E90Post
 


VIBE Motorsports
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > OBD Readiness a pain!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-14-2014, 02:19 PM   #1
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

OBD Readiness a pain!

Since there are soo many of these threads, i figure i should just add 1 more!

Anyhow, had my MSD80 DME fail so BMW replaced it with the MSD81 unit. Issue was that it took over a month to get it shipped out from Germany and installed. In the mean time, my insurance comes up for renewal literally tomorrow and i need to have emissions passed. (OBD scan).
Car is a FBO auto, including catless dp's with meth.

Car had the following installed. New MSD81 ecu, 6x injectors, 6x coils, 6x plugs and 2x front O2 sensors.

I have Cobb which i un-installed and installed the BMS V3 DP fix. (Basically, stock programming with dp fix) Trying to get it to OBD readiness. At first, i was able to get the car to get everything to readiness except Cat and Evap. Finally i was able to get the cat code to pop up after 90miles of driving. Adjusted the dp fix 1 level stronger and have been driving around. The issue i'm having is that now i'm have 3 monitors not ready.

Lambda Probe- Not Ready
Cat -Not Ready
Evap -Not Ready

No codes on car at all. I did the drive cycle 4 - 5 times i a row. Driven over 400miles in the last 2 days and still nothing.

The one thing i did notice when i finally did code was the standard Cat efficiency codes with
2C7B After cat o2 Sensor signal, Bank 1
2C7C After cat o2 Sensor signal, Bank 2

I read somewhere here that someone else had this issue, pulled them off and found it covered in black soot. Cleaned it and put back on and no issues after. In my case, i got this code once only.

Is it possible that the rear o2 sensors got 'lazy'? as my fronts are brand new, i figured i should replace the rears too.

Any other advice? i basically only have today to look at this as insurance expires tomorrow.

Last edited by badass335; 04-15-2014 at 06:53 PM.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 02:50 PM   #2
Glowin
Captain
Glowin's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
922
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Sorry to hear... I thought AirCare is being phased out for cars?
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 03:59 PM   #3
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

My damn luck. Phased out end of 2014!
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 05:48 PM   #4
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
2,764
Posts

 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
Tell us EXACTLY what you did during the drive-cycle....

Reason I ask is because I have FBO, minus meth, and I pass each and every time. After the drive cycle, that is.
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 06:05 PM   #5
Glowin
Captain
Glowin's Avatar
United_States
15
Rep
922
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

I had heard at the track at Mission from a few guys there's some way (don't know details sorry) of getting around aircare or extending your time without having to pass, like getting a temp permit or something, as a guy there was talking about how he'd managed to aircare some stripped down Porsche he drove.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 07:20 PM   #6
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmx_ryder View Post
Tell us EXACTLY what you did during the drive-cycle....

Reason I ask is because I have FBO, minus meth, and I pass each and every time. After the drive cycle, that is.
That's the issue. I'm unable to complete the readiness cycle even after a drive cycle.

I followed the procedure as follows.
-Stock with DP Fix v3.
-Cold start and let idle for 2mins, 15sec
-drive to road so i can do next step which is drive 50km/h (30mph) for 3min, 15sec
-speed up to 80km/h (50mph) for 12-16mins
-slow and stop for 5mins in Drive (auto tranny)

check out readiness and not ready yet. tried a few times.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 07:24 PM   #7
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowin View Post
I had heard at the track at Mission from a few guys there's some way (don't know details sorry) of getting around aircare or extending your time without having to pass, like getting a temp permit or something, as a guy there was talking about how he'd managed to aircare some stripped down Porsche he drove.
I talked to insurance company here and i can get an extension for 3 months on first failure. Other than that, there are no extension other then a 1 day pass. I'd throw in my stock downpipes but if i can't get an inefficiency code, it won't matter.
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 10:43 PM   #8
Gen_E92
Brigadier General
No_Country
51
Rep
3,390
Posts

 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
Hey man, sorry to hear about your problem. I tried to pass aircare too by putting the O2 wires back in the Procede, turned CanClear off, put O2 modifier at 50%, but CanClear still seems to be working so I couldn't achieve readiness.

What happens if you don't pass aircare before the end of the year?
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 11:04 PM   #9
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

Hey bro! Nothing happens. I can wait until next year and then insure the car as there is NO aircare or get mine passes. No reason why it won't. Once I pass, I'll lend you the Dp fix so you can as well!
Appreciate 0
      04-14-2014, 11:12 PM   #10
Gen_E92
Brigadier General
No_Country
51
Rep
3,390
Posts

 
Drives: slow
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Vancouver

iTrader: (17)

Garage List
2007 335i  [3.90]
Thanks man! Was just wondering if I can borrow the dp fix from someone local haha. Will let you know when I need it, probably in June.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 11:34 AM   #11
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gen_E92 View Post
Thanks man! Was just wondering if I can borrow the dp fix from someone local haha. Will let you know when I need it, probably in June.
No worries man. Give me a call closer to then
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 11:37 AM   #12
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

So did a check today and now i finally got EVAP readiness.
So now only ones left are:
CATALYST - not ready
LAMBDA PROBE - not ready

maybe more driving will solve this.. Damn insurance expires tonight so hopefully in the next 6-7 hours as i still need to go by Aircare office for inspection.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 03:33 PM   #13
cstmx_ryder
Colonel
cstmx_ryder's Avatar
United_States
36
Rep
2,764
Posts

 
Drives: A metal box with a roundel
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (2)

Send a message via AIM to cstmx_ryder Send a message via MSN to cstmx_ryder
Quote:
Originally Posted by badass335 View Post
That's the issue. I'm unable to complete the readiness cycle even after a drive cycle.

I followed the procedure as follows.
-Stock with DP Fix v3.
-Cold start and let idle for 2mins, 15sec
-drive to road so i can do next step which is drive 50km/h (30mph) for 3min, 15sec
-speed up to 80km/h (50mph) for 12-16mins
-slow and stop for 5mins in Drive (auto tranny)

check out readiness and not ready yet. tried a few times.
Yes, all that while keeping the RPM under 3000 and speed limit under 60 mph, right?

Have you tried this without the DP fix? I think you have to uninstall the DP fix....But I could be wrong, as my DP fix is integrated into the Procede, and I had to adjust the values and turn it 'off'...
__________________

'08 AW E90 335i
PROcede V5 | BMS DCI | RR DPs | ETS FMIC | FORGE DVs | Stett CP | Vanguard | PSS10
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 03:39 PM   #14
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstmx_ryder View Post
Yes, all that while keeping the RPM under 3000 and speed limit under 60 mph, right?

Have you tried this without the DP fix? I think you have to uninstall the DP fix....But I could be wrong, as my DP fix is integrated into the Procede, and I had to adjust the values and turn it 'off'...
Yuppers! Did not go over 3000rpm, under 60mph, did not change throttle rapidly, or tap brakes.

Can't go with dp fix as I have catless dp's so will get cat efficiency codes.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 05:12 PM   #15
BigHoncho
Private
1
Rep
80
Posts

 
Drives: E92 335xi
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

cobb won't get you OBD readiness, you either need stock cats oder a dp-fix.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 05:48 PM   #16
roadkillrob
Brigadier General
United_States
58
Rep
3,911
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335Cic, 2011 X5 35i
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston

iTrader: (14)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigHoncho View Post
cobb won't get you OBD readiness, you either need stock cats oder a dp-fix.
+1 you can ask COBB, but my understanding is that the software just stops you from getting the check engine light from not have cats, but it isn't simulating the O2 signals, so you will never ever ever ever get readiness unless you get the BMS DPFix or put the cats back.

You are driving around a lot for nothing - sorry!
__________________

2008 E93 335i, GIAC Stage 2, HPF IC, Injen Intake, Defective AR Design DP's with useless cats
2014 X3 35i JB Stage 1
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 06:00 PM   #17
shadow191
Major
10
Rep
1,045
Posts

 
Drives: '07 E92 335i / '07 Infiniti FX
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: GA

iTrader: (3)

Do all monitors have to be ready? Here in GA and in many states, they will let 1 or 2 slide. In GA, we can have 2 not ready. The evap takes the longest so if that is ready, the other 2 may never turn.
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 06:01 PM   #18
Ingeniator
Major
Ingeniator's Avatar
Canada
11
Rep
1,080
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335XI(90) 09 135I(82)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fort Mac, Alberta

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigHoncho View Post
cobb won't get you OBD readiness, you either need stock cats oder a dp-fix.
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadkillrob View Post
+1 you can ask COBB, but my understanding is that the software just stops you from getting the check engine light from not have cats, but it isn't simulating the O2 signals, so you will never ever ever ever get readiness unless you get the BMS DPFix or put the cats back.

You are driving around a lot for nothing - sorry!
Not familliar with this one but he has a DP fix installed.

Quote:
I have Cobb which i un-installed and installed the BMW V3 DP fix. (Basically, stock programming with dp fix) Trying to get it to OBD readiness. At first, i was able to get the car to get everything to readiness except Cat and Evap. Finally i was able to get the cat code to pop up after 90miles of driving. Adjusted the dp fix 1 level stronger and have been driving around. The issue i'm having is that now i'm have 3 monitors not ready.
OP looks like it might be set to high. Do you have a scanner with live data? It makes it much easier to set the dp fix.
__________________
07 335XI (A008006) 6AT ~94K miles JB4 G5 ISO VSRF DP's
09 135I M (VK80379) 6MT. Race Project car. 1) Install Cobb/piggyback? and Motiv 600 Kit[HTA3076R w/ tial .82] 2) JRZ or Moton suspension. 3) Build high flow intake manifold with multi-port fuel and relocate OFH 4) Build full cage 5) Complete staged twin setup with HTA4205R [w/Tial 1.16] 6) Complete dry sump system
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 06:55 PM   #19
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadkillrob View Post
+1 you can ask COBB, but my understanding is that the software just stops you from getting the check engine light from not have cats, but it isn't simulating the O2 signals, so you will never ever ever ever get readiness unless you get the BMS DPFix or put the cats back.

You are driving around a lot for nothing - sorry!
No need to be sorry. You might have missed the part in my first post where is says, i uninstalled COBB and INSTALLED the BMS V3 DP fix and then drove around...
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 07:00 PM   #20
badass335
Lieutenant Colonel
badass335's Avatar
Canada
33
Rep
1,815
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i E90 AT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Surrey, BC

iTrader: (10)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeniator View Post
Not familliar with this one but he has a DP fix installed.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingeniator View Post
OP looks like it might be set to high. Do you have a scanner with live data? It makes it much easier to set the dp fix.
I thought so but the issue i run into is that i get no codes. If it's too strong, i should get another set of error codes. I ran it at the 6 O'Clock position and i ended up getting a Cat Efficiency code. I then reset the ecu, turned the dial to the 5 o'clock position (makes it stronger anti-clockwise as per instructions) and have been running the car since.

On a side note, the insurance company gave me a 3 month extension so i have 3 months to now figure this out!
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 07:08 PM   #21
Ingeniator
Major
Ingeniator's Avatar
Canada
11
Rep
1,080
Posts

 
Drives: 07 335XI(90) 09 135I(82)
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Fort Mac, Alberta

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by badass335 View Post




I thought so but the issue i run into is that i get no codes. If it's too strong, i should get another set of error codes. I ran it at the 6 O'Clock position and i ended up getting a Cat Efficiency code. I then reset the ecu, turned the dial to the 5 o'clock position (makes it stronger anti-clockwise as per instructions) and have been running the car since.

On a side note, the insurance company gave me a 3 month extension so i have 3 months to now figure this out!
I'm glad we don't have emissions here. If it was me I would reset start on 6 and check voltage on the ecu pins. You should have .5v roughly. I can check with my scanner tonight what the voltage should be for sure.
__________________
07 335XI (A008006) 6AT ~94K miles JB4 G5 ISO VSRF DP's
09 135I M (VK80379) 6MT. Race Project car. 1) Install Cobb/piggyback? and Motiv 600 Kit[HTA3076R w/ tial .82] 2) JRZ or Moton suspension. 3) Build high flow intake manifold with multi-port fuel and relocate OFH 4) Build full cage 5) Complete staged twin setup with HTA4205R [w/Tial 1.16] 6) Complete dry sump system
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2014, 07:35 PM   #22
blisstik
Major
blisstik's Avatar
No_Country
21
Rep
1,335
Posts

 
Drives: E92
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California

iTrader: (14)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335i  [0.00]
Is it even possible to have readiness with just the DP fix v3? I don't think anyone has bypassed this unless you install stock cats back.

And what about visual? Is that not done at all?
__________________
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST