E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > E91 airbag change need coding?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-10-2013, 05:42 AM   #1
Tipper
Private First Class
Tipper's Avatar
3
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: 2007 E91 320d SE auto
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Devon, UK

iTrader: (0)

E91 airbag change need coding?

Hi, I've asked this elsewhere but not got anywhere

I've changed my steering wheel which also needed a change in airbag type being a change from the SE to Msport wheel. The replacement airbag came with the wheel so I have no knowledge of it.

I've now got an airbag warning lit up and having checked it with my BT cable it's giving a fault code 93B4 (I think, didn't write it down...). A couple of other airbag/SRS system codes cleared OK just leaving this one standing.

So does it need to be coded to the car? Or is it likely just to be a poor connection somewhere?

Oh and the battery was disconnected for safety whilst the wheel/airbag was changed over.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2013, 06:33 AM   #2
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
8
Rep
712
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington, DE

iTrader: (2)

Try re flashing the mrs module .... Or do a reset to default.
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2013, 06:46 AM   #3
Tipper
Private First Class
Tipper's Avatar
3
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: 2007 E91 320d SE auto
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Devon, UK

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for replying but now you've lost me! I'm not really into electronics! I'm just an aged (=retired) mechanical engineer!

What do you mean? Do you mean disconnect the battery again or something much clevererer?

Or is it something I can do with the BT cable and software?
(BTW I have the 'enthusiast' cheapo version of BT not the 'all singing and dancing coding' version.)
Appreciate 0
      12-10-2013, 04:45 PM   #4
Tipper
Private First Class
Tipper's Avatar
3
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: 2007 E91 320d SE auto
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Devon, UK

iTrader: (0)

Had another look at the airbag connections today and found one of the plugs loose so this was refitted and powered up.

Still got the light on.

Do I need to clear this now with the BT cable? I didn't do it then and there because I didn't have my laptop with me. Will have another fault clear opportunity tomorrow.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2013, 07:44 AM   #5
Tipper
Private First Class
Tipper's Avatar
3
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: 2007 E91 320d SE auto
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Devon, UK

iTrader: (0)

Tried to clear it this morning but no joy.

There must be a fault there, either a cable or connector, or the airbag itself.
Appreciate 0
      12-11-2013, 01:23 PM   #6
jammy78
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
18
Rep
1,506
Posts

Drives: E92 330D M Sport
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hertfordshire

iTrader: (19)

Once the airbag light comes that's it - you need a coder to reset the warning!
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2013, 01:12 PM   #7
Tipper
Private First Class
Tipper's Avatar
3
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: 2007 E91 320d SE auto
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Devon, UK

iTrader: (0)

Actually not so in my experience. I had a similar problem in the past with the original airbag and I was able to clear that fault.

My assumption now is this new airbag does in fact need coding to the car contrary to some posts.
Appreciate 0
      12-12-2013, 05:31 PM   #8
jammy78
Lieutenant Colonel
United Kingdom
18
Rep
1,506
Posts

Drives: E92 330D M Sport
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hertfordshire

iTrader: (19)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tipper View Post
Actually not so in my experience. I had a similar problem in the past with the original airbag and I was able to clear that fault.

My assumption now is this new airbag does in fact need coding to the car contrary to some posts.
How did you clear it then?

If you disconnect any airbag & power up the car - the warning light will come on!

The fact you got a new airbag will not cause the warning light to come on
Appreciate 0
      12-13-2013, 02:14 PM   #9
Tipper
Private First Class
Tipper's Avatar
3
Rep
127
Posts

Drives: 2007 E91 320d SE auto
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Devon, UK

iTrader: (0)

I used my BT cable and software...I tried several times with this replacement airbag but cannot clear the fault, therefore there must be either a cable/connector fault or a faulty airbag itself. The plugs themselves don't seem very secure so I will first try using the old wheel's airbag harness and see if that fits better.

Can't look at it again tonight as I'm in Iceland (no not the shop, the country) and the car is in UK!

Winter tyres with studs are 'de rigeur' out here!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:29 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST