E90Post
 


Extreme Power House
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > N55 Turbo Engine Tuning and Exhaust Modifications - 335i Tuning > Transmission flash



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-01-2014, 07:37 AM   #1
Michael__kopp
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: black 2011 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Transmission flash

Hello everyone. I'm new to the e9x scene but not to car modding in general. I am however not that up to date with all the fancy electornics these things have. I thought my last car was fancy cuz it had fuel injection. Haha I am looking at getting my tranny reflashed with the alpina map. I tried searching but only found bits and pieces of what I want to know. Firstly where can I get this done at? It seems to be a thing people sell as a file that you have to download to your car but do shops usually do this too? If not what do I need to download it to the car? I'm guessing a USB to obd2 cable and some sort of program? I live in the Vegas area does anyone already have the setup that could help me out? Also does the dealer get bitchy about shit like this as far as the warrantee and maintenence coverage go? Thanks for the help guys/gals. Sorry for being a computer retard. Haha
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2014, 08:28 AM   #2
Knobi
Captain
Knobi's Avatar
United_States
6
Rep
487
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 E90 335i
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Weston, FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
The Alpina B3 transmission flash is a must when you have the 6AT.
I'm sure there're coders in your area who can do this for you. I paid $100 for mine and that included other random coding too.
No problems with the warranty at all. However if the dealership upgrades your DME for any reason your coding will be deleted though.
My advice? Worth every penny.
Car shifts almost like a DCT
__________________
2011 BMW 335i (N55) | Jet Black | M-Sport | Premium | Navigation | Comfort Access
JB4 Stage ll FlexFuel | BMW PPK | BMW Performance Exhaust | AA Race FMIC | AR DP | ER CP | BMS Intake
LUX V4 | CF M3 Trunk Spoiler | DEPO | HPB LED Kit | 3M 20% Tint | 10mm/12mm BMS Spacers | BMW Type 193 (Anthracite) | BMW Performance Shift Knob
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2014, 08:31 AM   #3
Michael__kopp
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: black 2011 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Sweet. Yeah I was reading a little more into it. I wouldn't even know where to start with the whole computer program stuff. Anyone know anyone that does this in the Vegas area?
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2014, 11:10 PM   #4
Dconnelly9191
Enlisted Member
0
Rep
37
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335i Xdrive Coupe
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Colorado Springs

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael__kopp View Post
Sweet. Yeah I was reading a little more into it. I wouldn't even know where to start with the whole computer program stuff. Anyone know anyone that does this in the Vegas area?
Alex@Alpine Did the tune remotely for me. I love it! So glad I did it.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2014, 03:52 PM   #5
Dark_Knight_335
Came to the N55 Darkside
Dark_Knight_335's Avatar
United_States
155
Rep
10,645
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335 E93 M-Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NY/NJ

iTrader: (27)

Any hard evidence that this isn't beating your slush boxes to hell? Some of those shifts and revs were pretty unnerving for me, although, truth be told, I kinda miss the feel of mine sometimes...
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2014, 05:00 PM   #6
Knonsense
Private
1
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi.
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NoVa

iTrader: (0)

Dark_Knight, it's part of the suite of included firmware.

Coding the TCU with the Alpina program is not uploading a new thing to your car. It is disabling the "NA Market TCU program" and enabling "Alpina TCU program."

this is why you can take your Alpina flashed car to the dealer and they don't care. at all. it's part of the car. this is also why some of the older e9X's can't get "flashed" - their specific builds predate the approval of the Alpina TCU program and so do not have it included.

disclaimer about how you drive your car is a much more telling determinant of life of machines, proper maintenance, etc etc etc
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2014, 05:18 PM   #7
Dark_Knight_335
Came to the N55 Darkside
Dark_Knight_335's Avatar
United_States
155
Rep
10,645
Posts

 
Drives: 2011 335 E93 M-Sport
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NY/NJ

iTrader: (27)

Okay well that puts my mind at ease somewhat.

I flashed back to stock because I was going to sell my ride, but now I'm on the fence about re-flashing it back since I think I'm going to keep it.

I wonder if I walk into a BMW dealer, asking if they could flash my TCU with the Alpina program (since I already know it's possible anyway) would they actually do it (even for a price?)

It's a genuine question in my mind, now that you mentioned it.
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2014, 08:39 AM   #8
Michael__kopp
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: black 2011 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

So for someone to do it remotely do i just need to get a cable? Will their computer just take mine over so i don't need to have the program or set any of it up?
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2014, 09:54 AM   #9
335m
Captain
9
Rep
712
Posts

 
Drives: AW e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin Texas

iTrader: (1)

^^ I am also curious about a remote flash. I swear this 6AT is rougher to drive than a 6MT...
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2014, 10:29 AM   #10
Knonsense
Private
1
Rep
71
Posts

 
Drives: 335xi.
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NoVa

iTrader: (0)

http://www.bmcoding.com/

Niv is the guy who runs that site. You just buy a cable, plug it into your OBDII port and your computer, and shazzam
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2014, 10:30 AM   #11
Johnny Boost
Major
21
Rep
1,167
Posts

 
Drives: '11 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: TBD

iTrader: (0)

You will need the INPA K/D Can cable to do a remote flash. Some of the remote flashing companies will send you the necessary cabling. I made a thread in the regional thread and found a local coder that could flash mine so I never needed the cable.
__________________
BMS Intake | BMS DP | Cobb AP V3 | E50 Pro Tune by PTF | VRSF CP | Alpina B3 TCU | Custom Coding

LUX v4 LEDs | Shadowline Grills | M3 Lip Spoiler | 5% tint
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2014, 10:17 PM   #12
Michael__kopp
New Member
0
Rep
11
Posts

 
Drives: black 2011 335i
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Got it done today! its awesome. For daily driving I prefer the new D shift points actually, most people complain about it. I started in D and it was smooth and i enjoyed it. nothing too crazy. then went to S and also thought it was a decent improvement over stock but when i went to M the difference was insane. It shifts instantly. Its pretty damn cool. However I do have the tach drop problem. I tried searching for more info on that but can't seem to find much info on it. Do you guys have any tips on getting the dealer to update the DME?
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2014, 11:56 AM   #13
bmx045
Registered
United_States
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: '11 MINI, soon to be 335
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

To do the alpina flash, do you need anything else besides that bmcoding cable? any other software?
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2014, 12:14 PM   #14
335m
Captain
9
Rep
712
Posts

 
Drives: AW e92 335i M-Sport
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Austin Texas

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx045 View Post
To do the alpina flash, do you need anything else besides that bmcoding cable? any other software?
Here is a DIY thread, the original post may be a little outdated but there are still active comments on the thread.

http://www.e90post.com/forums/showthread.php?t=874072
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2014, 12:14 PM   #15
Johnny Boost
Major
21
Rep
1,167
Posts

 
Drives: '11 335i M-Sport
Join Date: May 2013
Location: TBD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmx045 View Post
To do the alpina flash, do you need anything else besides that bmcoding cable? any other software?
Yes there is a bundle of software that is needed to flash the car but it is available for free. If you contact Wedge in the N54 section, he will send you links for the software and also help you do the flash if you need it.
__________________
BMS Intake | BMS DP | Cobb AP V3 | E50 Pro Tune by PTF | VRSF CP | Alpina B3 TCU | Custom Coding

LUX v4 LEDs | Shadowline Grills | M3 Lip Spoiler | 5% tint
Appreciate 0
      07-24-2014, 12:16 PM   #16
bmx045
Registered
United_States
0
Rep
4
Posts

 
Drives: '11 MINI, soon to be 335
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Boston, MA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Boost View Post
Yes there is a bundle of software that is needed to flash the car but it is available for free. If you contact Wedge in the N54 section, he will send you links for the software and also help you do the flash if you need it.


thanks. by the way the bmcoding site made it sound, it sounded like the included software would allow you to do this. knew it wouldnt be that easy.
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
6at, alpina b3 flash, flash

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST