E90Post

BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > I think she's hurt bad

05-09-2018, 06:52 PM   #1
Red Lightning
United_States
Rep
Drives: 3 Fords and a Jaguar

I think she's hurt bad

Hello, just joined this forum, so a short introduction. I've been a tech since 1987 in several shops, worked on everything that fits through the door and a few things in the lot that wouldn't fit. I have a '03 Ford Lightning, '04 Ford Thunderbird, '05 Ford Mustang GT, and a '03 Jaguar XJ8.

I searched for this, but I don't know if I'm looking in the right place.

My very good friend owns the 2007 BMW 328i hardtop convertible, inline 6 with a 6 speed manual. The front of his engine is extremely oily, which has been an o-ring on the oil filter recently(someone changed filter but not o-ring), but I suspect the oil filter housing gasket also due to shear amount of build up. Car popped a 'no-charging' tell tale while on the highway. stalled shortly after that. His serpentine belt shredded, all we found was black, oily spaghetti. Engine cranks with no compression at all and has an engine code P0016, referring to cam/crank reference or sync. I removed the balancer and found the belt debris packed behind the balancer and the front seal pushed in toward the block. At this point I'm nearly certain it's out of time.

I have a few questions:
1. Is this an interference engine? 8th vin digit is a 5.
2. Rebuild or replace this engine if catastrophic damage is present?
3. What are your thoughts on used engines and possible sources?

Thanks if you made it this far, I know it was a bit long.

Red.
Appreciate 0
      05-09-2018, 07:37 PM   #2
Phyrexia
Resident Pedant
United_States
Rep
Drives: '15 335i 8AT

You may want to pull the oil pan to check for the remnants of that belt. N52s have been known to suck the belt carcass into the oil pickup tube.