E90Post
 


TireRack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > Help with upgrading my logic 7! TECHNIC LOOK!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-26-2014, 09:45 PM   #23
tdgesq
Private First Class
1
Rep
109
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific N.W.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908 View Post
Is your harness ment for what im trying to do? I dont know how to word this. Is your harness able to do what i want to do, but later on be able to do more if needed. Does that make sense?
It is so long as you know for a fact that you have the professional h/u and top hi fi. If you have any doubts about that, check the audio sticky on this forum.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 09:56 PM   #24
rowingone
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

iTrader: (0)

You are missing the point. He doesnt need to change his Logic 7 amp . . he will still use that but add his amp for the underseat midbass and an add on sub. No reason to get rid of the Logic 7 amp if it works.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:06 PM   #25
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdgesq View Post
It is so long as you know for a fact that you have the professional h/u and top hi fi. If you have any doubts about that, check the audio sticky on this forum.
I do have logic 7. Says it when i go to my equalizer on the idrive and i have 13 speakers. Or is there another setup just like this? How do i know if i have professional head unit?
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:13 PM   #26
tdgesq
Private First Class
1
Rep
109
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific N.W.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
You are missing the point. He doesnt need to change his Logic 7 amp . . he will still use that but add his amp for the underseat midbass and an add on sub. No reason to get rid of the Logic 7 amp if it works.
Ah, yes if he just wants to power the under seat midbass and add the sub. I thought he wanted amplification to the mids and tweeters as well. Apparently not.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:15 PM   #27
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tdgesq View Post
Ah, yes if he just wants to power the under seat midbass and add the sub. I thought he wanted amplification to the mids and tweeters as well. Apparently not.
I did. Thought it would be simple. Guess not. So ill go the easier route.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:15 PM   #28
tdgesq
Private First Class
1
Rep
109
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Pacific N.W.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908 View Post
I do have logic 7. Says it when i go to my equalizer on the idrive and i have 13 speakers. Or is there another setup just like this? How do i know if i have professional head unit?
I don't have I drive, and I think it must be non idrive. If you just want more bass, then there is a harness Technic can give you to add amps for that.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:21 PM   #29
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Damn. I would think it wouldn't matter. As the amps would be the same. I hope someone chims in and lets us know or if you can find out because ill buy it from you. How do you have top hi fi with no idrive? How do you use your equalizer?
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:26 PM   #30
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
It will sound great with that setup . . I am very picky and as I said use 2 channels of your Alpine for the unseat midbass and 2 for a sub you add .. your mids and highs will sound great, the whole system being more balanced.
Forgot to ask you. I got the alpine type e 12". Will my 4 channel 300w be enough to power the underseats and a sub? Or will i need to use the 2 channel for the sub? Got some pictures of how you wired yours up?
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:42 PM   #31
rowingone
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

iTrader: (0)

My alpines are 100 watts x2 and I am using two of them . .sounds great but I dont like "slammin" bass . . so get the harness from Technic, try it with your amp and sub . .you can always add another amp if you feel the need but I think you will be fine. As far as wiring . . get the harness and you'll see what you need to do . . there should be a DIY somewhere on here . . oh and add that tweeter to your center . . also a DIY on here.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:45 PM   #32
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
My alpines are 100 watts x2 and I am using two of them . .sounds great but I dont like "slammin" bass . . so get the harness from Technic, try it with your amp and sub . .you can always add another amp if you feel the need but I think you will be fine. As far as wiring . . get the harness and you'll see what you need to do . . there should be a DIY somewhere on here . . oh and add that tweeter to your center . . also a DIY on here.

Will moving one tweeter make it sound funny for the people in the back?

What do i search for the diy's? Just give me some keywords lol.
Appreciate 0
      01-26-2014, 10:56 PM   #33
rowingone
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

iTrader: (0)

Go to the Audio section on here . . and there are a bunch of DIY threads that you can access.
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2014, 09:52 AM   #34
rowingone
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

iTrader: (0)

And dont forget to change your EQ settings based on the DIY section . . that makes a noticable difference too.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 02:33 PM   #35
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

so i got my harness today from technic. are there any diy on here? or does anyone have instructions? or can tell me how to hook it up. im using it to power a amp to the underseats and a trunk sub.
__________________
2007 335XI SEDAN // JB4 G5 // 50/50 E85 // VRSF DOWNPIPES // DCI // BOV // ALPINA FLASH //
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 06:29 PM   #36
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,474
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908 View Post
so i got my harness today from technic. are there any diy on here? or does anyone have instructions? or can tell me how to hook it up. im using it to power a amp to the underseats and a trunk sub.
There is alot of bad info in this thread.

So you have a 4 channel and a 2 channel amp. You're trying to use the 4 channel amp to power the underseats and front speakers, and the 2 channel amp to power the sub. Correct?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 07:55 PM   #37
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
There is alot of bad info in this thread.

So you have a 4 channel and a 2 channel amp. You're trying to use the 4 channel amp to power the underseats and front speakers, and the 2 channel amp to power the sub. Correct?
Yes, and I believe I can go about this 2 ways. But im not sure which is the best and i need help. Let me tell you what i have and the specs of my equipment.

4channel alpine amp MRP-F300
-50 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms (75 watts RMS x 4 at 2 ohms)
-150 watts RMS x 2 bridged output at 4 ohms (4-ohm stable in bridged mode)
-2-, 3-, or 4-channel output
-variable high-pass/low-pass filters (50-400 Hz, 12 dB/octave)
-selectable bass boost (12 dB at 50 Hz)
-subsonic filter (15 Hz, 18 dB/octave for channels 3 & 4)

2 Channel alpine amp MRP-M500
300 watts RMS x 1 at 4 ohms (500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms)
variable low-pass filter (50-200 Hz, 24 dB/octave)
variable bass boost (0-12 dB at 50 Hz)
subsonic filter (15 Hz, 24 dB/octave)

Polk 12" Sub DXi 1240dvc
12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils
polymer composite cone with butyl rubber surround
power range: 50-360 watts RMS (180 watts per coil)
peak power handling: 720 watts
frequency response: 20-300Hz
sensitivity: 88 dB

Everything else is OEM. I also added the tweeter to center. And i have the technic harness hooked up and working.

My issues im having are how to hook all this up without putting stress on my amps, blowing the speakers or under powering them.All i want hooked up are the underseats and a trunk sub. Nothing else.

Questions
1. Can I power these with just a 300w 4 channel? or will i need to use my 2 channel to power the sub and my 4 channel to power the underseats?
2. depending on what i do can someone tell me where to put the settings on the amp?
3. On my sub as you can see in the picture its a DUAL 4ohm. how do i hook this up?


Sub


ill gets pics of the settings knobs once i decide which route to go.
THANKS FOR EVERYONE'S HELP!
__________________
2007 335XI SEDAN // JB4 G5 // 50/50 E85 // VRSF DOWNPIPES // DCI // BOV // ALPINA FLASH //
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 08:59 PM   #38
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,474
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908 View Post
Yes, and I believe I can go about this 2 ways. But im not sure which is the best and i need help. Let me tell you what i have and the specs of my equipment.

4channel alpine amp MRP-F300
-50 watts RMS x 4 at 4 ohms (75 watts RMS x 4 at 2 ohms)
-150 watts RMS x 2 bridged output at 4 ohms (4-ohm stable in bridged mode)
-2-, 3-, or 4-channel output
-variable high-pass/low-pass filters (50-400 Hz, 12 dB/octave)
-selectable bass boost (12 dB at 50 Hz)
-subsonic filter (15 Hz, 18 dB/octave for channels 3 & 4)

2 Channel alpine amp MRP-M500
300 watts RMS x 1 at 4 ohms (500 watts RMS x 1 at 2 ohms)
variable low-pass filter (50-200 Hz, 24 dB/octave)
variable bass boost (0-12 dB at 50 Hz)
subsonic filter (15 Hz, 24 dB/octave)

Polk 12" Sub DXi 1240dvc
12" subwoofer with dual 4-ohm voice coils
polymer composite cone with butyl rubber surround
power range: 50-360 watts RMS (180 watts per coil)
peak power handling: 720 watts
frequency response: 20-300Hz
sensitivity: 88 dB

Everything else is OEM. I also added the tweeter to center. And i have the technic harness hooked up and working.

My issues im having are how to hook all this up without putting stress on my amps, blowing the speakers or under powering them.All i want hooked up are the underseats and a trunk sub. Nothing else.

Questions
1. Can I power these with just a 300w 4 channel? or will i need to use my 2 channel to power the sub and my 4 channel to power the underseats?
2. depending on what i do can someone tell me where to put the settings on the amp?
3. On my sub as you can see in the picture its a DUAL 4ohm. how do i hook this up?


Sub


ill gets pics of the settings knobs once i decide which route to go.
THANKS FOR EVERYONE'S HELP!
The mrp m500 is a mono amp which will work fine for the sub. I would use the 4 channel amp for the front speakers and underseats.

Technic's harness is already designed to add a trunk sub and/or amp the underseat speakers. To amp the front speakers you will need to add a line output converter to the front speaker channels. You would wire it the same way Technic did for the underseat sub channels. You can either get another 2 channel line output converter, or use a 4 channel line output converter to replace the one that came with the harness.

The front channels are obviously used for the front speakers. The underseat signal gets used for both the underseats and the trunk sub. You need to use the RCA pass through on either the 4 channel or mono amp to do this, or RCA splitters if your amps do not have this feature.

A good starting point for crossovers is:
Front-No filter. (The signal is already high passed.)
Underseats-60 hz high pass filter. (The signal is already low passed.)
Trunk sub-60hz low pass filter

You would wire your sub in parallel for a 2 ohm load.

http://davidnavone.com/product/n-rhl...put-converter/

http://davidnavone.com/product/n-rhl...put-converter/

You can find the wiring diagram here.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138949

Last edited by bmw325i; 02-07-2014 at 09:04 PM.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 09:21 PM   #39
JazStar740
Private First Class
JazStar740's Avatar
1
Rep
167
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E93 335is/1994 E32 740iL
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wetumpka, AL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908 View Post
so i got my harness today from technic. are there any diy on here? or does anyone have instructions? or can tell me how to hook it up. im using it to power a amp to the underseats and a trunk sub.
Just received my harness from technic also today, check your e-mail and you should have a e-mail from him with the instructions you need.
__________________
2011 E93 335is / BSM / Coral Red / 6MT / NAV / HK L7 / BSW Stage One / SWS8's
1994 E32 740iL / Black / Black
2008 E85 Z4 / Stratus Grey / Dream Red *SOLD* / 2006 E90 325i / Jet Black / Black *SOLD* / 2001 E53 X5 / Silver / Grey *SOLD*
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 10:12 PM   #40
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmw325i View Post
The mrp m500 is a mono amp which will work fine for the sub. I would use the 4 channel amp for the front speakers and underseats.

Technic's harness is already designed to add a trunk sub and/or amp the underseat speakers. To amp the front speakers you will need to add a line output converter to the front speaker channels. You would wire it the same way Technic did for the underseat sub channels. You can either get another 2 channel line output converter, or use a 4 channel line output converter to replace the one that came with the harness.

The front channels are obviously used for the front speakers. The underseat signal gets used for both the underseats and the trunk sub. You need to use the RCA pass through on either the 4 channel or mono amp to do this, or RCA splitters if your amps do not have this feature.

A good starting point for crossovers is:
Front-No filter. (The signal is already high passed.)
Underseats-60 hz high pass filter. (The signal is already low passed.)
Trunk sub-60hz low pass filter

You would wire your sub in parallel for a 2 ohm load.

http://davidnavone.com/product/n-rhl...put-converter/

http://davidnavone.com/product/n-rhl...put-converter/

You can find the wiring diagram here.
http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138949
Thank you so much man. This is what im gonna do. I really appreciate everyones help. Im going to order the second loc today. Could i just use the one from beat buy?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 10:14 PM   #41
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JazStar740 View Post
Just received my harness from technic also today, check your e-mail and you should have a e-mail from him with the instructions you need.
Ya i got it haha. Didnt see it till after i figured it all out.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2014, 11:29 PM   #42
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,474
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maniac0908 View Post
Thank you so much man. This is what im gonna do. I really appreciate everyones help. Im going to order the second loc today. Could i just use the one from beat buy?
You can, but what you'll find at best buy is probably not as high of quality. The one I linked you to is the same one Technic uses.
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2014, 12:19 AM   #43
rowingone
Second Lieutenant
2
Rep
207
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 330 xi
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: colorado

iTrader: (0)

With the Logic 7 you dont need to add a separate amp for the front speakers. Dont make this more complicated than it needs to be. Use your mono amp for the sub and your other amp for the underseats . . and then listen and enjoy!
Appreciate 0
      02-08-2014, 12:19 PM   #44
Maniac0908
Lieutenant
Maniac0908's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
585
Posts

 
Drives: Alpine White 07 335xi Sedan
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Silver Spring,MD

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowingone View Post
With the Logic 7 you dont need to add a separate amp for the front speakers. Dont make this more complicated than it needs to be. Use your mono amp for the sub and your other amp for the underseats . . and then listen and enjoy!
Ya im gonna do this first and if need be ill power the fronts later. Ok last questions guys. Sorry.

Here is my 4 channel.




Should i use ch 1 and 2 only? Or split the rca to all 4 and use 1 underseat on ch 1/2 and the other on 3/4?
Also where should each of my settings knobs be at? The range. Like the lowest/highest for each. If i do use ch 3/4 should i turn bass eq off? Also what filter should be on?

Here is the 2 channel for my sub. Setting ranges for this?



Thanks again!
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST