E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Good touch screen dvd player?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-17-2015, 09:25 PM   #1
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Good touch screen dvd player?

Was looking at sony, alpine, and jvc options with a double din on crutchfield. Anyone have any preferences?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2015, 12:14 AM   #2
ctuna
Major General
360
Rep
7,216
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Before you plunge into a aftermarket Head Unit

Before you plunge into a aftermarket Head Unit
There is some stuff you should know about putting a
aftermarket head unit in a E9x.
There are some side effects and things to consider.
The BMW Radio or I drive is integrated into the car in such
a way that if you remove it you will not be able to get software
updates or repairs at BMW dealer without remounting the original
BMW Head Unit.
To get around this some do a parallel mount of the original Head Unit in the trunk.
Additionally depending on what options you have they may cause
error messages or cease to work and cause error messages.
SOS will cause a error message if the original radio is removed.
I also have read you will loose at least the audio indicators if you have PDC
and in some models the chimes come through the stereo speakers
via the radio.

Also if you happen to have the Logic 7 sound system there is only one
aftermarket Head Unit that will interface with the Logic 7 amp
and that is the Dynavin N6 with a logic 7 adapter built for the N6.
(because of the proprietary fiber optic interface between the amp
and head unit)

head unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1036190
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.janus-design.net/english/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=355089
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...ight=head+unit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...light=retrofit
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=993447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1016187
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showth...hlight=dynavin

BMW stereo types
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=352586
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1266451970
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...2&d=1260829447
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=343673
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138949
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780605
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=641323
http://bmwcoders.com/forum/3-er-8/bm...1-e92-e93-291/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...1&d=1209780865
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j...,d.cGU&cad=rja
http://www.musicarnw.com/page-2/
http://www.e90post.com/forums/attach...4&d=1278871872

Last edited by ctuna; 01-18-2015 at 12:27 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2015, 06:19 PM   #3
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

I already have a jvc headunit I was planning to put in, if the car does not have logic 7, and idrive, is it difficult then? Wouldn't I just need the double din, wire harness, and steering wheel control adapter?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2015, 06:50 PM   #4
ctuna
Major General
360
Rep
7,216
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

You can have side effects .

You can have side effects .
Did you read the part about repairs and software updates.
You need to do a parallel mount of the old system or be
ready to put your old head unit back in if you need to go
back to the dealer for anything.
The connects 2 Harness is what a lot of people are using for this
now.
Also you need to know which of the three BMW systems you have
to do a good job and wire it correctly.
You need to identify your BMW system what year car do you have?
If its US 09 or earlier it will be Hi Fi or Logic 7 system if its 2010 or early 2011 you may have stereo or base system .
There will still be issues with things like SOS and PDC if you have it
no matter what system you have.
The basic thing is to do it correctly its more than just throwing a harness on a Head Unit in and some steering wheel controls.
The member BMW325i has done this and knows how it goes.
Best to list the year of your car and what options it has to get
accurate help.(which system and which options)
Don't throw your old BMW head unit away of sell it you may need
it to get work done on the car.

Last edited by ctuna; 01-18-2015 at 07:09 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2015, 07:29 PM   #5
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
You can have side effects .
Did you read the part about repairs and software updates.
You need to do a parallel mount of the old system or be
ready to put your old head unit back in if you need to go
back to the dealer for anything.
The connects 2 Harness is what a lot of people are using for this
now.
Also you need to know which of the three BMW systems you have
to do a good job and wire it correctly.
You need to identify your BMW system what year car do you have?
If its US 09 or earlier it will be Hi Fi or Logic 7 system if its 2010 or early 2011 you may have stereo or base system .
There will still be issues with things like SOS and PDC if you have it
no matter what system you have.
The basic thing is to do it correctly its more than just throwing a harness on a Head Unit in and some steering wheel controls.
The member BMW325i has done this and knows how it goes.
Best to list the year of your car and what options it has to get
accurate help.(which system and which options)
Don't throw your old BMW head unit away of sell it you may need
it to get work done on the car.
Is this for any work? What would sos and pdc be? I'm picking the car up in a week, it's a 07 with either the base stereo or hifi, not logic7. I will either keep the stock hu somewhere or read up on wiring it to the trunk if I need it for specific dealership things.
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2015, 10:03 PM   #6
ctuna
Major General
360
Rep
7,216
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

All cars before 09 in the US have either Hi Fi or L7

All cars before 09 in the US have either Hi Fi or L7

PDC is parking distance control

BMW SOS is about the same as GM ONstar.

Its essentially a built in cell phone and GPS.

Both of these work through the stock radio.

Hi Fi has a amp in the trunk its 6 channel .
Read the description of Hi Fi in the links above.
There is also a description of how to deal with the issues
in the above links.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 01:39 PM   #7
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
All cars before 09 in the US have either Hi Fi or L7

PDC is parking distance control

BMW SOS is about the same as GM ONstar.

Its essentially a built in cell phone and GPS.

Both of these work through the stock radio.

Hi Fi has a amp in the trunk its 6 channel .
Read the description of Hi Fi in the links above.
There is also a description of how to deal with the issues
in the above links.
Roger, it's hi fi then. I will check about pdc and sos.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 06:55 PM   #8
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fccs View Post
Roger, it's hi fi then. I will check about pdc and sos.
No pdc or sos, so shouldn't have to worry about that
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 07:25 PM   #9
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

I have the double din, and headunit. Just need to figure out what most people prefer for steering wheel controls adapter & wiring harness. So far I was leaning torwards getting the metra axxess steering wheel controls interface but not sure what model exactly. Any advice on proper wire harness?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 08:33 PM   #10
ctuna
Major General
360
Rep
7,216
Posts

Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

iTrader: (0)

I think the connects2 is made for BMW

I think the connects2 harness is made for BMW
also I was under the impression it allows parallel mount
of the radio. Also I think it has the whell controls built in.
Not sure BMW325i has one.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2015, 11:39 PM   #11
bmw325i
Major General
128
Rep
5,126
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
I think the connects2 harness is made for BMW
also I was under the impression it allows parallel mount
of the radio. Also I think it has the whell controls built in.
Not sure BMW325i has one.
It doesn't but you can get the metra harness that plugs into the stock headunit and extend the wires that are needed.

Extend power, and 2 can wires. Ground to the chassis. If you have most you can use extra cables in the trunk if you have any or connect new ones to the distribution block and use a most termination loop in the dash.
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 06:14 PM   #12
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
It doesn't but you can get the metra harness that plugs into the stock headunit and extend the wires that are needed.

Extend power, and 2 can wires. Ground to the chassis. If you have most you can use extra cables in the trunk if you have any or connect new ones to the distribution block and use a most termination loop in the dash.
So what do I need for the wiring harness and steering wheel controls? The metra harness and that's it?
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2015, 07:49 PM   #13
bmw325i
Major General
128
Rep
5,126
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fccs View Post
So what do I need for the wiring harness and steering wheel controls? The metra harness and that's it?
You need this harness.
http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/bmw-1...n-support.html

If you are relocating the headunit you also need this harness. If the headunit doesn't have a MOST bus then it is pointless to relocate it.
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...a-71-9003.html

Are you using the hifi amp or are you replacing the amp and speakers at the same time? What model JVC headunit are you installing?

Last edited by bmw325i; 01-20-2015 at 07:57 PM.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2015, 12:20 AM   #14
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
You need this harness.
http://www.dynamicsounds.co.uk/bmw-1...n-support.html

If you are relocating the headunit you also need this harness. If the headunit doesn't have a MOST bus then it is pointless to relocate it.
http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_...a-71-9003.html

Are you using the hifi amp or are you replacing the amp and speakers at the same time? What model JVC headunit are you installing?

Hifi, jvc kw-v30bt, and do I need anything else for normal wiring harness or does this do steering wheel and everything?
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2015, 04:58 AM   #15
kris1973
Enlisted Member
Poland
0
Rep
33
Posts

Drives: BMW F34 GT 320dA Sport 2014
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Poland

iTrader: (0)

Pioneer AVH-X8600BT, dvd, appmode, apple car play ... plus connects2 CTKBM12. PDC, multifunctions works perfect.
Appreciate 0
      01-24-2015, 01:34 PM   #16
bmw325i
Major General
128
Rep
5,126
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fccs View Post
Hifi, jvc kw-v30bt, and do I need anything else for normal wiring harness or does this do steering wheel and everything?
The connects2 harness does steering wheel controls, it also has a switched 12 volt wire. You just need a constant power source. It's easiest to run a fused power wire to the battery with the fuse as close to the battery as possible.

I'm not sure if this will work for your headunit, but it will plug into the connects2 harness. I couldn't find an ISO harness for mine so I cut the ISO connectors off, and soldered in the harness that came with my headunit. Then I covered it all in heat shrink. This isn't really needed, but it might work.
http://m.ebay.com/itm/260741319554?nav=SEARCH

If you are using the stock hifi amp you need to use the rca inputs. Like how it's done here. The diagram is not exactly the same since he is using the metra harness and a steering wheel adapter, but the pinouts for the rca wires is still the same.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=809490
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2015, 10:39 PM   #17
fccs
Private First Class
United_States
3
Rep
108
Posts

Drives: rsx,transam,r6,e92
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Waiting on antenna adapter. Going to try with the metra kit, don't have many options for double dins
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST