E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Possible for car to revert back to stock mode on it's own w/ Procede??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-13-2007, 12:23 PM   #1
USCTrojan4Life
Private
1

 
Drives: F10 535i M package
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA


Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

Possible for car to revert back to stock mode on it's own w/ Procede??

I don't know if it's just in my head but my car really feels much slower than before when i got Procede installed. My car went into limp mode about a month ago and I guess ever since after that, my car feels like it's in stock mode. Is this possible? should i reload the v1.47 map just to be safe?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 12:26 PM   #2
stressdoc
Moderator
Dominica
134

 
stressdoc's Avatar
 
Drives: F80 YMB
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MO


Posts: 10,159
iTrader: (0)

Or load 2.02... That should fix the problem.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 12:28 PM   #3
O-cha
Brigadier General
81

 
O-cha's Avatar
 
Drives: Mcoupe
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: In front of you


Posts: 4,729
iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to O-cha
Quote:
Originally Posted by stressdoc View Post
Or load 2.02... That should fix the problem.
What are you going to do if he actually does and his car blows up?
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 12:36 PM   #4
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
England
378

 
dxb335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''


Posts: 29,285
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
how do you ''re-load'' the map? you mean un-wire it and re-wire it?!

also stressdoc, 2.02 you mean V2? sorry but i aint up to date with all this stuff lol


Carlos
__________________
M3 gone .... But I now have a M3 CS
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 12:41 PM   #5
AR230WAKEBOARDER
Private First Class
1

 
Drives: MONTEGO BLUE 335I
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Why?


Posts: 144
iTrader: (0)

I would disconnect your battery for about an hour then go for a drive and tell us what you think.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 12:49 PM   #6
stressdoc
Moderator
Dominica
134

 
stressdoc's Avatar
 
Drives: F80 YMB
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MO


Posts: 10,159
iTrader: (0)

Sorry about being cryptic, I was trying to be funny about V2.02 solving the slowness problem. Not a helpful post. I think wakeboarder has the right idea, if it's the ECU programming, then wipe it clean and start over. It seems possible that the ECU could adapt to stop and go BS traffic driving, so after you reset the ECU, drive it hard after it is warmed up and you make sure that everything is working OK. Surely Vishnu has a FAQ on this topic?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 12:55 PM   #7
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
United_States
10

 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA


Posts: 428
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
The mapping in the PROcede should never change on its own. Have you checked your boost with a boost gauge? If the car feels slow, you could have a boost leak. We just had a customer who's BOV popped out, because it wasn't locked in from the factory. If the car feels slow all of the sudden, it is going to be something mechanical 99.9% of the time.
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 01:35 PM   #8
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
106

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin@Vishnu View Post
The mapping in the PROcede should never change on its own. Have you checked your boost with a boost gauge? If the car feels slow, you could have a boost leak. We just had a customer who's BOV popped out, because it wasn't locked in from the factory. If the car feels slow all of the sudden, it is going to be something mechanical 99.9% of the time.
+1. My car has been feeling slower over the past month and cant figure it out. With my boost gauge, Im noticing I hardly get in the mid 12's anymore whereas I used to hit as high as 13.7lbs. I should recheck my BOV piping but Im pretty sure I dont have any leakage. Ill keep updating as to what I find.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 01:42 PM   #9
dxb335d
The Tarmac Terrorist
England
378

 
dxb335d's Avatar
 
Drives: E46 M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ''Fandango Towers''


Posts: 29,285
iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperM3 View Post
+1. My car has been feeling slower over the past month and cant figure it out. With my boost gauge, Im noticing I hardly get in the mid 12's anymore whereas I used to hit as high as 13.7lbs. I should recheck my BOV piping but Im pretty sure I dont have any leakage. Ill keep updating as to what I find.
keep us all posted, i am interested on what the cause was!! If yu remove the BOV and fit a decent filter will the car chatter??
__________________
M3 gone .... But I now have a M3 CS
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 01:56 PM   #10
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
106

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxb335d View Post
keep us all posted, i am interested on what the cause was!! If yu remove the BOV and fit a decent filter will the car chatter??
Chatter? I have the ITG filter in there.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 05:58 PM   #11
USCTrojan4Life
Private
1

 
Drives: F10 535i M package
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA


Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin@Vishnu View Post
The mapping in the PROcede should never change on its own. Have you checked your boost with a boost gauge? If the car feels slow, you could have a boost leak. We just had a customer who's BOV popped out, because it wasn't locked in from the factory. If the car feels slow all of the sudden, it is going to be something mechanical 99.9% of the time.
what if I dont' have a boost gauge?
Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 06:01 PM   #12
tlin8
tizzlebag
United_States
8

 
Drives: F10 528i Black Sapphire 11'
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nürburgring, California


Posts: 299
iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to tlin8
I don't have a boost guage either. If I have this problem in the future I want to know how to fix it as well.
__________________
2011 528i Black Sapphire

Appreciate 0
      11-13-2007, 06:03 PM   #13
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
United_States
10

 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA


Posts: 428
iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
Borrow one from someone. A boost gauge is a good thing to have when you are modifying turbocharged cars, even if you only hook it up every once in awhile to confirm everything is working properly.

You can also read your boost level on the PROcede software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by USCTrojan4Life View Post
what if I dont' have a boost gauge?
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2007, 02:20 AM   #14
CleanAudi
Private First Class
6

 
Drives: BMW E92 M3
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: USA


Posts: 194
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin@Vishnu View Post
Borrow one from someone. A boost gauge is a good thing to have when you are modifying turbocharged cars, even if you only hook it up every once in awhile to confirm everything is working properly.

You can also read your boost level on the PROcede software.
Hey Shiv/Dustin I know this has been covered, but what value should we be logging in the Procede reader to monitor boost? If we log this parameter for lets say 1-2 minutes, I am assuming we can upload the results here to confirm the boosts are within level and not under correct?

In addition, if there is a leak in the lines, would the vehicle alert us via any CEL's etc. or is it strictly visual / lack of speed etc.?
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2007, 08:45 AM   #15
Serjames
Colonel
United Kingdom
37

 
Serjames's Avatar
 
Drives: E93 335i M-sport
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Surrey - UK


Posts: 2,426
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Actually I had this happen to me today, started car, drove to shops for sandwich and found it very sluggish ?

Parked up, turned off restarted and back to Procede city ?

Very wierd ! No codes or anything !

SJ
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-14-2007, 10:05 AM   #16
marcvtec
Lieutenant Colonel
22

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto


Posts: 1,793
iTrader: (0)

mines feeling slower also funnny to see someone post this I thought it was just in my head. I don't get that surge of power strangely its actually smoother with less juice I'm gonna try the 1 hour batt reset than drive around than I might reload 1.47 but I was gonna wait for V2 but who knows when that will arrive
Appreciate 0
      11-15-2007, 03:04 PM   #17
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
106

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
So all day yesterday I was trying to push it. The highest readings I got were 11.2lbs. And that was consistant. Im down 2+lbs of boost and I dont know why. FWIW Im still on v1.45. I didnt want to go to 1.47 because Ive never had a problem with limp mods. Why change what works right?

Im going to try unhooking my battery tonight and see if that helps.
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2007, 12:36 PM   #18
marcvtec
Lieutenant Colonel
22

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto


Posts: 1,793
iTrader: (0)

I did the battery reset car feels fast again
hooray
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2007, 02:12 PM   #19
HyperM3
Too many Alex's, from now on, call me Beaufort
United_States
106

 
HyperM3's Avatar
 
Drives: See Sig
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, NJ


Posts: 6,169
iTrader: (8)

Send a message via AIM to HyperM3 Send a message via Yahoo to HyperM3
So I left my battery unhooked for 90 mins this morning. First drive out hit 13.7's again on the boost gauge. Go figure.

Since Im not the only one that has felt this loss of power and can now definitively say by the use of the boost gauge it was not in the mind, do you think there is a problem with ECU adaptation to the PROcede?(Yes, I know that was a run-on sentence)
__________________
13 HD FatBob
14 Audi S6
Audi Brand Specialist @ Princeton Audi
Appreciate 0
      11-16-2007, 04:35 PM   #20
marcvtec
Lieutenant Colonel
22

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: toronto


Posts: 1,793
iTrader: (0)

I agree my car is fast again
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST