E90Post

Studio RSR

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > 2006 335 Strange Misfire - Help Needed

05-24-2014, 02:24 PM   #1
firedragon
Private
United Kingdom
Rep
Drives: 2006 BMW 335i

Unhappy 2006 335 Strange Misfire - Help Needed

Hello All,

I am new to BMW's and need some help and assistance with a bad misfire issue that has come out of nowhere.

Some history: I had a service from an independent garage that I know well last weekend [Saturday] and they changed all 6 spark plugs as well as oil and filters etc. All was well.

On Wednesday I ran the petrol tank down to --- on the clock [not intentional to get that low just caught out on the motorway], probably took it down to -3 miles. Anyway, filled up the tank at a Morrisons and went on my way. 5 minutes back down the motorway and the car started to hesitate on acceleration and then it misfired and then ran on 5 cylinders with the EM light on.

Took it straight to the garage that done the service as thought it was a plug issue. They done a diagnostic and it stated a misfire in cylinder 5. They proceeded to swap the plug for another, reset the codes and ran the car, the EM light come on again. This time it stated cylinder 2 was misfiring. They then swopped over the coil from cylinder 2 with 1 and swopped the plug from 6 etc to eliminate any plug or coil issue. Reset again, ran the car and the EM light came on again - still referencing cylinder misfire.

They assured they torqued the bolts to the correct setting so no combustion gas is leaking out and that the coils have been seated properly - this I have double checked.