E90Post
 


European Auto Source
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Help!! Procede v1.47 car wont start



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-24-2007, 07:49 PM   #1
335xiguy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

Help!! Procede v1.47 car wont start

Hey

Just received my procede and...

My problem seems like a somewhat common one and im guessing is due to a bad harness or procede.

I have triple checked all the wiring to the ecu and the ground and verified im getting 12v on the power wire to the ecu.

The car starts fine with the bypass plugs and stock boost line configuration.

Attach to procede removing bypass plugs and installing boost line coupler results in no engine start and no CEL

Please help i have been looking at this for 2 days now with no luck

Thanks to those awesome people who reply - you know who you are!
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 07:57 PM   #2
stillclaimndp
Dancing Machine
stillclaimndp's Avatar
United_States
20
Rep
1,419
Posts

 
Drives: 335i e90 ZSP
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Walnut Creek, Ca

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via AIM to stillclaimndp
I haven't heard of a complete no-start, just lumpy idle, that sounds like it might be the PROcede if you do in fact have it installed correctly
__________________
2007 e90 & 1981 Corvette Predecessors: 2007 BMW 335i E92, 2006 M5, 2008 Viper SRT10 Coupe, 2005 Viper Yellow, 2006 Corvette Z51, 2009 Challenger SRT8, 2006 S4, 2001.5 Nogaro Blue S4, 2006 GTI w/ DSG, 06 Evo IX, 04 S4, 04 911x51, 03 Evo VIII, 98 Eclipse GSX, 96 GST, 92 Galant Vr-4, '70 Grand Prix Model J, '70 Nova, '68 Firebird
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 08:12 PM   #3
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Does it turn over at all?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 08:41 PM   #4
E90ice
Banned
E90ice's Avatar
51
Rep
2,004
Posts

 
Drives: 2008 335xi Coupe
Join Date: May 2006
Location: WA

iTrader: (0)

Take it out and do it all over again. Clearly, the wiring is wrong somewhere...
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 08:42 PM   #5
335xiguy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

the car turns over like normal just never fires up. After 5 secs of trying it just gives up and shuts down.

Quote:
Originally Posted by E90ice View Post
Take it out and do it all over again. Clearly, the wiring is wrong somewhere...

i was under the impression that the car wouldnt run properly with the bypass plugs installed if the wiring was incorrect (according to a post from shiv i read somewhere dont have the link right now)
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 08:56 PM   #6
sdwilly
First Lieutenant
sdwilly's Avatar
United_States
4
Rep
354
Posts

 
Drives: 335i
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (1)

Power Issue? Can you connect to the procede via the serial?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 09:16 PM   #7
pushok132
Crazy Mofo!
pushok132's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
113
Posts

 
Drives: 335 Coupe
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Encino

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to pushok132
sounds like the ground could be the issue. use a multimeter to check and make sure the ground it getting to the procede. Remove the connector plugs and check the black wires. one connector has 2 black wires and the other has 1. makes sure they cant be pulled out and remove the orange plug on the end of the connector with needle nose pliers and just pull lightly and it will come off easily. Then use a multimeter set to ohmz and check ground to ground and see if you get movement. first put the two ends on your cars ground to make sure you get movement and so that you know what to look for then do your cars ground on one and the black pin where the ground is on the second one. This is more than likely your problem.
__________________

Mods: Procede V2, Hamman race Reps custom Black with Red lip, Black/red emblems, MSDS Cold-Air Intake,BMW Strut Tower Bar, Hot chick In Passenger seat
Soon: KWV2's, UR Downpipes, MSDS Exhaust(Possibly)
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 09:54 PM   #8
MrOffshore
Second Lieutenant
MrOffshore's Avatar
5
Rep
234
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana

iTrader: (0)

Wow...what's up with this?
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 10:14 PM   #9
Ruff Rider
"posting from my recliner"
Ruff Rider's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
7,241
Posts

 
Drives: twin turbo Prius
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Where the air is thin

iTrader: (0)

Send a message via Yahoo to Ruff Rider
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrOffshore View Post
Wow...what's up with this?
You do get around
__________________

Ping Golf Club demo tech
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 10:30 PM   #10
scalbert
Major General
scalbert's Avatar
78
Rep
5,710
Posts

 
Drives: '08 E90 M3, '13 Volt, '08 Ody
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Woodstock, GA

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pushok132 View Post
sounds like the ground could be the issue. use a multimeter to check and make sure the ground it getting to the procede. Remove the connector plugs and check the black wires. one connector has 2 black wires and the other has 1.
I agree, either a power or ground issue. The unit does not seem to be getting power (+ or common) or it is bad. Err on the former first and then move to the next. The bypass plugs do not rely on power.
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 10:40 PM   #11
MrOffshore
Second Lieutenant
MrOffshore's Avatar
5
Rep
234
Posts

 
Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruff Rider View Post
You do get around
I don't title the threads, I just find them interesting.
Appreciate 0
      11-24-2007, 11:46 PM   #12
335xiguy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

wow you guys are great!@

thanks for all the responses

I tend to agree its a power or a procede issue. I dont have a serial port on my laptop (too new) so im going to get a serial-usb adapter tomorrow to see if i can get connectivity with the procede.

Good thoughts on the ground. I will definitely have to try that. Only tested the + lead so far :L

Really hope to get this going soon. Gonna wait til its light out to continue
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2007, 01:09 PM   #13
335xiguy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

so i went out with the trusty voltimeter set to ohm and did what you said

1st test both ends on the ground (view 0.0ohm stable)

2nd put one end on the ground the other on the wire tip of the procede ground wire (exposed by pulling back the orange rubber on the connector). This test failed. The ohms are all over the place. Im guessing i need a new ground wire? Or at least try to repair the existing one. Im gonna go try the latter now. Wish me luck!
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2007, 02:55 PM   #14
335xiguy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

car starts now! think the ground wire must have been the issue (not sure if i botched it or not).

Thanks again. Now time to put it back together!
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2007, 10:59 PM   #15
335xiguy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

final update..

been driving the car all day and nothing but fun to report.

Awesome power increase. 95% original drivability. Gotta love what a chip can do on a FI vehicle
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2007, 11:03 PM   #16
e90AW335i
Major General
United_States
81
Rep
6,608
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: ......

iTrader: (4)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335xiguy View Post
final update..

been driving the car all day and nothing but fun to report.

Awesome power increase. 95% original drivability. Gotta love what a chip can do on a FI vehicle
Good to hear, congrats and keep us updated....
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2007, 11:06 PM   #17
ArmyBimmerDude
Major General
ArmyBimmerDude's Avatar
United_States
67
Rep
5,504
Posts

 
Drives: Lola
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Georgia

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Send a message via AIM to ArmyBimmerDude Send a message via Yahoo to ArmyBimmerDude
Amazing how everyone automatically thinks its the Procede's fault instead of double checking their own work.
__________________
2007 E92 Montego Blue 335i
Appreciate 0
      11-25-2007, 11:14 PM   #18
OC 335i
General
OC 335i's Avatar
United_States
253
Rep
18,119
Posts

 
Drives: AW 335D E90
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Irvine/Aliso Viejo, CA

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2007 335i  [0.00]
Send a message via AIM to OC 335i Send a message via MSN to OC 335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyBimmerDude View Post
Amazing how everyone automatically thinks its the Procede's fault instead of double checking their own work.
+1
__________________

Current: 2010 Alpine White 335D LCI l 19" BBS LMs l KW V2 Coilovers l BMW Performance Grilles l MSport Front/Rear l Karbonwerke Trunk l F1 Pinnacle Tint 35% Former: E92 Space Grey 335i Latest pics
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2007, 04:02 AM   #19
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

Glad to hear everything is sorted out!

Shiv
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2007, 01:03 PM   #20
Dustin Bramell
Lieutenant
United_States
10
Rep
428
Posts

 
Drives: e90 335i, 125cc Trackmagic
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Santa Monica, CA

iTrader: (1)

Send a message via AIM to Dustin Bramell
FWIW, even leaving the ground or power off the procede, the car will still start. There are only three things related to the installation that will prevent the car from starting:

1. left the ECU ground off, when installing the procede ground.
2. one of the ECU connectors is not plugged in correctly.
3. the power fuse is not in place.

Even will all of the pin extraction done completely wrong, the car will still start. It won't start very well, but it will still start.
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2007, 07:44 PM   #21
335xiguy
New Member
United_States
0
Rep
9
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: usa

iTrader: (0)

to those commenting on blaming the procede

Quote:
Originally Posted by 335xiguy View Post

and im guessing is due to a bad harness or procede.
note i said i was guessing (no real clue)

note i said bad harness (it ended up being related to the harness as i never touched the ecu wiring after i started messing with the ground which got it to work - the ground was the problem...exactly where im an unsure)
Appreciate 0
      11-26-2007, 07:46 PM   #22
shiv@vishnu
Tuner
United_States
702
Rep
17,616
Posts

 
Drives: X1, 335i
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SF Bay, CA

iTrader: (0)

It's all good. Just as long as your car is up and running

shiv
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST