E90Post
 


GetBMWParts
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > BMW Coding > A couple FRM2 Upgrade/Coding Questions



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-20-2014, 11:14 AM   #1
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Question A couple FRM2 Upgrade/Coding Questions

So I'm contemplating an FRM1 to FRM2 upgrade for my non-iDrive '08, and have a few questions that I haven't been able to nail down definitively:

1) From a post I came across, I basically need to follow these steps to enable the installed FRM2:
  1. WinKfp: Write new VIN to NFRM (which is now an FRM2) (have no idea how to do this presently)
  2. NCS Expert: Write in to NFRM the same VOs as in CAS (somewhat familiar with this process; I assume I have to remove any existing VOs in a used FRM2 that are not present in my CAS)
  3. NCS Expert: Remove production date from CAS and NFRM and add #0307 (not sure where or what tag in NCS Expert to look for the production date)
  4. NCS Expert: Reset NFRM and CAS (don't think I ever performed this procedure but I'm sure I can find out the process)
Is this correct?

2) I will be upgrading my stock Xenon ALC headlights to LCI's: will I still need to code out the "light bulb" check in order to prevent errors due to the LED corner lights? Anything else unique to the LCI headlight retrofit that I need to code with an FRM2 installed or is it basically plug-n-play since I already have Xenon ALCs? There is another thread where there was a response regarding coding with LCI Xenon's and FRM2 retrofit and it wasn't quite clear if this was only if the OP was starting off with a pre-LCI halogen headlight setup.

3) Will I be able to program my AE's only (no corner lights) as DRL's without resorting to a wiring harness mod? It appears it can be done with halogen LCI's, but not sure about Xenon's and if the steps are exactly the same.

The extent of my INPA/NCS Expert experience has been registering my new OEM exact replacement battery and a Bluetooth TCU retrofit VO update last year, so my memory has already faded on working the software and coding VO's.
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"

Last edited by Augster; 02-20-2014 at 11:38 AM.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 02:49 PM   #2
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,495
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Add +mueg to the VO for the headlight coding. The production date is in the VO so change both of those before you do step 2. I don't think you need to reset the CAS.
Appreciate 0
      02-20-2014, 02:51 PM   #3
bmw325i
Brigadier General
58
Rep
4,495
Posts

 
Drives: 2006 BMW 325i
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: United States

iTrader: (6)

Here's some info for step 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by acidbbg View Post
This is the correct guide..Thanks for the confirmation BMW..

1. Load NCSExpert.
2. Load Profile and select Expertmode
3. F1 (VIN/ZCS/FA)
4. F3 (ZCS/FA f .ECU)
5. Choose E89 (for the E9X)
6. Select CAS
7. F6 (BACK)
8. F4 (Process ECU)
9. Select the Module I want to Revert back to Stock.
10. F2->Choose "SG_Codieren->ok
11. F3->to start coding the ecu with factory settings according to the vehicle VO.
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2014, 01:22 PM   #4
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
As I dig further I'm beginning to realize I may not need an FRM2 "upgrade" because I may already have this version as my 2008 was built 2/2008 and it sounds like all cars built from 3/2007 have at least the FRM2 installed.

Is this correct?

I was contemplating installing a used FRM2 initially as a means to avoid having to installing a DAEOS (Daytime Angel Eye Operation System) cable when I read somewhere that the same functionality could be accomplished through simple coding so long as an FRM2/FRM3 module is installed without the need for wiring modifications, while also gaining many other lighting options all accessible just through coding.

Is this true?

I don't want to dive into the footwell to confirm the FRM version if I don't have to.
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2014, 01:29 PM   #5
Red_Bean_Bun
Captain
7
Rep
710
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wilmington, DE

iTrader: (2)

You could use inpa to find out ....
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2014, 02:00 PM   #6
AMG KLR
Second Lieutenant
3
Rep
261
Posts

 
Drives: S65 M3, N54 E92
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Pompano Beach

iTrader: (0)

You've got the steps down you should be fine
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2014, 03:34 PM   #7
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_Bean_Bun View Post
You could use inpa to find out ....
Exactly what would I be looking for in INPA to determine whether or not I have the FRM2?
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      02-22-2014, 04:53 PM   #8
808AWD325xi
Ballin' out of control.
808AWD325xi's Avatar
United_States
12
Rep
634
Posts

 
Drives: 2009 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Fremont, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augster View Post
Exactly what would I be looking for in INPA to determine whether or not I have the FRM2?
INPA, ISTA, etc. can display the part number of a given module.
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2014, 09:16 PM   #9
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by 808AWD325xi View Post
INPA, ISTA, etc. can display the part number of a given module.
Don't have ISTA, but my INPA (5.0.2) gives me an error message whenever I attempt to access either the FRM or the FRM II options under "Body". And I'm not sure that just because it shows two different modules to select, an FRM and an FRM II, if that indicates that it actually found an FRM2 (but then, why would it also show an FRM1?) or if both of those options are always present even if you may not actually be able to code non-existent modules (I think an FRM III module is not list because my INPA is not the latest version).

I haven't touched INPA nor the INPA install since I last used it to change my VO to enable Bluetooth...
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2014, 09:26 PM   #10
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Oh, this is the error message I get, which is the same whether I attempt to access FRM or FRM II.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2014, 06:02 PM   #11
PichaDis11
Major
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
1,021
Posts

 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augster
Oh, this is the error message I get, which is the same whether I attempt to access FRM or FRM II.
To be precise, FRM2 is actually NFRM in NCS EXper.
__________________
fitted: $609, $620, $6VA, $6VC, $6NR, $6FL, $614, $615 Auto-Dimming Interior Mirror, LCI Halogen Head Lights, Wheels, ECS Geomet Slotted Rotors, Akebono Pads.
Appreciate 0
      02-24-2014, 10:34 PM   #12
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
To be precise, FRM2 is actually NFRM in NCS EXper.
Yes, but I was using INPA (Loader) to determine which module I have per 808AWD325xi (now there's a mouthful) suggestion...

Does NCS Expert also allow you to determine which module is installed?
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2014, 07:53 AM   #13
PichaDis11
Major
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
1,021
Posts

 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augster
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
To be precise, FRM2 is actually NFRM in NCS EXper.
Yes, but I was using INPA (Loader) to determine which module I have per 808AWD325xi (now there's a mouthful) suggestion...

Does NCS Expert also allow you to determine which module is installed?
Yes. The first initial read of your VIN pulls all modules from your car. You should see NFRM in the list. Try to code the NFRM read/write and it should show the file "FRM2.C0x" x could be a couple different numbers. NCS automatically reference these files to determine the right module to do its processing.
__________________
fitted: $609, $620, $6VA, $6VC, $6NR, $6FL, $614, $615 Auto-Dimming Interior Mirror, LCI Halogen Head Lights, Wheels, ECS Geomet Slotted Rotors, Akebono Pads.
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2014, 04:06 PM   #14
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
Yes. The first initial read of your VIN pulls all modules from your car. You should see NFRM in the list. Try to code the NFRM read/write and it should show the file "FRM2.C0x" x could be a couple different numbers. NCS automatically reference these files to determine the right module to do its processing.
I finally got around to running NCS Expert, but what are the exact steps to get a the FRM file to be "displayed" as you described?

I've only seen the FSW.PSW file. And I also noticed that there is both an "FRM" and a "NFRM" module to select in NCS Expert after the initial VIN read.
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      03-04-2014, 11:04 PM   #15
PichaDis11
Major
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
1,021
Posts

 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Augster View Post
I finally got around to running NCS Expert, but what are the exact steps to get a the FRM file to be "displayed" as you described?

I've only seen the FSW.PSW file. And I also noticed that there is both an "FRM" and a "NFRM" module to select in NCS Expert after the initial VIN read.
No specific steps.. When your VIN is initial read by NCS.. It displays a summary of the modules in a long line format separated by commas.They are displayed in the second box below where the VIN is displayed. Another way is to look to see the NFRM in the module listing when selecting any module to be read.

Not the most precise way to be honest though because let's say someone messed with the build date of your VO before now, NCS would automatically report the correct files and modules based on the build date.
__________________
fitted: $609, $620, $6VA, $6VC, $6NR, $6FL, $614, $615 Auto-Dimming Interior Mirror, LCI Halogen Head Lights, Wheels, ECS Geomet Slotted Rotors, Akebono Pads.
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2014, 01:26 PM   #16
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Hmm... okay, well I dug further using INPA and first tried accessing the first FRM module listed but got an error that basically said it didn't exist.

Then I tried the second module, and although got sort of version error, I was able to pull up the module information.

I will assume, then, that I have a FRM2, yes?

I've also attached the trace file of the NFRM from NCS Expert. Would the options contained within be different depending on whether it's a FRM1 vs FRM2?
Attached Images
   
Attached Files
File Type: txt FSW_PSW.txt (229.8 KB, 170 views)
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2014, 02:36 PM   #17
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by PichaDis11 View Post
The first initial read of your VIN pulls all modules from your car. You should see NFRM in the list. Try to code the NFRM read/write and it should show the file "FRM2.C0x" x could be a couple different numbers. NCS automatically reference these files to determine the right module to do its processing.
AH, I think I understand now. Once you read in the module via CODIERDATEN_LESEN, then the "file name" per se shows up below the job name.

Thus, if I read the results of my NCS Expert correctly, I do have an FRM2 module from the "FRM2_E89.C08" description.
Attached Images
 
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      03-05-2014, 03:33 PM   #18
Augster
Master Gunner
4
Rep
388
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335i Sport
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sandy Eggo

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Mission Accomplished

Wow, I didn't know it was going to be this easy after determining I actually already have an FRM2!

I read several different coding threads (I had linked to one of them) and after comparing the different parameters suggested to my original trace file, the only setting I really had to change was this:

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL
drl_h


to this:

VERHALTEN_DRL_TFL
drl_s


I didn't even have to manually enable my DRL's via the OBC as that was already changed to ON (not sure how or why because I had turned them off last year).

But now I have my Angel Eyes set to work as my Daytime Running Lamps (with no corner parking lights), which also still function in Parking as well as alarm system status signals.

So no messing with buying aftermarket DAEOS cables or custom making a set and figuring out a way to hide the ugly relays, and for myself, not having to get an FRM2/3 module as I already have an FRM2.
__________________
2008 335i Alpine White Sport Sedan AT | Avant Garde M364 Staggered 19"
Appreciate 0
      03-06-2014, 07:09 PM   #19
PichaDis11
Major
PichaDis11's Avatar
United_States
9
Rep
1,021
Posts

 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

iTrader: (3)

Happy you got it man!
__________________
fitted: $609, $620, $6VA, $6VC, $6NR, $6FL, $614, $615 Auto-Dimming Interior Mirror, LCI Halogen Head Lights, Wheels, ECS Geomet Slotted Rotors, Akebono Pads.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST