E90Post
 


Alpine HID
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BIMMERPOST Universal Forums > Off-Topic Discussions Board > Video + PC Gaming / Computing > AAAAAHHH Why didnt someone tell me PS3 doesnt do 1080i!?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      12-27-2007, 03:19 PM   #1
ACZakka325i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ACZakka325i's Avatar
 
Drives: X1 3.5 M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CT

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (2)

AAAAAHHH Why didnt someone tell me PS3 doesnt do 1080i!?

This is the biggest waste of $700 i have ever spent. How could they not have an update yet?! I can't believe I took a chance on this system, and not one of the games i bought works in over 480i. This is fucking rediculous.
__________________
2013 535i xdrive(Current)
2008 E92 M3 (Gone)
2006 E90 325i (Gone)
2002 E46 325xi (Gone)
1991 E30 325i (Gone)
ACZakka325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2007, 03:22 PM   #2
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,574
iTrader: (3)

have you done the update? you should be able to display in 720p and 1080i, are you over hdmi or comp?
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2007, 03:24 PM   #3
Dleo
Brigadier General
 
Dleo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 X5
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: NYC

Posts: 3,357
iTrader: (2)

uhm, it is 1080i, you need to add a HDMI cable and set it on the ps3 display menu.

and $700 dollars for a ps3? There are tons of places selling them for $399...
__________________
Dleo is offline   Cyprus
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2007, 06:10 PM   #4
RokX
'07 E92 335i SOLD
 
RokX's Avatar
 
Drives: '08 Jeep SRT8, SC'd '06 GTO
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Denver CO

Posts: 452
iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dleo View Post
uhm, it is 1080i, you need to add a HDMI cable and set it on the ps3 display menu.

and $700 dollars for a ps3? There are tons of places selling them for $399...
+1

I thought the same when I first bought my 360, I was an idiot and didn't know about the little switch and cable. When I switched that around and got it right, wow what a difference.

And $700 for a ps3? Hmm. That wouldn't suprise me at all when they were a little harder to come by, but not now.....
__________________
RokX is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2007, 06:32 PM   #5
HappyG
Major
 
HappyG's Avatar
 
Drives: 06 BMW 330i / 6SP
Join Date: May 2006
Location: CA

Posts: 1,007
iTrader: (13)

Garage List
2006 330i  [0.00]
PS3 supports all of the above mentioned modes of video...HDMI.

And only certain games play at higher resolutions...COD4 plays at 1080i I believe...GT5 is supposed to play at full 1080P!!\

Check on the back of each game. It should tell you the max res for that game. Check YOUR current hardware before you blame the one you just purchased.
________
F3A TRANSMISSION

Last edited by HappyG; 03-08-2011 at 10:11 AM.
HappyG is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2007, 06:35 PM   #6
FirstClass
Brigadier General
 
Drives: 328xi
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posts: 3,199
iTrader: (0)

If you'd just buy a computer and forget console games you could play at resolutions over 4x that of 1080p.
__________________
328xi Coupe, Montego Blue on Black with Alum, Step, Sport, Premium, CA, PDC, Cold Weather (Damn Pennsylvania winters)
Current Mods: Heavy right foot - Planned Mods: Lightweight right foot

Quote:
Originally Posted by jh valley View Post
shit, if i had that kind of money id buy a gtstreet for monday, an ascari a10 for tuesday, a DBS for wednesday and id just ride jessica alba the rest of the week.
FirstClass is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-27-2007, 07:16 PM   #7
Crimson92
Smiling Politely
 
Crimson92's Avatar
 
Drives: Like a boss
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Whales Vagina

Posts: 28,574
iTrader: (3)

360 full 1080p on almost all games
__________________
Quote:
Some people are like slinkies...not really good for much but you can't help but smile when you see one tumble down the stairs"
Crimson92 is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2007, 05:34 PM   #8
ACZakka325i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ACZakka325i's Avatar
 
Drives: X1 3.5 M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CT

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (2)

Hey guys, sorry to not check back on this thread till now.

I bought the PS3 for $399, by the time you get another controller, and 4 games, i was at about 700.

My television is an older Mitusbishi 1080 big screen, 76 inches. I can connect with component cables but not HDMI. Apparently there are games that play in 1080i, but not most. Also, i did change the settings in the control panel of the PS3. The home screen displays in 1080i, but when you go to the game, it plays in 720 or 480. Cant remember which one.

Apparently, there are working on a software update i will be able to download to fix this problem. Anyone know when thats coming out? I am currently just playing on another flat panel lcd screen.

It works fine. And I must say i am really enjoying the PS3!
__________________
2013 535i xdrive(Current)
2008 E92 M3 (Gone)
2006 E90 325i (Gone)
2002 E46 325xi (Gone)
1991 E30 325i (Gone)
ACZakka325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2007, 05:45 PM   #9
TheAcAvenger
Brigadier General
 
TheAcAvenger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 757, VA

Posts: 3,079
iTrader: (1)

I played gt prologue yesterday at 1080p? HDMI for the win

Were you playing a ps2 game or something?
__________________
2007 E92 335i - TC Kline DA Coilovers, HPA M3 Suspension Retrofit, Quaife LSD, Stoptech 6/4 BBK, Volk TE-37s, AR Downpipes, RDSport Quads, Forge DVs, Stett OC, RB Turbos, Procede V5, PWM Meth, Helix IC, EAS DCI, Rixster VEI, M-Tech Sides, OEM Aero Lip, Rieger Spoiler, Vorsteiner V-35 Hood, Performance Steering Wheel, Anthracite Headliner, OSS Headlights
TheAcAvenger is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2007, 09:18 PM   #10
ACZakka325i
Lieutenant Colonel
 
ACZakka325i's Avatar
 
Drives: X1 3.5 M-Sport
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: CT

Posts: 1,756
iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheAcAvenger View Post
I played gt prologue yesterday at 1080p? HDMI for the win

Were you playing a ps2 game or something?
no, Tiger 08, Resistance, Fight Night Round 3 all dont play in 1080i
__________________
2013 535i xdrive(Current)
2008 E92 M3 (Gone)
2006 E90 325i (Gone)
2002 E46 325xi (Gone)
1991 E30 325i (Gone)
ACZakka325i is offline  
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2007, 09:43 PM   #11
TheAcAvenger
Brigadier General
 
TheAcAvenger's Avatar
 
Drives: 2007 E92 335i
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: 757, VA

Posts: 3,079
iTrader: (1)

ACZakka, I looked through my catalogue because I have all three of those games... I couldn't find the case for Tiger, but if you look at the back of the resistance boxes, you'll see that both of those games run 720p max. That explains why they arent running 1080. Because EA is cheap when it comes to porting to ps3, i'm guessing that Tiger fits under the same bill.

In the meantime, i'd recommend that if you care that much you could always go pick up a used xbox for under $250. In the meantime, check out 2k sports offerings, because they're running 60fps and 1080i on ps3. And check out uncharted and gt prologue if you're trying to make yourself feel better about your ps3 purchase. I've got both systems and still tend to play all the multi-system games on ps, because i'm more accustomed to that controller, and feel is what's most important to me.

Regardless, multi-platform games should all be running 1080i on 360 AND PS3 by the next sports year. Your games should all be running 720p though, so make sure you're running component cables or hdmi cables and not the crappy composite cables that came with the box because composite (yellow, red, white) won't get you any higher than 480i. Your best bet on getting these cables is to get them used from a ps2 (I just yanked the components off of my ps2 when I got my ps3). Remember when buying hdmi cords that buying the expensive monster cables aren't necessary. The inherent digital design of an hdmi cable doesn't lend itself to distortion due to inferior shielding in the same way that component cables do so your $20 dollar hdmi cable from best buy will work just fine.

Hope this helps.

EDIT: After reading your previous posts, only the 1st paragraph, 2nd paragraph, and first lines of the 3rd are relevant. But i'll leave the rest of the third up for anyone who just picked up their new PS3 over the holidays.
__________________
2007 E92 335i - TC Kline DA Coilovers, HPA M3 Suspension Retrofit, Quaife LSD, Stoptech 6/4 BBK, Volk TE-37s, AR Downpipes, RDSport Quads, Forge DVs, Stett OC, RB Turbos, Procede V5, PWM Meth, Helix IC, EAS DCI, Rixster VEI, M-Tech Sides, OEM Aero Lip, Rieger Spoiler, Vorsteiner V-35 Hood, Performance Steering Wheel, Anthracite Headliner, OSS Headlights
TheAcAvenger is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
      12-30-2007, 10:39 PM   #12
djmatty
Second Lieutenant
 
djmatty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2003 330i; 1999 328i (RIP)
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: somewhere south

Posts: 282
iTrader: (0)

Luckily, I had an HDMI cable that wasn't in use......but yeah, if you're going to be using a PS3, you better have AT LEAST component cables, if not HDMI.
__________________
djmatty is offline   United_States
0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST