E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > Need to replace a failed CIC, what do I need to look for??



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-09-2018, 09:07 AM   #1
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Need to replace a failed CIC, what do I need to look for??

Hi all,

My CIC has died, it re-boots every 30 seconds, so it needs to be replaced. Does it matter what options are on the donor car to be used if it will just be re-coded anyways? Should I just buy something from Ebay for this or would that just be a bad idea?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2018, 09:43 AM   #2
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
140
Rep
825
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotbox View Post
Hi all,

My CIC has died, it re-boots every 30 seconds, so it needs to be replaced. Does it matter what options are on the donor car to be used if it will just be re-coded anyways? Should I just buy something from Ebay for this or would that just be a bad idea?

Thanks!
You may want to pull the hard drive out and see if it stops rebooting.

If it does you do not need a new CIC, but you will need a new drive.
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2018, 04:28 PM   #3
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
You may want to pull the hard drive out and see if it stops rebooting.

If it does you do not need a new CIC, but you will need a new drive.
Already went down that rabbit hole and swapped out hard drives, at least now I have a SSD ready to go...

Besides being a CIC from a E9X, do I have to look for something specific?
Appreciate 0
      07-09-2018, 05:15 PM   #4
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
140
Rep
825
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

If you've obtained an image of the old CIC, you'll do fine.

I suggest reading out the configuration of your old CIC, installing the replacement CIC and coding it with the config you read out, then swapping in the SSD drive.

The replacement CIC will pick up the FSC codes from the SSD drive and you should be all set.
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2018, 09:03 AM   #5
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
If you've obtained an image of the old CIC, you'll do fine.

I suggest reading out the configuration of your old CIC, installing the replacement CIC and coding it with the config you read out, then swapping in the SSD drive.

The replacement CIC will pick up the FSC codes from the SSD drive and you should be all set.
How would I go about doing this, with the use of FSTool or something else? I assume that this would then allow the navigation and combox to all work with the new CIC, but does it matter when the replacement CIC was manufactured?

Thanks for the information!
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2018, 10:54 AM   #6
opjose
Captain
opjose's Avatar
140
Rep
825
Posts

Drives: 335xi
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Md

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotbox View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by opjose View Post
If you've obtained an image of the old CIC, you'll do fine.

I suggest reading out the configuration of your old CIC, installing the replacement CIC and coding it with the config you read out, then swapping in the SSD drive.

The replacement CIC will pick up the FSC codes from the SSD drive and you should be all set.
How would I go about doing this, with the use of FSTool or something else? I assume that this would then allow the navigation and combox to all work with the new CIC, but does it matter when the replacement CIC was manufactured?

Thanks for the information!
Use INPA to read out the coding of your current CIC.

Then apply that to your replacement unit.

Hopefully the replacement unit will have a close revision level and will work without updating.
If not it may have to be updated.
Appreciate 0
      07-11-2018, 04:06 PM   #7
hotbox
New Member
hotbox's Avatar
United_States
1
Rep
18
Posts

Drives: 335is
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: CT

iTrader: (0)

OK great, thanks! Replacement CIC has been ordered
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2018, 09:35 AM   #8
Gee-Dog
Enlisted Member
5
Rep
39
Posts

Drives: E92 335i
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I may need to do this in the near future, so I'm interested in how you get on replacing your CIC. Have you done it yet, and what was the process to get the replacement unit working?
Appreciate 0
      04-20-2019, 05:46 PM   #9
CPhillips1981
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: 2009 335xi, 2014 x3 35i
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (0)

Any updates?
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2019, 01:27 PM   #10
Bufalo
Second Lieutenant
84
Rep
242
Posts

Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Harrisburg, PA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2017 BMW X3  [0.00]
2009 BMW 328i  [0.00]
So if you have a car with an early CIC version, and you buy a used CIC head unit from a later build car, what would need to be changed in coding to use it? I'm looking for a fairly do it yourself way to move from my 09, error prone firmware cic to something newer that can take map updates and a combo, and finding a way to update my firmware isn't especially homebrew friendly so far.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2019, 02:40 PM   #11
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
740
Rep
1,331
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bufalo View Post
So if you have a car with an early CIC version, and you buy a used CIC head unit from a later build car, what would need to be changed in coding to use it? I'm looking for a fairly do it yourself way to move from my 09, error prone firmware cic to something newer that can take map updates and a combo, and finding a way to update my firmware isn't especially homebrew friendly so far.
I can just update your current CIC.
Appreciate 0
      05-26-2019, 04:51 PM   #12
Bufalo
Second Lieutenant
84
Rep
242
Posts

Drives: 2009 328i
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Harrisburg, PA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2017 BMW X3  [0.00]
2009 BMW 328i  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
I can just update your current CIC.
That'd be best, and you're actually local.
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2019, 01:56 AM   #13
BestBet80
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: M3 (E92) Comp, M2 (Comp), E30
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

CIC Red Flicker?

Hi - has anyone seen this before? Not quite the ‘Red Screen of Death’ but could it be the beginning of the end? I hope not because the upgrade was only done last week! Thanks in advance for any help/genius that can be shared.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 0
      06-09-2019, 11:37 AM   #14
kern417
Cheapskate
United_States
2073
Rep
3,225
Posts

Drives: 2018 440i / 2010 X5
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (0)

So I ordered a replacement unit for my E70 that came with CIC from the factory. My car is a 2010 3.0si but I bought one from a 2013 X5 //M. It booted up fine but I had no audio output and none of my cameras worked.

I had a backed up CIC code file from the original unit, so i flashed that over to get audio and other functions working. But now navigation is greyed out. I see a lot of options to enable it with a cic upgrade/retrofit, but with it from the factory do I need all of that or is there a coding option? I also find it weird that it worked upon initial install, but after flashing the coding over from my original unit it doesn't work anymore.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by umizoomi View Post
As long as 3-pedals are an option, I will exercise my right to suffer the handicap and indignity of slower shifts and reaction times.
Instagram @kern417
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST