E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > X-Drive Transfer Case Reset



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-25-2014, 01:53 AM   #1
denearum
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Socal - United States

iTrader: (0)

X-Drive Transfer Case Reset

Hey,

I posted in the x-drive sub but couldnt get any definite answers (http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=933141)

Anyone know how to reset the transfer case settings? As in what software would I use and such? I have a k-dcan cable that I know works, along with a mess of software that I need to sort through, but a step by step thing would make it so easy.

Thanks in advance
Appreciate 0
      01-25-2014, 11:07 PM   #2
cband
Private
0
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 330xi (2006)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Northen USA

iTrader: (0)

I am in the same boat as you. From reading around, there seems to be no k-dcan procedure to do this at home. I guess I will visit BMW Monday.

http://www.xoutpost.com/bmw-sav-foru...uid-diy-3.html
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 01:42 AM   #3
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
9
Rep
620
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

You can do it with DIS.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 01:53 AM   #4
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
583
Posts

Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

What is dis? Can you list steps?
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 05:10 PM   #5
nate5ks
Captain
United_States
9
Rep
620
Posts

Drives: 2006 BMW 330xi
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jacksonville Beach, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908
What is dis? Can you list steps?
Bmw Diagnostic Information System. It's a virtual machine that you need to setup and run with a k+dcan cable. It does pretty much every service function excluding flashing and coding modules. Search for it, I have version 57 and it's great. I think the torrent is on pirate bay.
Appreciate 0
      01-27-2014, 11:20 PM   #6
cband
Private
0
Rep
51
Posts

Drives: 330xi (2006)
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Northen USA

iTrader: (0)

I just fixed an old laptop, installed XP SP3 32 bit, installed DIS, VMWare, OBD cable... Click a few things in DIS, it asked me if I wanted to do the calibration reset. Heard the motors move, took about 10 seconds. Then cleared the code again in INPA. Drove it and the fault code stayed away and my transfer case is good to go again.

Spent 6-8 hours getting DIS working, dragged it out over 2 days. Would have been quicker to go to dealership but glad I was able to do it myself.
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 02:30 PM   #7
dave4
Private First Class
dave4's Avatar
2
Rep
157
Posts

Drives: BMW 330xi
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: VA

iTrader: (1)

I just got DIS working, also took me forever... Can you tell me under what functions can I find the reset in DIS?
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 03:41 PM   #8
Andrewe92
enthusiast
Andrewe92's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
942
Posts

Drives: 2011 e92 lci 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by denearum View Post
Hey,

I posted in the x-drive sub but couldnt get any definite answers (http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=933141)

Anyone know how to reset the transfer case settings? As in what software would I use and such? I have a k-dcan cable that I know works, along with a mess of software that I need to sort through, but a step by step thing would make it so easy.

Thanks in advance
what would the benefit be or why would you need to reset the transfer case settings?
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 07:05 PM   #9
denearum
New Member
0
Rep
13
Posts

Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Socal - United States

iTrader: (0)

From what I've read, its hit or miss when you change your transfer case fluid, the computer complains loudly with the cluster lighting up like a christmas tree and the xdrive not working.

Plently of people have done it without the reset, but I want to be sure before I do it.
Appreciate 0
      03-13-2014, 01:14 AM   #10
WhiteFury
Boooost!
WhiteFury's Avatar
16
Rep
741
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NJ

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335i  [2.40]
Can inpa do this reset? If so how?
__________________

JB4 Stage 2 | Injen CAI | BMW PE | AR Catless DP | Alpina TCU Flash | Eibach Pro Kit | Custom TCKline Koni's | 19" RS7 Wheels | DWS Tires
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:01 AM.




e90post
e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST