View Single Post
      07-02-2012, 08:18 AM   #17
Special Agent
mapezzul's Avatar

Drives: Depends on the day!
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bavaria

iTrader: (1)

Originally Posted by roadmax View Post
This is a disaster for BMW, not good. When will BMW again repeat the success of E30 and E36 M3 era.
You should look at that era's results again, you may be surprised a bit. For the first season they are doing much better than even they could have hoped for. They are completely new to this and have to gain confidence and experience.

The history of the DTM begins with the first race in Zolder on 11th March 1984. BMW celebrates victory as well as the top four places, with Harald Grohs crossing the finishing line first in a BMW 635 CSi. It is Volker Strycek of Team Gubin, however, who finishes fifth at the finale at the Nürburgring to secure the first title for BMW.


Harald Grohs ends the second season of the DTM third in the drivers’ standings, making him the best-placed BMW driver. He wins again at the wheel of the BMW 635 CSi in Zolder, while Winfried Vogt wins at Mainz-Finthen in a BMW 323i.


Both Kurt König and Volker Strycek finish in the top five of the drivers’ standings with the BMW 635 CSi. König also picks up the only BMW victory of the year – the Grenzland-Preis in Zolder.


The BMW M3 makes its DTM debut – and is immediately the car to beat. Harald Grohs, Marc Hessel, Olaf Manthey and Fabien Giroix claim five victories in total. The title, however, goes to BMW driver Eric van de Poele, who finishes in the points at nine of the ten races.


Markus Oestreich, in a BMW M3, is in the title race right up until the end of the 1988 season. After the last of the 24 rounds, however, he has to settle for fourth place overall.


Touring car World and European champion Roberto Ravaglia starts the season with two victories in Zolder – and goes on to finish on top after the finale in Hockenheim. As well as the Italian (three victories), Steve Soper (two) and Johnny Cecotto also win in the BMW M3.


BMW, Audi and Mercedes produce a thrilling three-way battle for the title. BMW claims victory at eight of the 22 races. Despite this, Johnny Cecotto narrowly misses out on the fourth title, having to settle for runner-up.


Fourth-placed Johnny Cecotto is once again the best-placed BMW driver at the end of the year. The Venezuelan wins three races, while fellow BMW driver Steve Soper occupies the top step of the podium on four occasions. Joachim Winkelhock also joins the list of winners in Wunstorf.


BMW lines up with a works team in the DTM for the last time for a while: Johnny Cecotto again finishes fourth in the Drivers’ Championship to end the season as the number one BMW driver. Roberto Ravaglia provides a magical moment at the season finale in Hockenheim on 11th October

1992: he claims two victories in the BMW M3’s last works outing in the DTM.