E90Post
 


Horizon LED
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Photography/Videography > editing rig questions.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-29-2014, 12:46 PM   #1
Twix
Captain
Twix's Avatar
Canada
11
Rep
839
Posts

 
Drives: '14 X1 28i Sportline
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW X1  [5.00]
editing rig questions.

I'm not made of money but I'm looking to get an Apple MacBook pro to edit my photos. I looked at Lightroom 5 and it says it only requires 2gb of ram.

I guess my question is, would a 13.3" with 8gb of ram, 256gb hdd and the 2.4ghz i5 processor do well for the job? Or should I save a bit more and get a loaded out rig?
__________________
2014-X1-28i-Sportline-Black Sapphire-Black Dakota-AC Schnitzer springs-Work Brombacher 19x8.5f 19x10r-aFe intake-BMS JB4
2012 Subrosa Malum dirt/custom
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2014, 01:38 PM   #2
M_Six
Free Thinker
M_Six's Avatar
United_States
126
Rep
5,077
Posts

 
Drives: 2012 MB C300 4matic
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Foothills of Mt Level

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
That'll work fine. Photo editing isn't as much about RAM as it is about the graphics card. The MBP is ok in that respect. I was rendering a large 3D object in Photoshop this week on a Mac with 16GB RAM and it never exceeded 6GB of RAM use, so 8GB should be plenty. The one thing you need to be aware of is that screen, especially if it's a Retina. Your images will look way better in LR5 on your laptop than they will online. I see that all the time with mine. Same with printing 8x10 or larger. The Retina will show your images with extreme detail that you'll lose when moving them to a lesser device.

Having said all that, RAM comes in handy if you multi-task. If you can swing a jump to 16GB RAM, go for it. The Retina equipped models can't be upgraded, so what you buy is what you're stuck with. Go big if you can afford it.
__________________
Mark
Flickr

"I know rocks. Rocks are hard."
-T. Walter
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2014, 01:48 PM   #3
Twix
Captain
Twix's Avatar
Canada
11
Rep
839
Posts

 
Drives: '14 X1 28i Sportline
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW X1  [5.00]
Going to see if the Apple store has a rig with 16. It's only $200 more
Appreciate 0
      03-29-2014, 03:01 PM   #4
druu
Second Lieutenant
7
Rep
228
Posts

 
Drives: 2013 AW e92 335i xdrive Msport
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: NYC

iTrader: (0)

if for just LR5 you're not going to need a super crazy rig, PS can get more intense.

I built myself an editting rig with just an SSD 8GB of ram and a half decent video card at the time. Didn't cost me a ton and it is very snappy.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2014, 06:05 PM   #5
kgolles
Private
kgolles's Avatar
0
Rep
51
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 X1 28i sDrive ZSL
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twix View Post
Going to see if the Apple store has a rig with 16. It's only $200 more
Just a heads up. Anything with above 8gb (i.e. 16gb) of memory will require custom configure order online.

Also the 256gb is SSD, much more responsive than older HDD storage.

8GB of memory is definitely the minimum I would go if you plan on running memory intensive programs like PS or Lightroom. Just like M Six said, once you start multitasking that 8gb or greater really comes in handy keeping things running efficiently. FWIW, I'm unfortunately still running PS and Lightroom on the previous gen MBP w/ 4gb of memory. I want to throw it on the ground every time I have to edit. I'm a big multitasker, so I run things like iTunes, Safari, iMessage, iPhoto, etc. while I edit and it's a horrible experience. Can't wait to drop $$ on an 27" iMac w/ 16 gigs of memory w/ solid state drive. Just running Lightroom by itself is totally fine on 4gb, but that never happens.
__________________
Kyle

Last edited by kgolles; 04-02-2014 at 06:18 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2014, 08:04 PM   #6
Itsed65
Major
Itsed65's Avatar
24
Rep
1,433
Posts

 
Drives: 2014 X1 28i
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SF East Bay

iTrader: (0)

Also keep in mind you will need external storage if you save a lot of RAW images. The 256gb drive is super fast, but not super big. So far this year, my LR5 Folder is 292GB
Appreciate 0
      04-02-2014, 08:15 PM   #7
happos2
Dingleberries
18
Rep
1,183
Posts

 
Drives: Gray E92 M3
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Indiana

iTrader: (3)

I have a 2009 model at 2.26 GHz and upgraded my ram (maxed out at 8 gig) and switched to a solid state drive and have absolutely no problems with LR5.
Appreciate 0
      04-03-2014, 12:07 AM   #8
Twix
Captain
Twix's Avatar
Canada
11
Rep
839
Posts

 
Drives: '14 X1 28i Sportline
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW X1  [5.00]
I'm going to order one with 16gb while I'm at work next week, hopefully it'll be here at home by the time I return from work. I do plan on getting an external drive once I get more used to the computer. I also don't have very many pictures right now, I need to get out there and shoot stuff.

I need portability, I always have my desktop with way more power than most extreme gamers will ever need.

Thanks for the input guys, knew I could count on y'all
__________________
2014-X1-28i-Sportline-Black Sapphire-Black Dakota-AC Schnitzer springs-Work Brombacher 19x8.5f 19x10r-aFe intake-BMS JB4
2012 Subrosa Malum dirt/custom
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2014, 01:35 PM   #9
dcstep
Major General
United_States
65
Rep
5,036
Posts

 
Drives: '09 Cpe Silverstone FR 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 M3  [4.00]
PS will make more use of the RAM than LR. Also, file size is a huge factor, so if you've got a D800 you'll need it all the more. The 30MB files of my 5D MkIII can be RAM hogs with DxO Optics Pro, if I elect to use DxO's PRIME noise reduction, then my 8GB is maxed out for around 5 to 8-minutes per file.

With my software, the graphics card isn't a huge deal, but, working in the Windows environment, being OpenCL enabled is big with DxO and some other softwares. Is OpenCL used with Apple's OS?

Dave
__________________
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2014, 03:27 PM   #10
Twix
Captain
Twix's Avatar
Canada
11
Rep
839
Posts

 
Drives: '14 X1 28i Sportline
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2014 BMW X1  [5.00]
Just bought a 15.4" rMBP with the dual video cards and 512gb storage for $2449CDN. I think it was a pretty good deal

Now that I have a rig, what are some places I should know about to photo share? Something where my photos can be protected against theft etc? And would LR5 be good for a beginner to use for editing?
__________________
2014-X1-28i-Sportline-Black Sapphire-Black Dakota-AC Schnitzer springs-Work Brombacher 19x8.5f 19x10r-aFe intake-BMS JB4
2012 Subrosa Malum dirt/custom
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST