E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > General E90 Sedan / E91 Wagon / E92 Coupe / E93 Cabrio > Help.What would happen if these wires touched? Pic



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-01-2014, 04:09 PM   #1
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Help.What would happen if these wires touched? Pic

This is the thermostat connector. If wires touched would it throw a thermostat code or would it short the thermostat out or would it do nothing?
I ask because I got a tstat P0128 low coolant temp code. Is this responsible for that code or does the coolant temp code get thrown by another sensor?
I cleared code. few days later it threw it again. I replaced tstat and in doing so noticed this. So now I'm wondering if this shorted my old tstat or caused the code. I do believe tstat wasn't working when I replaced it because oil temp wasn't getting above 210. I'm wrapping tape around wires to prevent them from touching. I'm hoping that the tstat was just bad and wires didn't cause codes or tstat to go bad. Anyone with electrical knowledge know?
Thanks
Attached Images
 
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 04:39 PM   #2
3SPKY5U
Not A Ghost
 
3SPKY5U's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Frozen Silver M3 ZCP
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Calgary, AB

Posts: 423
iTrader: (0)

If the wires touched it would probably blow the fuse and cut the controller off from the thermostat.
__________________
2012 Frozen Silver BMW ///M3 - Competition Package - Executive package - DCT - Mdrive
2007 Arktis Metallic BMW 335i Sedan - STG2.5 tune - Many many mods
3SPKY5U is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 05:15 PM   #3
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3SPKY5U
If the wires touched it would probably blow the fuse and cut the controller off from the thermostat.
I thought about possibility of throwing a fuse but I don't have any blown fuses. Does not having a blown fuse mean the tstat was really bad and wires never touched?
I'm trying to make myself feel better about replacing the tstat because the tstat was bad and not simply the wires were bad.
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 05:50 PM   #4
3SPKY5U
Not A Ghost
 
3SPKY5U's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Frozen Silver M3 ZCP
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Calgary, AB

Posts: 423
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaben View Post
I thought about possibility of throwing a fuse but I don't have any blown fuses. Does not having a blown fuse mean the tstat was really bad and wires never touched?
I'm trying to make myself feel better about replacing the tstat because the tstat was bad and not simply the wires were bad.
It's possible. I know when my tstat started to fail it would throw a code... I would clear it, it would be fine a week and then throw another code... it only has to be off like a millimeter to throw a code.
__________________
2012 Frozen Silver BMW ///M3 - Competition Package - Executive package - DCT - Mdrive
2007 Arktis Metallic BMW 335i Sedan - STG2.5 tune - Many many mods
3SPKY5U is offline   Canada
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 06:04 PM   #5
Blackhawk36
Lieutenant
 
Blackhawk36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT No iDrive
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MD

Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)

If the touch (or if one is broken) the thermostat will failsafe and stay wide open. The car will not get to operating temp within the prescribed time and you get P0128.
Blackhawk36 is offline   United_States
+1
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 06:11 PM   #6
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhawk36
If the touch (or if one is broken) the thermostat will failsafe and stay wide open. The car will not get to operating temp within the prescribed time and you get P0128.
So you're saying wires touching would throw that code? How did you know this?
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 06:43 PM   #7
Efthreeoh
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MARLAND

Posts: 3,274
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaben View Post
So you're saying wires touching would throw that code? How did you know this?

There is a heating element in the t-stat. The wires power the heating element. I would suspect that if the wires shorted, the diagnostic circuitry would detect an abnormal current load and determine the heater element has failed.
Efthreeoh is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 06:48 PM   #8
Blackhawk36
Lieutenant
 
Blackhawk36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT No iDrive
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MD

Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaben View Post
So you're saying wires touching would throw that code? How did you know this?
Not because the wires touch. If they do touch the thermostat doesn't close and the engine doesn't warm up quickly enough and the DME sets the code.
Blackhawk36 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 07:19 PM   #9
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhawk36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaben View Post
So you're saying wires touching would throw that code? How did you know this?
Not because the wires touch. If they do touch the thermostat doesn't close and the engine doesn't warm up quickly enough and the DME sets the code.
So you're saying it would either fry the tstat . I believe mine was stuck open constantly. I found a thread where others have the same naked wires showing there. I'm betting this very common since all our cars probably have that terrible angle the wires have to the tstat. It's like they're folded at a 60 degree angle. No telling how many.
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 07:29 PM   #10
Blackhawk36
Lieutenant
 
Blackhawk36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT No iDrive
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MD

Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)

It shouldnt hurt the thermostat at all. It just won't work. The thermostat is designed to fail in the open position so you don't smoke your engine. You just need to fix your your wires before you decide you have a bad thermostat. It is probably fine.
Blackhawk36 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 07:30 PM   #11
PichaDis11
Captain
 
PichaDis11's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 328i
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NY

Posts: 862
iTrader: (2)

I wouldn't use tape because the heat from the engine would render the adhesive side of the tape useless over a period of time. I suggest using some heat shrink wraps.
__________________
Retrofitted: CIC iDrive System With MULF2 USB & Bluetooth. , Auto-Dimming Interior Mirror.

.. And Some Dipped Pieces
PichaDis11 is online now   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 07:35 PM   #12
Blackhawk36
Lieutenant
 
Blackhawk36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT No iDrive
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MD

Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)

From the manual:

If the engine overheats or runs too cool and no other cooling systems indicate trouble, the thermostat may be faulty.

The electrically heated thermostat is monitored by the OBD II diagnostic software. The fault may lie in the DME software or hardware, or it may lie in the wiring to the thermostat.

You have confirmed you have a problem in the wiring to the thermostat. That is what needs fixed.

The yellow wire carries voltage from the junction box to the thermostat and the white wire provides a ground through the DME.

Last edited by Blackhawk36; 03-01-2014 at 07:43 PM.
Blackhawk36 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 07:58 PM   #13
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhawk36
It shouldnt hurt the thermostat at all. It just won't work. The thermostat is designed to fail in the open position so you don't smoke your engine. You just need to fix your your wires before you decide you have a bad thermostat. It is probably fine.
Too late. I replaced tstat yesterday which is when I found the wires. So it is a 50/50 chance the tstat was fine and just wires touched. Last time code was thrown I was sitting still and had been driving a while so maybe pump was really just stuck open too long indicating bad pump. Today with new pump temp went higher so I know wires aren't completely shot. I'm just paranoid to drive it again until I wrap those wires.
Is there a way to test old pump now that it is out of car?
Not that it matters other than to make me feel better
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 08:21 PM   #14
Blackhawk36
Lieutenant
 
Blackhawk36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT No iDrive
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MD

Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)

You can apply 12 volts to one side of thermostat and ground the other pin. If it closes you know it was good. The circuit is protected by a 30 amp fuse behind the glove box. If your production date 03/07 through 08/07 it is fuse #78. 09/07 and later is fuse #37. You should fix the wire, not just that them. Some of the strands of wire are broken. If a lot of current (30A) goes through the wire it could overheat and burn through.
Blackhawk36 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 09:08 PM   #15
idrift4wd
Brigadier General
 
Drives: Three Hundred and Thirty Five
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Yonkers NY

Posts: 3,334
iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW  [3.50]
why dont you use electrical tape? and tape both off.
__________________
12.3 @ 116 JB4-DCI-E85
idrift4wd is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 09:28 PM   #16
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrift4wd
why dont you use electrical tape? and tape both off.
I'm going to.
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 09:29 PM   #17
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackhawk36
You can apply 12 volts to one side of thermostat and ground the other pin. If it closes you know it was good. The circuit is protected by a 30 amp fuse behind the glove box. If your production date 03/07 through 08/07 it is fuse #78. 09/07 and later is fuse #37. You should fix the wire, not just that them. Some of the strands of wire are broken. If a lot of current (30A) goes through the wire it could overheat and burn through.
My production date is 02/07. I don't have a way to put 12 volts to it.
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-01-2014, 10:04 PM   #18
Blackhawk36
Lieutenant
 
Blackhawk36's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 335i 6MT No iDrive
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MD

Posts: 492
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaben View Post
My production date is 02/07. I don't have a way to put 12 volts to it.
Ok. Then you can't test it.
Blackhawk36 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2014, 11:52 AM   #19
E90Ryan
Kissin' Titties
 
Drives: E90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cleveland, OH

Posts: 254
iTrader: (0)

Wrap with electrical tape, plug in, move on..
__________________
E90 335i. JB4 G5 ISO, BMS Downpipes, M2 exhaust, BMS OCC, 18mm Front spacers, 20mm Rear spacers, VSRF 7in IC, Turner trans mounts, BMS DCI, Shadowline trim, BMW black grilles ..to be continued
E90Ryan is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2014, 11:55 AM   #20
TeinBMW
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Drives: 2011 335xi Msport, Conv, Tech
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Calgary

Posts: 1,759
iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2011 BMW 335xi  [3.50]
Kaboom!

You should never have exposed wires like that. That's asking for trouble man. Wrap each wire up with electrical tape and get them replaced.
__________________
2011 Le Mans Blue N55 335xi Msport, Convenience, Technology, BMS intake, COBB AP, VRSF Downpipe, PE
TeinBMW is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2014, 02:58 PM   #21
Bamaben
Lieutenant
 
Bamaben's Avatar
 
Drives: 07 335i blk/blk/alum 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Alabama

Posts: 580
iTrader: (0)

Wrapped wires but one broke off when putting it back in tstat. Anyone know where I can buy a new connector or how to get wires out of this one?
Thanks
Attached Images
 
__________________


It takes a big man to cry. It takes an even bigger man to laugh at him-- Jack Handey

mods: blackout grill, finishing rods, badges, Blacklines.
Bamaben is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      03-02-2014, 03:18 PM   #22
Efthreeoh
Brigadier General
 
Drives: E90
Join Date: May 2012
Location: MARLAND

Posts: 3,274
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaben View Post
Wrapped wires but one broke off when putting it back in tstat. Anyone know where I can buy a new connector or how to get wires out of this one?
Thanks
You can find all the parts on realOEM.com. BMW sells the connector, new pins and the little seals.
Efthreeoh is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST