E90Post
 


 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N54 Turbo Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications - 335i > Started car, engine malfunction, smoke(maybe).... help!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-01-2014, 11:30 AM   #1
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

Exclamation Started car, engine malfunction, smoke(maybe).... help!

Someone please calm my nerves... I drove my car yesterday, no issues at all. Last night we got a ton of rain, they had predicted 2+ inches. I just I went out and started it... engine malfunction, reduced power. Seems like a good amount of white smoke out of both exhausts. I'm not sure if it is actually smoke or a ton of condensation at this point. It's incredibly moist (giggity) out, foggy as hell etc...

opened my hood and it's very damp/wet in there. Checked for codes, it's showing these:

2AB4
2EE6
2ABD

thoughts!?


2AB4 DME, internal error: RAM-checksum
Error will cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed
Short circuit or signal interruption


2EE6 cooling fluid sensor, measurement range


2ABD Intake pressure sensor, re-running
Error will not cause a warning light
Error is not currently present
Test conditions have been completed
EXPLANATION: Map sensor connectivity issue.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing


Last edited by jpsimon; 05-01-2014 at 11:51 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2014, 11:41 AM   #2
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

if the coils are damp or something, is it the kind of thing that will just fix itself when it dries?

/edit/ the codes don't really relate to that... the ECU one scares the shit out of me though... could it just be a hiccup? how can the car run if the DME is fucked? it felt ok, the car wasn't shaking or anything out of the ordinary
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing


Last edited by jpsimon; 05-01-2014 at 11:53 AM.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2014, 04:03 PM   #3
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

bump, anyone have that DME related code before?
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2014, 04:18 PM   #4
ken1137
Brigadier General
ken1137's Avatar
United_States
41
Rep
3,697
Posts

 
Drives: a slow 2009 e90 335i
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (7)

Garage List
2009 e90 335i  [3.20]
Do a search and try to confirm if that code is related to the problematic diode with some DMEs on iPad so I cant see what car or year. GL!
__________________

BMWCCA member
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2014, 04:20 PM   #5
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

335xi 2008

I can't find many posts about the code, that's why I'm hoping someone will come out of the woodwork who may have had it

I'm hoping it's all because of how damp the engine bay was... I mean, if the DME was totally fucked wouldn't the car throw a ton of codes + not drive right?

Last edited by jpsimon; 05-01-2014 at 04:25 PM.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2014, 08:54 AM   #6
Jklad
Lieutenant
Jklad's Avatar
United_States
5
Rep
597
Posts

 
Drives: 2007 335i Coupe
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Palatine, IL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ken1137
Do a search and try to confirm if that code is related to the problematic diode with some DMEs on iPad so I cant see what car or year. GL!
The fried dme issue happens on 2007 cars with the msd80 Ecu. Not sure if some 2008 cars also have this same Ecu, but if jpsimon does, the thread on it is worth a read.

Yes, the car will technically "run" with a fried dme, but it will run like shit and eventually shut down.

I don't think his issue is the same though bc he'd have multiple cylinders misfiring and lots of misfire codes along with the dme codes.
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2014, 09:00 AM   #7
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

update: I cleared the codes this morning. Everything seems to be fine now. I'm going to chalk it up to a really damp engine bay. I'm just glad nothing shorted out.
__________________
2015 STi / 335xi (solid)
www.datazap.me - fast, free, interactive data log viewing

Appreciate 0
      05-05-2014, 07:40 PM   #8
jpsimon
Team Zissou
jpsimon's Avatar
United_States
164
Rep
9,017
Posts

 
Drives: 2015 STi
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT

iTrader: (6)

it's back...

I can clear the code, start the car and it's gone: car drives fine. Turn it off, turn it back on and the limp mode comes back. Even though it says "reduced power" the power isn't actually reduced like a normal limp mode. the car drives fine

this happens every time. clear code, drive around fine with no codes/errors. restart car and it throws the error

wtf?
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST