E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Help with upgrading my logic 7! TECHNIC LOOK!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-26-2014, 06:18 PM   #1
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Help with upgrading my logic 7! TECHNIC LOOK!

So i want to upgrade my logic 7. Iv read that the speakers with this system are good and that all its lacking is a amp. Iv got a alpine 300w 4 channel amp(MRP-F300). Can i use this to power all the speakers? I have a Alpine 2 channel and a sub that i would like to put in the trunk. I'm guessing i need a TECHNIC harness. (i hope he reads this) and some power kits. I also need help with the wiring. I want all the stock fade and balance controls to work normally. I attached a picture. And im guessing if i do this i will lose the bass in my underseats and make them mids which is fine. I also want ALL my speakers to still work. Please let me know if 4 channel AMP will work or if i need a different one. Any help is appreciated. Thanks

MRP-F300
__________________
2007 335XI SEDAN // JB4 G5 // 50/50 E85 // VRSF DOWNPIPES // DCI // BOV // ALPINA FLASH //
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 06:32 PM   #2
tc535i
11
Major
 
Drives: 2007 335i, 2001 330i, 1995 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: West Los Angeles

Posts: 1,139
iTrader: (1)

The rears aren't as important, if you could figure out how to at least power the front stage that would probably help?
tc535i is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 07:02 PM   #3
Technic
111
Lieutenant General
 
Technic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2015 320i
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida

Posts: 11,146
iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2004 M3  [0.00]
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=884978
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=826683
__________________
-2015 F30 320i, Imperial/Oyster, 8AT: August 2014 ED
-2012 E92 M3 Jerez Black/Rust Brown, M-DCT: Gone
-2008 E90 M3 Melbourne Red/Bamboo, 6MT: Gone
-2007 MK5 GTI United Grey/Grey, DSG: Gone
-2004 E46 M3 Carbon Black/Cinnamon, 6MT: Gone
Technic is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 07:10 PM   #4
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Thanks technic! Ok so will my amp be enough power?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 07:13 PM   #5
rowingone
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

I have two alpine amps running thru the technics wiring harness, one amp powers the mid bass under the seats and the other powers an added sub . . the only other change I made was to move one of the tweeters from the rear deck to the front center on the dash . . it sounds fantastic with the stock logic 7 speakers . . do what I did you wont be disappointed . . and thanks again to Technic for the great harness . . made it easy and you can remove it anytime to get back to the stock system.
rowingone is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 07:16 PM   #6
tdgesq
1
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific N.W.

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Assuming you have the Professional headunit and top hifi (Logic 7) system, in order to run any aftermarket amplifier you will need to either:

(1) Buy the Mobridge DA2 to accept the MOST connection, or

(2) Have your headunit recoded to hifi (can be done by any shop that has the Autologic Tool) and buy the Technic logic 7 harness (I'm selling one here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=936402 )

That being said, you will not be able to power all of your speakers with the amplifiers you've listed. Even if you did have all of the necessary amplified channels, you would need something like the JBL MS-8 Processor to manage all the cross-over points and equalize the signal.

A less ambitious plan would be to power the front speakers only (less the center channel), which your four channel amplifier could do. You could then power your subs with the two channel amp. This is a common conversion here, and is pretty close to what I'm planning to do.
tdgesq is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:04 PM   #7
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdgesq View Post
Assuming you have the Professional headunit and top hifi (Logic 7) system, in order to run any aftermarket amplifier you will need to either:

(1) Buy the Mobridge DA2 to accept the MOST connection, or

(2) Have your headunit recoded to hifi (can be done by any shop that has the Autologic Tool) and buy the Technic logic 7 harness (I'm selling one here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=936402 )

That being said, you will not be able to power all of your speakers with the amplifiers you've listed. Even if you did have all of the necessary amplified channels, you would need something like the JBL MS-8 Processor to manage all the cross-over points and equalize the signal.

A less ambitious plan would be to power the front speakers only (less the center channel), which your four channel amplifier could do. You could then power your subs with the two channel amp. This is a common conversion here, and is pretty close to what I'm planning to do.
Power the underseat subs or my own sub?
Why are you selling the harness if your planong to do it?


Man this is a lot more work than some pictures showed.

Does anyone have a link to the full set up with crossovers and all. If its to much ill just do the fronts.
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:15 PM   #8
tdgesq
1
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific N.W.

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

The two channel amp would power your own subs. Two channels of the four channel amp would power the underseat subs/woofers.

I bought the DA2, so I no longer have a need for the harness.
tdgesq is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:16 PM   #9
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
I have two alpine amps running thru the technics wiring harness, one amp powers the mid bass under the seats and the other powers an added sub . . the only other change I made was to move one of the tweeters from the rear deck to the front center on the dash . . it sounds fantastic with the stock logic 7 speakers . . do what I did you wont be disappointed . . and thanks again to Technic for the great harness . . made it easy and you can remove it anytime to get back to the stock system.
Doesnt it overpower the other speakers?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:17 PM   #10
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdgesq View Post
The two channel amp would power your own subs. Two channels of the four channel amp would power the underseat subs/woofers.

I bought the DA2, so I no longer have a need for the harness.
Whats the diffrence betwen the two? Pros cons?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:17 PM   #11
rowingone
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

If your logic 7 amp is working you just use that to power all the speakers except the underseat subs and an add on sub . . as I said just get the Technic harness and use the stock amp to drive all the speakers except your underseat subs and an add on sub.
rowingone is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:34 PM   #12
tdgesq
1
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific N.W.

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908 View Post
Whats the diffrence betwen the two? Pros cons?
It's more work to install the harness. You have to run a line level out from the headunit back to the trunk. You also have to get the recode, which my shop quoted $50 for.

I can't say if there are any sonic differences. People have reported good results using both methods though. The downside to the Modbridge DA2 is that it's costly. I bought mine used for $400.
tdgesq is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:37 PM   #13
rowingone
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

You dont have to run anything from the headunit with the technic harness . . you dont have to recode . . it is all balanced thru the factory headunit. Its easy.
rowingone is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:42 PM   #14
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Hm. Thanks guys for the help. I think im gonna use one amp to power the underseat subs and another for the trunk sub. If its still not enough for me ill upgrade even more. Ill go with technic harness because 400 is way to much. If i take the underseat subs off the stock logic amp with this give more power to my mids and highs?

How much is the technic harness for the setup i wanna do?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:47 PM   #15
rowingone
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

It will sound great with that setup . . I am very picky and as I said use 2 channels of your Alpine for the unseat midbass and 2 for a sub you add .. your mids and highs will sound great, the whole system being more balanced.
rowingone is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:48 PM   #16
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
It will sound great with that setup . . I am very picky and as I said use 2 channels of your Alpine for the unseat midbass and 2 for a sub you add .. your mids and highs will sound great, the whole system being more balanced.
Ya im gonna take this route. How much was your technic harness?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:50 PM   #17
rowingone
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

I think it was $85 shipped . . you have to PM Technic and this site and he will get back to you . . you will love it!
rowingone is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 08:52 PM   #18
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Technic! Id like to buy a harness! Please pm me!


Will i lose my door chime?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 09:00 PM   #19
rowingone
2
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

Posts: 207
iTrader: (0)

No
rowingone is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 09:02 PM   #20
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
No
Sweet! I cant wait! I hope he responds asap!
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 09:11 PM   #21
Maniac0908
5
Lieutenant
 
Maniac0908's Avatar
 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

Posts: 585
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdgesq View Post
Assuming you have the Professional headunit and top hifi (Logic 7) system, in order to run any aftermarket amplifier you will need to either:

(1) Buy the Mobridge DA2 to accept the MOST connection, or

(2) Have your headunit recoded to hifi (can be done by any shop that has the Autologic Tool) and buy the Technic logic 7 harness (I'm selling one here: http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=936402 )

That being said, you will not be able to power all of your speakers with the amplifiers you've listed. Even if you did have all of the necessary amplified channels, you would need something like the JBL MS-8 Processor to manage all the cross-over points and equalize the signal.

A less ambitious plan would be to power the front speakers only (less the center channel), which your four channel amplifier could do. You could then power your subs with the two channel amp. This is a common conversion here, and is pretty close to what I'm planning to do.
Is your harness ment for what im trying to do? I dont know how to word this. Is your harness able to do what i want to do, but later on be able to do more if needed. Does that make sense?
Maniac0908 is offline   United_States
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
      01-26-2014, 09:41 PM   #22
tdgesq
1
Private First Class
 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific N.W.

Posts: 109
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
You dont have to run anything from the headunit with the technic harness . . you dont have to recode . . it is all balanced thru the factory headunit. Its easy.
Do you have top hi fi? This is definitely not correct for a top hi fi (logic 7) conversion for aftermarket amps.
tdgesq is offline  
Appreciate 0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST