E90Post
 


Bimmer Retrofit
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Updating CIC Firmware



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-11-2014, 08:21 AM   #1
CapnCook
Gibbon
CapnCook's Avatar
United Kingdom
1
Rep
122
Posts

 
Drives: E91 LCI 320d Touring
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wolverhampton, UK

iTrader: (1)

Updating CIC Firmware

Hi All,

I popped into my local BMW (Benham Wolverhampton) a few days ago to ask about the possibility of getting my I-Drive FW updated. I know the parts guy in there and he usually goes the extra mile to help me out, but when I asked about updating the CIC FW he said he could see it being 200+ if they could do it at all.

He went and asked one of the other technicians and ca]me back saying that regardless of cost it was impossible to update it. I said "are you sure because I've seen people on the E90 forum saying they have had it done it and they have mentioned the new features of the update".

he went back again to check and said the technician has worked at BMW for 14 years and it categorically can't be done.

I'm pretty sure this isn't true, but can anyone confirm so that I can show the parts adviser this thread

Mine's an 09 LCI with Pro CIC Nav btw.

Thanks
__________________
Past Cars: Mini Cooper 1.6 / VX220 2.2 / Z4 3.0i / E46 320CD / E53 X5 3.0D
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2014, 07:13 PM   #2
sylonien
Major
United Kingdom
17
Rep
1,246
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow

iTrader: (0)

Depends if you mean SOFTWARE update or FIRMWARE update.

Software update, yeah definitely can be done.
I got quotes multiple times from different dealers.
Price ranging from 130-270. Take a day usually.
But if it crashes it out, then the system shuts down
and needs another day to attempt again.

That's what I've been told.

Firmware update, that's more tricky. I have heard SOME places can do,
but that's a tricky one. But I don't think you need to update the firmware
unless you're planning on doing some major retrofits like
DAB/Combox/some bluetooth module etc?

The software update should give you some software enhancements and bug fixes if there are any. Or update the system so its more compatible with
more phones etc.

I went in just before christmas wanting to do mine, but
the tech guy advised me to wait till BMW releases a update to
support iOS7 since I've got an iPhone.

He says BMW periodically updates the software all the time.

So yeah... depends if you want firmware or software update??
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2014, 08:38 PM   #3
CustomColours
Banned
7
Rep
792
Posts

 
Drives: 335i SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hertfordshire

iTrader: (0)

Makkan00 updated my cic not ling ago so I had 7 digit post code. New maps and new cic features. Took minutes and he didnt charge alloy. Send him a pm. Im sure hr can sort it for you.

Bmw dealers have.monkeys working for them. They all go by the book and dont actually know anymore than bmw wants them to. So.i wouldn't go listening to them much.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2014, 04:19 AM   #4
CapnCook
Gibbon
CapnCook's Avatar
United Kingdom
1
Rep
122
Posts

 
Drives: E91 LCI 320d Touring
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wolverhampton, UK

iTrader: (1)

Thanks guys, I have spoken Makkan now!
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2014, 07:06 AM   #5
CustomColours
Banned
7
Rep
792
Posts

 
Drives: 335i SE
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hertfordshire

iTrader: (0)

Makkan00 always gets the job done. And never cries about it being impossible. He just makes it possible.
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2014, 11:27 AM   #6
ukbeemerboy
Beemer Heaven
ukbeemerboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
12
Rep
1,291
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by CapnCook View Post
Hi All,

I popped into my local BMW (Benham Wolverhampton) a few days ago to ask about the possibility of getting my I-Drive FW updated. I know the parts guy in there and he usually goes the extra mile to help me out, but when I asked about updating the CIC FW he said he could see it being 200+ if they could do it at all.

He went and asked one of the other technicians and ca]me back saying that regardless of cost it was impossible to update it. I said "are you sure because I've seen people on the E90 forum saying they have had it done it and they have mentioned the new features of the update".

he went back again to check and said the technician has worked at BMW for 14 years and it categorically can't be done.

I'm pretty sure this isn't true, but can anyone confirm so that I can show the parts adviser this thread

Mine's an 09 LCI with Pro CIC Nav btw.

Thanks
I have the same age car as you. What is it your trying to add or achieve to the CIC?
__________________
Scott

2014 BMW 330d M Sport : 2012 BMW 320d M Sport
Appreciate 0
      01-12-2014, 12:38 PM   #7
anielsen71
Lieutenant
Denmark
5
Rep
548
Posts

 
Drives: E91 330dA
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Naestved, Denmark

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
ukbeemerboy
In some cases retrofit of combox requires update of the CIC firmware.
It IS possible to do. It just takes time according to the guy that codes for me.
Time as in hours.....i'm told.
__________________
Brgds
Allan
'06 E91 330dA Sparkling Graphite|19" AvantGarde M359 Satin Black|335i brakes|Eibach|Wagner|Ecotune|Turbo Dynamics
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 12:42 PM   #8
Fwtd
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 3301 Msport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

How do you know the diff between cic and ccc? I'm looking to update my satnav via disc/USB and I've got no idea what one to buy
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 12:48 PM   #9
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
31
Rep
2,633
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fwtd View Post
How do you know the diff between cic and ccc? I'm looking to update my satnav via disc/USB and I've got no idea what one to buy
As far as I know CCC has maps on DVD and CIC has maps on Hard Disk or Solid State
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 05:52 PM   #10
ukbeemerboy
Beemer Heaven
ukbeemerboy's Avatar
United Kingdom
12
Rep
1,291
Posts

 
Drives: BMW 330d M Sport
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somerset UK

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fwtd View Post
How do you know the diff between cic and ccc? I'm looking to update my satnav via disc/USB and I've got no idea what one to buy
If you have two disc slots in the dash, you have CCC DVD based Nav

If you have one disc slot in the dash and the multi button iDrive controller you have CIC hard drive Nav.
__________________
Scott

2014 BMW 330d M Sport : 2012 BMW 320d M Sport
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 06:33 PM   #11
Fwtd
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 3301 Msport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ukbeemerboy View Post
If you have two disc slots in the dash, you have CCC DVD based Nav

If you have one disc slot in the dash and the multi button iDrive controller you have CIC hard drive Nav.
Cheers,

What's your thoughts on this then?
Appreciate 0
      01-18-2014, 06:40 PM   #12
IanS100
Colonel
IanS100's Avatar
United Kingdom
31
Rep
2,633
Posts

 
Drives: 320d LCI M Sport Plus
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Southport UK

iTrader: (0)

Depends on what you have?
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 05:15 AM   #13
Fwtd
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 3301 Msport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanS100 View Post
Depends on what you have?
Cic euro pro 2008
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 07:48 AM   #14
stevens
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

if its 2008 you dont have cic, if you have a single DVD/CD slot in your nav its CIC, if you have 2 its CCC
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 04:56 PM   #15
Fwtd
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 3301 Msport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevens View Post
if its 2008 you dont have cic, if you have a single DVD/CD slot in your nav its CIC, if you have 2 its CCC
Yes I only have single slot, my car is a 59 reg, but the current nav is 2008.
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 05:10 PM   #16
stevens
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

then you have CIC, it came out circa post Sept 2008 build cars
Appreciate 0
      01-19-2014, 05:11 PM   #17
stevens
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

which means you need the 3 USB version + FSC code
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2014, 06:18 AM   #18
Fwtd
New Member
0
Rep
12
Posts

 
Drives: E90 3301 Msport
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ayrshire, Scotland

iTrader: (0)

just noticed i forgot to paste the link,

my earlier post should of read

whats your thought on this then?

http://bmw-navi.co.uk/en/cic-systems...ceive_maps-usb
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2014, 10:53 AM   #19
sylonien
Major
United Kingdom
17
Rep
1,246
Posts

 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fwtd View Post
just noticed i forgot to paste the link,

my earlier post should of read

whats your thought on this then?

http://bmw-navi.co.uk/en/cic-systems...ceive_maps-usb
A bit expensive considering its not genuine?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      01-20-2014, 11:03 AM   #20
stevens
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
219
Posts

 
Drives: e92 M3
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: UK

iTrader: (1)

I have the 2014 maps for CIC/CCC and if you sent me 3x USB keys id stick it on them for for you if you covered postage.

Sam aka Makkan also has them and can do it for you + supply FSC code afaik

either way you will need the FSC code to activate them, CCC doesnt require this just new DVD.
Appreciate 0
      11-27-2014, 05:32 PM   #21
westcountry_surfer
New Member
westcountry_surfer's Avatar
0
Rep
15
Posts

 
Drives: 2010 320d [184] M_Sport E191
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Devon

iTrader: (0)

Thought I would resurrect this old thread as I think it is relevant;
so the software update is different to the maps update? If so, how can I go about updating the software without a USB interface in the armrest? I have one in the glovebox only. (I want to achieve better phone connectivity)

BMW say that for my VIN, there are no updates available:
http://www.bmw.com/com/en/owners/con...re_update.html

But I wonder if this is just due to the fact that there is no USB Interface to install it as they suggest at the above link.

I have CIC, 2010 E91 Pro Nav. 2010 Map pack.

Any comments on options, if any, would be very much appreciated. I find it all so confusing!
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2014, 12:47 AM   #22
makkan00
Major General
makkan00's Avatar
United Kingdom
127
Rep
7,600
Posts

 
Drives: F10
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

iTrader: (48)

You are mixing three things....
1- USB in glove box updates maps ONLY.
2- USB in central console updates BT module / Combox ONLY.
3- Firmware of CIC is different and that is done by dealer, bmw specialists or those who have ICOM.

PS: updating option 1 to 2013/14 gives you 7 digit postcode search. IF it does not then your firmware is old.
updating option 2 has not effect on CIC itself. It is to do with phone compatibility.
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST