E90Post
 


GTB Performance
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > AUDIO/VIDEO + BLUETOOTH + Electronics/Alarm/Software > 2011 Base Stereo - High Level/Recode for Low Level/Mobridge?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-07-2014, 05:10 PM   #1
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

2011 Base Stereo - High Level/Recode for Low Level/Mobridge?

Hi, first post here.

I currently have the base stereo (no tweets, HU power, I-drive, 6FL, sedan). I have a few choices, but want to get some input on the output section.

1 - Keep HL outputs, use DSP (Cleansweep or if $ permits Helix, etc.)
2 - Recode to Stereo for 5v outputs - no DSP and straight to amps
3 - Recode for Mobridge - no DSP and straight to amps

option #2 is the most cost effective - my question - Is there a significant difference from using the HL vs LL output for BMWs?

The rest of my systems would be:
- 4 channel amp (Alpine PDX, Zapco ST-D - because they are small and a good value)
- Comps: MB quart QSD 210(passive = cost effective and simple for me)
- Gladen woofers underseat
- 2 channel to the rears for the PDC/rear fill (if HL, then would just use HU to power)


FYI: The time alignment would be nice, but I'm usually driving with a passenger so I don't think I need that portion of it. Maybe down the road.

Thanks for all your help in advance.
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 05:13 PM   #2
woobiedmd
New Member
 
Drives: 2010 335i E-90
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Doylestown,PA

Posts: 18
iTrader: (0)

I'm a newbie too. Does the recode from base to hifi go hi-level to low level and remove the nasty eq or just hi to low?
woobiedmd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 06:11 PM   #3
bmw325i
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

Posts: 4,242
iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by R2K View Post
Hi, first post here.

I currently have the base stereo (no tweets, HU power, I-drive, 6FL, sedan). I have a few choices, but want to get some input on the output section.

1 - Keep HL outputs, use DSP (Cleansweep or if $ permits Helix, etc.)
2 - Recode to Stereo for 5v outputs - no DSP and straight to amps
3 - Recode for Mobridge - no DSP and straight to amps

option #2 is the most cost effective - my question - Is there a significant difference from using the HL vs LL output for BMWs?

The rest of my systems would be:
- 4 channel amp (Alpine PDX, Zapco ST-D - because they are small and a good value)
- Comps: MB quart QSD 210(passive = cost effective and simple for me)
- Gladen woofers underseat
- 2 channel to the rears for the PDC/rear fill (if HL, then would just use HU to power)


FYI: The time alignment would be nice, but I'm usually driving with a passenger so I don't think I need that portion of it. Maybe down the road.

Thanks for all your help in advance.
Option #3 is the best choice but I doubt you'd hear much of a difference between the 3.

Have you looked at the MB Quart BMW 3 way kit?
http://www.mbquart.com/mbquart_bmw_speakers.html

There is also the Jehnert Flatline kit.
http://www.jehnert.de/produkte-doorb...tem?lang=en_us
bmw325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 06:41 PM   #4
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

woobiedmd: yes, it gets rid of the eq curve, but I'm still wondering if the DSP will compensate and flatten the curve before it processes the signal out since I also heard that the curve moves as volume is raised and lowered...I can hear this happen in my own observation - when I increase the volume, there is a noticeable differences between the low end and mids (lows "stagnate" while mid volume seems to be amplified).

Do most of you guys agree with bmw325i's assessment that there is little difference between the 3?
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 08:45 PM   #5
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,210
iTrader: (0)

Recode to Hi Fi and use Helix to tweek it .

Recode to Hi Fi and use Helix to tweek it .
I notice Helix is now making a combo processor /amp
the power rating is modest compared to a separate amp however.

Helix PP50DSP

Last edited by ctuna; 02-07-2014 at 08:51 PM.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-07-2014, 10:18 PM   #6
VF154 BlackNight
Enlisted Member
 
VF154 BlackNight's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011, 328i
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North East Ohio

Posts: 42
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Have you looked at the MB Quart BMW 3 way kit?
http://www.mbquart.com/mbquart_bmw_speakers.html

There is also the Jehnert Flatline kit.
http://www.jehnert.de/produkte-doorb...tem?lang=en_us
How does MB Quart BMW 3 way kit compare to Jehnert Flatline kit in trums of sound and quality. The cost for MB Quart is 300 bills less.
__________________
2001, PASSAT RETIRED
2000, BMW Z3 RETIRED
VF154 BlackNight is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-08-2014, 09:05 PM   #7
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

I already have the MB Quart QSD 210 components (old "new" stock). Great speakers, I used them in my old car a decade ago and stumbled onto a set for sale while searching online a month back. I hear the Jehnerts are a good set, but not sure about any new MB Quart product as it is no longer made by the same people.

So, I'm leaning toward the hifi recode and straight to amps. Does anyone have experience with the Mobridge DA2 and if it makes a significant impact/difference? Also, if the DA2 is used, would it be recoded to hifi or tophifi/logic7?
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-09-2014, 01:09 AM   #8
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,210
iTrader: (0)

top hi fi for the da2

top hi fi for the da2
I believe that gives you the equalizer .
but that's and expensive piece you might be able to get
better sound quality putting that money into speakers.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-14-2014, 02:32 AM   #9
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Does anyone know where the mobridge would connect to for a base system w/6FL and iDrive? Is there a most connector in the trunk?
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-14-2014, 08:21 AM   #10
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,210
iTrader: (0)

You have to make it part of the most loop.

You have to make it part of the most loop.
Which means adding a Fiber Optic Cables or using
the one for CDC in prewired cars.
prewired cars are 09 and earlier in the US .
If you have a car that doesn't have Most Bus a Da-2
may not be and option for you .
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-14-2014, 11:12 AM   #11
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,068
iTrader: (48)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctuna View Post
top hi fi for the da2
I believe that gives you the equalizer .
but that's and expensive piece you might be able to get
better sound quality putting that money into speakers.
That is your best bet and having OEM equilizer.

Guys, if you search (hard), you will find that a German company comapred MB quartz, Gladen and few other kits. On their ranking Gladen was at the top.

And best part is, its not expensive!
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-14-2014, 08:49 PM   #12
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

I have the ipod adaptor (6FL) so from what I read, I have the most bus, just wondering if that loop reaches back to the rear where the CIC unit is or if its just isolated to the front. (maybe I'm completely misunderstanding all the threads I've read, if so, can someone let me know if I'm wrong in assuming the loop is in the trunk for my vehicle?).
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2014, 10:38 AM   #13
makkan00
Major General
 
makkan00's Avatar
 
Drives: E91 330D
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Essex

Posts: 7,068
iTrader: (48)

MOST loop is hidden behind the rear seats.
You can use the most loop for CD changer to avail the functionality of digital amp.
However you will have to connect the most loop into the main network (as its disconnected at the moment in your car).
__________________
makkan00 is online now   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-15-2014, 12:12 PM   #14
ctuna
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 325xi 06 wagon MT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Cruz, Ca

Posts: 4,210
iTrader: (0)

Gladen is not so common in the US.

Gladen is not so common in the US
though you could probably order them.
ctuna is online now  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 01:37 AM   #15
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

So I actually hit go and got the Helix DSP. Can someone help and tell me if the helix dsp will auto normalize the eq curve if I choose to stick with the high level? Or is this something I'll have to do manually through eq-ing?
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 02:28 AM   #16
TMR
Colonel
 
TMR's Avatar
 
Drives: M3
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Torrance

Posts: 2,824
iTrader: (11)

If you install the DA1/DA2, the factory EQ is pretty useless.
__________________
2015 M3 BPM Tuned, Eibach, Magnaflow and more www.tmrmzine.com/m3/f80
SOLD E92 Slēk Carbon Fiber Widebody M3 www.tmrmzine.com/m3/slek/
SOLD E92 335i Stage 3+ with all the toys www.tmrmzine.com/335/
SOLD E39 M5 Modded, What a great car! www.tmrmzine.com/m5/
TMR is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 03:29 AM   #17
Hopeful
Private First Class
 
Drives: BMW 330D E91 2010
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dorset

Posts: 157
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by R2K View Post
So I actually hit go and got the Helix DSP. Can someone help and tell me if the helix dsp will auto normalize the eq curve if I choose to stick with the high level? Or is this something I'll have to do manually through eq-ing?
It's a manual process using a PC application you can download from their website. You'll also need to buy a microphone.

I'm surprised that you didn't ask this BEFORE you bought it.
Hopeful is offline   United Kingdom
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 12:58 PM   #18
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

It seemed flexible enough...and I was willing to do the de-eqing by hand if necessary. Obviously would rather not spend the time, but I do have access to an RTA. Maybe the recode to hifi is worth it...just worried about the noisefloor issue Taibanl was getting. Thanks guys
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      02-27-2014, 02:27 PM   #19
taibanl
Brigadier General
 
taibanl's Avatar
 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NA

Posts: 3,538
iTrader: (4)

you have idrive, so you have MOST, honestly thats worth it to me. (DA2) unfortunately i don't have that option.
taibanl is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2014, 02:28 AM   #20
R2K
New Member
 
Drives: 2011 335i Sedan
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: California

Posts: 23
iTrader: (0)

Would I lose all fader capability with a DA1?

I'm wondering if I should opt for a DA2 instead since I could use control the fader...don't know if this will be a big issue though.
R2K is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-07-2014, 09:36 AM   #21
djkevinnn
Second Lieutenant
 
Drives: 08 e90 335i
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NY

Posts: 263
iTrader: (1)

I'd go with the re-code to hi-fi. It will be the most economical, and it will allow for the least amount of conversions to be done sending the least tampered with signal to your amps or your DSP whichever you choose. I recoded my Logic 7 (Top Hi-Fi) to hi-fi and I couldn't be happier with running my HU straight to my amplifiers.
djkevinnn is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST