E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > BMW E90/E92/E93 3-series General Forums > Regional Forums > UK > UK Technical Forum > Updating CIC Firmware



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-18-2017, 10:04 AM   #45
MikewhitE92
New Member
3
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: E92 330i
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Essex

iTrader: (0)

Secondly, how do I start a thread on here? Don't want to keep commenting on old posts?
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2017, 11:10 AM   #46
stote
Second Lieutenant
stote's Avatar
10
Rep
284
Posts

Drives: 335D Touring
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikewhitE92 View Post
Secondly, how do I start a thread on here? Don't want to keep commenting on old posts?
At the top you will see a New Thread bottom, that's were you start
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2018, 05:33 PM   #47
The-Traveler
Second Lieutenant
55
Rep
264
Posts

Drives: E92 M3 & E90 330I
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

What's the latest version you guys have managed to obtain? I need something newer than my 2011 but WinKFP didn't show anything and my ILevel was upgraded in 2015, yet the CIC is still from 2011.

I know there is a 2012 build, but how to get it?! I have the professional DCAN cable capable of flashing CIC, yet I can't find a firmware or ZB number to do it!

Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2018, 04:29 AM   #48
Sensible_
Lieutenant Colonel
347
Rep
1,989
Posts

Drives: 2008 E90
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The-Traveler View Post
What's the latest version you guys have managed to obtain? I need something newer than my 2011 but WinKFP didn't show anything and my ILevel was upgraded in 2015, yet the CIC is still from 2011.

I know there is a 2012 build, but how to get it?! I have the professional DCAN cable capable of flashing CIC, yet I can't find a firmware or ZB number to do it!

Thanks.
Why do you want to update it? What is your current software version? If it's C1A you are on the latest.

Also, you should not be attempting this with DCAN cable in my opinion. It should be an ICOM A2 and B job.
Appreciate 0
      04-18-2018, 04:58 PM   #49
DavidJMac
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 520
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Essex

iTrader: (0)

Hi Guys,

Apologies if i'm covering very old ground - this is new to me at least!

I've just brought a 10 plate what i think is an F10. It has the Nav Pro with the widescreen. The software reports as ECE Premium but with 2010 maps. A few questions:

I have seen you can upload via USB if the firmware is updated - how do i tell?
If i cant do i need DVD or should i update the firmware?
I am very IT literate but time limited, are there any trustworthy companies that'll do it for me?
Are there any links to resources?

Thats about it for now, thanks.
Appreciate 0
      04-19-2018, 10:35 AM   #50
undecided1
First Lieutenant
56
Rep
306
Posts

Drives: E92 330d M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidJMac View Post
Hi Guys,

Apologies if i'm covering very old ground - this is new to me at least!

I've just brought a 10 plate what i think is an F10. It has the Nav Pro with the widescreen. The software reports as ECE Premium but with 2010 maps. A few questions:

I have seen you can upload via USB if the firmware is updated - how do i tell?
If i cant do i need DVD or should i update the firmware?
I am very IT literate but time limited, are there any trustworthy companies that'll do it for me?
Are there any links to resources?

Thats about it for now, thanks.
If it's a 2010 car/F10 you should be fine, download the maps and give them a try via USB. the 1x usb version is easier but if you get the 3x usb version then if it won't accept via USB (unlikely) it comes in 3x dual layer DVD sized sections where you could try via DVD. Really shouldn't have an issue though, the problematic version was earlier.

Ps if you phrase the request correctly and find a sensible BMW dealership they will update the whole car for minimal cost...
Appreciate 0
      04-22-2018, 06:15 PM   #51
nn42day
Registered
United Kingdom
0
Rep
4
Posts

Drives: BMW 320d LCI
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Manchester UK

iTrader: (0)

I have 2009 E90 LCI, with CIC Sat nav, I have seen a number of sellers on ebay selling map updates. from what i can see i need a FSC code, I suspect i have to purchase this from a dealer?

Do dealers sell FSC code if one hasn't purchased the map update from them?
If so, any ideas, how much do these cost?

Many thanks

Naz
Appreciate 0
      04-23-2018, 04:25 PM   #52
undecided1
First Lieutenant
56
Rep
306
Posts

Drives: E92 330d M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nn42day View Post
I have 2009 E90 LCI, with CIC Sat nav, I have seen a number of sellers on ebay selling map updates. from what i can see i need a FSC code, I suspect i have to purchase this from a dealer?

Do dealers sell FSC code if one hasn't purchased the map update from them?
If so, any ideas, how much do these cost?

Many thanks

Naz
Search through my old posts, there's a script to get your 1b file via usb stick and link to post that explains how to get map codes from the 1b. Download links for maps freely available then can just do your own update codes, zero cost with a little effort or can buy codes on forum at not too bad prices.
Appreciate 0
      10-23-2018, 05:48 AM   #53
mattwalker26
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: E90 325D M
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Hampshire

iTrader: (0)

I am trying to get my maps updated as well, I have one of the early CIC which doesn't have the tick or the i in the circle. I asked BMW to update the firmware and they suggested I don't get them to as quite a few cars have had problems and needed new control modules as a result. I have googled this but cant find any evidence to back up what they are saying.
Has anyone ever heard of a CIC update causing control modules to fail?
Appreciate 0
      10-24-2018, 06:56 PM   #54
undecided1
First Lieutenant
56
Rep
306
Posts

Drives: E92 330d M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattwalker26 View Post
I am trying to get my maps updated as well, I have one of the early CIC which doesn't have the tick or the i in the circle. I asked BMW to update the firmware and they suggested I don't get them to as quite a few cars have had problems and needed new control modules as a result. I have googled this but cant find any evidence to back up what they are saying.
Has anyone ever heard of a CIC update causing control modules to fail?
Dealer can only update the entire car not just cic, yes is possible something could go wrong I guess, I had both my cars done with no issue but you may be less lucky
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2018, 07:15 AM   #55
AD18
Private First Class
30
Rep
198
Posts

Drives: Azurite Black E92 335i DCT
Join Date: May 2015
Location: UK - Cheshire

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided1 View Post
Dealer can only update the entire car not just cic, yes is possible something could go wrong I guess, I had both my cars done with no issue but you may be less lucky
Was this relatively expensive or was it worth it?
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2018, 02:49 PM   #56
undecided1
First Lieutenant
56
Rep
306
Posts

Drives: E92 330d M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AD18 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by undecided1 View Post
Dealer can only update the entire car not just cic, yes is possible something could go wrong I guess, I had both my cars done with no issue but you may be less lucky
Was this relatively expensive or was it worth it?
Older car I insisted they update it as there was a new firmware for alarm, charged 60+vat for that but had to do whole car of course which took a lot longer than the 30mins they charged me as hook up time. New car needed update for amp to fix individual audio issue, same garage then refused to update even though still under main dealer warranty at the time! Later updated for free at different dealer which fixed audio issue, updated 2nd time when cic was replaced. Overall yes worth it but I doubt they'll update at dealer without you accepting all risk for module failures. Safer option is find someone on here who will just update the cic only for you
Appreciate 1
AD1830.00

Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST