it says the cable is working properly under the device manager. My cord came with an extra black plastic piece that fits between the K+DCAN cable and the OBD (I think it has something to do with '06 build e92). BMW Tools doesn't seem to be connecting to my laptop, and the battery/ignition buttons aren't lighting up. I checked the USB to -- box to on when I was installing the programs. When I try to check my tire pressures etc. I get this message:

Group file : D_RDC,D_0070.
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND.
Program will be stopped!

Any suggestions??

Last edited by NeedleBanger; 02-26-2014 at 06:43 PM.
NeedleBanger is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2014, 04:52 PM   #83
mr_milo
Captain
 
mr_milo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 E93 328i
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

Posts: 670
iTrader: (1)

That adaptor does one of two things. It either jumpers pins 7 & 8 or removes the jumper on pins 7 & 8. I *think* most of them jumper the pins and therefore are only needed on older cars.

But it all depends on your cable.
mr_milo is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-26-2014, 06:42 PM   #84
NeedleBanger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Ya I'm about 85% sure that's why I have that little black box - it had something to do with my car being a 10/06 build. I believe I bought it off the OneStop website. The little light comes on in the clear plastic casing when I plug the cable into the OBD. Nothing happens after that, and I get the above error message if I try opening any of the diagnostics.

Is this characteristic of putting (or not putting) the wrong CFGDAT / SGDAT files in the wrong places?
Is this a characteristic of the cable not being detected, and the error message is referring to that?

When I tried to go into the E92: Driver's Seat menu, I get this error code:

Group file : D_FAS.
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND.
Program will be stopped!

Last edited by NeedleBanger; 02-26-2014 at 11:10 PM.
NeedleBanger is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 11:28 AM   #85
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
 
808AWD325xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 634
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedleBanger View Post
Ya I'm about 85% sure that's why I have that little black box - it had something to do with my car being a 10/06 build. I believe I bought it off the OneStop website. The little light comes on in the clear plastic casing when I plug the cable into the OBD. Nothing happens after that, and I get the above error message if I try opening any of the diagnostics.

Is this characteristic of putting (or not putting) the wrong CFGDAT / SGDAT files in the wrong places?
Is this a characteristic of the cable not being detected, and the error message is referring to that?

When I tried to go into the E92: Driver's Seat menu, I get this error code:

Group file : D_FAS.
SYS-0005: OBJECT FILE NOT FOUND.
Program will be stopped!
Neither, INPA cannot locate the D_FAS.GRP file in the C:\EDIABAS\ECU folder. INPA needs the group files to identify modules.

You likely skipped the step in the DIY where you copy the group files (*.GRP) from the SP Daten to the C:\EDIABAS\ECU folder.
808AWD325xi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 05:09 PM   #86
NeedleBanger
Enlisted Member
 
Drives: '07 335i
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Alberta

Posts: 37
iTrader: (0)

Ok I copied the 80 group files to ecu folder, something I originally failed to do. Now when I open bmw tools / E92, the only option I can get into is the engine. It still gives me the same error message if I try anything else.

Holy 808AWD325xi, you have been a serious help.
NeedleBanger is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 06:18 PM   #87
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
 
808AWD325xi's Avatar
 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fremont, CA

Posts: 634
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeedleBanger View Post
Ok I copied the 80 group files to ecu folder, something I originally failed to do. Now when I open bmw tools / E92, the only option I can get into is the engine. It still gives me the same error message if I try anything else.

Holy 808AWD325xi, you have been a serious help.
Did you perform the next step in the DIY as well and import the SP Daten files with WinKFP?

Part of the WinKFP import process integrates the SGBD ECU description files (*.PRG) which EDIABAS depends upon. INPA and friends communicate with the car via EDIABAS. That process doesn't only impact WinKFP, it impacts all programs ability to communicate. The DIY was not constructed in such a way to be performed in piece parts, there are interdependencies.
808AWD325xi is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-28-2014, 04:36 PM   #88
bestb
New Member
 
Drives: BMW F10 2.0d
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Nuneaton

Posts: 21
iTrader: (0)

I go step by step Inpa was working fine after first OS install but I cant find the SRC and TXT files, just not there
can someone zip and host these files ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ls3c6 View Post

C:\>copy X:\CFGDAT\*.ENG C:\EC-APPS\INPA\CFGDAT /v
14 file(s) copied.
C:\>copy X:\SGDAT\*.IPO C:\EC-APPS\INPA\SGDAT /v
468 file(s) copied.
C:\>copy X:\SGDAT\*.SRC C:\EC-APPS\INPA\SGDAT /v
11 file(s) copied.
C:\>copy X:\SGDAT\*.TXT C:\EC-APPS\INPA\SGDAT /v
2 file(s) copied.

bestb is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST