E90Post
 


ECS BMW
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Updating CIC I drive - Postcode question



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-06-2015, 12:45 PM   #1
Dann
First Lieutenant
Dann's Avatar
13
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Updating CIC I drive - Postcode question

I've got a 2009 E90 which has the CIC I drive system.
I have just updated the maps from 2008 to 2014 as I thought that this would allow me to search for places via postcode.

However after updating I still don't have the ability to search for a postcode.

Is there something else I can update to allow me to search postcodes?

Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 01:43 PM   #2
jigger
Private
jigger's Avatar
0
Rep
94
Posts

Drives: wanting 335d m sport
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: glasgow

iTrader: (0)

you need a firmware update...
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 02:49 PM   #3
Dann
First Lieutenant
Dann's Avatar
13
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Okay. How do I go about that?
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2015, 04:26 PM   #4
Dann
First Lieutenant
Dann's Avatar
13
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Don't worry now.

I'll take it to the dealer and they can do it.
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2015, 05:42 AM   #5
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
239
Rep
8,710
Posts

Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (55)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dann View Post
Don't worry now.

I'll take it to the dealer and they can do it.
Yes and get shafted with 200-300 bill.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-07-2015, 05:51 AM   #6
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
141
Rep
1,565
Posts


Drives: 2013 F10 M5 - Sakhir Orange
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Or find a shop with an Autologic and see what they'll charge to do it. There's not much labor involved, it's just connecting the computer to the vehicle and going through the measures plan.
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2015, 12:40 PM   #7
Dann
First Lieutenant
Dann's Avatar
13
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Well it's going in for a brake fluid service next week and they are going to see what updates are available and give me a quite for updating it.

The service guy didn't understand why I wanted it updating though
Appreciate 0
      03-08-2015, 08:00 PM   #8
Dracon
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
United_States
141
Rep
1,565
Posts


Drives: 2013 F10 M5 - Sakhir Orange
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nashville, TN

iTrader: (31)

Garage List
2013 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dann View Post
Well it's going in for a brake fluid service next week and they are going to see what updates are available and give me a quite for updating it.

The service guy didn't understand why I wanted it updating though
Most don't as dealerships are very reluctant to perform software updates on the vehicle unless they have a specific TSB telling them to do it.

Mainly because the dealership can't update just a single thing (like the CIC). Their programming system will force them to update every single module in the vehicle that it detects isn't running the most current firmware version.

So it makes them nervous because you could request an update for the navigation system but something goes wrong when the programming system updates the DME (engine module) because it was old and fails for some reason.
Appreciate 0
      03-09-2015, 04:34 AM   #9
Dann
First Lieutenant
Dann's Avatar
13
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

It's okay I don't actually think I need it now.
I didn't realise that you put the postcode in under the "city" option.
I tried under that this morning and it accepts 7 digit postcodes.

So problem solved.

I'll tell my dealer not to worry now when I go in on friday
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2015, 10:41 AM   #10
palmerl0222
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

Drives: E92 325d M-Sport
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

I got mine updated at dealership as i didn't trust myself!

Cost was 100 - Just to give you an idea on cost

Lucky for me i had a new steering column and rack so they did the update at the same time for free as they coded in the new steering column.
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2015, 11:48 AM   #11
Dann
First Lieutenant
Dann's Avatar
13
Rep
322
Posts

Drives: E90 LCi 335i
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by palmerl0222 View Post
I got mine updated at dealership as i didn't trust myself!

Cost was 100 - Just to give you an idea on cost

Lucky for me i had a new steering column and rack so they did the update at the same time for free as they coded in the new steering column.
What did they update for you?
Appreciate 0
      03-10-2015, 03:06 PM   #12
BOTUS
Second Lieutenant
4
Rep
257
Posts

Drives: E90 335d
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

BMW just plug the car in it checks with Germany what toys they think your car had at the factory and it runs an update on any modules that have newer software available

dealers can't influence how it does it or why it does it or tell you why it may help... they know nothing

the only way it can do anything extra is if you buy (dealer fit) options, then they basically can buy the authorisation to include and therefore it updates the car so the "dealer fit" toys now work

they hate to do this work... the real reason is post factory toys they don't know the car has crash the update process and they struggle to give the car back fixed without extra work that they struggle to get the owner to pay for (especially if they downgrade the car disabling toys you had working and expect you to pay for the privilege) ...

if they just checked the actual vehicle order vs what Germany think it has, if different, then they could simply test any extras are fitted and working and then they could just add it to the update list and there'd seldom be a problem... but their toy isn't set up that way and the techs know NOTHING !!!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST