E90Post
 


Extreme Powerhouse
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Technical Forums > ConnectedDrive / I-Drive / Navigation Related Discussion > E Series NBT Evo Retrofit Development Thread



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-29-2019, 08:41 AM   #243
vilord
Captain
136
Rep
658
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT, 2002 TT
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

I have had periodic volume spike issues. seems to be a poor design of the cable that runs from the front panel to the enbt adapter.

black screen issues I think there is a power saving option that needs to be disabled if your evo is running anything newer than 2018-03 and you have a non-evo screen.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2019, 09:45 AM   #244
Double-M
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 1-series
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ommen

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
I have had periodic volume spike issues. seems to be a poor design of the cable that runs from the front panel to the enbt adapter.

black screen issues I think there is a power saving option that needs to be disabled if your evo is running anything newer than 2018-03 and you have a non-evo screen.
My NBT EVO is from 07/2018 and I'm indeed using an APIX1 screen with voltage regulator. Any Idea how to disable that power saving option?
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2019, 10:09 AM   #245
vilord
Captain
136
Rep
658
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT, 2002 TT
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Look in the coding for this option:
DISPLAY_PIP_CONFIG - DIMMUNGSVARIANTE
change that from "neue_dimmung" to "alte_dimmung"

I have not tried this myself, but found it on one of the cartechnology threads when I was researching the problem a few months ago.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2019, 10:10 AM   #246
vilord
Captain
136
Rep
658
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT, 2002 TT
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

If that doesn't fix it, you can flash back to 03/2018 software. I did that on Nick's evo and he hasn't gotten black screen / no signal issues since
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2019, 11:51 AM   #247
Double-M
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 1-series
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ommen

iTrader: (0)

I'm not really familair with flashing etc, will figure that out then.
Does the black screen issue only occur by using APIX1 screen, or also with an APIX2?
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2019, 12:11 PM   #248
vilord
Captain
136
Rep
658
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT, 2002 TT
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

It only happens with APIX1 screens and with firmware starting with 2018-07.
Appreciate 0
      04-29-2019, 08:23 PM   #249
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
714
Rep
1,314
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
You need to tape the ribbon cable to the trim in one or two spots to stop the volume jumps.
Appreciate 0
      05-03-2019, 09:12 AM   #250
Double-M
New Member
0
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: BMW 1-series
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ommen

iTrader: (0)

Thanks!
I did solve the problem of the black screens, but without flashing older firmware.

I bought an X3 screen (latest partNo.) Which is APIX2 and I modified it a little bit to fit in my e8x housing.

Problem solved an having better screen quality now


Still having two problems with the EVO, which both have to do with coding.
1. EVO forgets what was saved under the favorite buttons every time after coding.
2. Every time after coding the unit reboots, but I'm not able to connect again until I wait until the car goes to sleep. DHCP problem?

Last edited by Double-M; 05-03-2019 at 09:43 AM..
Appreciate 0
      07-13-2019, 12:03 AM   #251
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
714
Rep
1,314
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
Quick update:

My NBT Evo is still working good. I fixed the volume spike issue by remaking the face plate connector and taping it to the button row. I have not had a spike in about a month. I took my car to the Kies Motorsports show and having the NBT Evo with the ACC was a killer experience. Seeing all of the F30s there I truly saw how nice of a rig I have. All of the latest and greatest tech with N52 reliability. I took my car to the dealer and I did not have any issues with my Evo retrofit.

I keep getting harassed to do a 360 camera so I guess I have to start developing that. Someone on car-technology has the icam 360 working in the E90 but he didn't mount any of the cameras. Mounting the cameras in a OEM fashion will be a big challenge.
Appreciate 0
      08-04-2019, 10:17 PM   #252
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
714
Rep
1,314
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
It turns out if you hold down the select source button on the steering wheel it will bring the park menu up. Anyway the icam will not fit in the side mirrors. I honestly think I am done the retrofits to my car unless a really good deal pops up. I have been messing around with the F30 radio amp and the AM will not improve. I never had an issue with the FM but I am moving to bum fuck PA so I am now running both E90 and F30 antenna amps on my car. I am hope the the FM will be good with the F30 amp; especially when the cell service starts to cut out.
Appreciate 0
      08-09-2019, 07:53 PM   #253
DenoirN54
New Member
United_States
5
Rep
26
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 335i
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (0)

Could someone tell me how you code out the combox for the HU? The car is looking for my old Combox from my CIC retrofit, and I need to somehow disable that, then point the car back to redirecting bluetooth lookup on my NBT HU (I have an EVO but I'm trying to get my NBT HU working first before I put my EVO unit in).

I'm pretty sure this is something I'd code to the car itself like in NCS Expert, but would someone out there be so kind?

Last edited by DenoirN54; 08-09-2019 at 07:58 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-10-2019, 12:09 AM   #254
6ixSpd
Save the manuals!
6ixSpd's Avatar
Canada
4257
Rep
5,618
Posts

Drives: '12 M3, '12 135i
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: 416

iTrader: (2)

Remove 6VC from your FA/VO.
__________________
'12 M3 6MT | Alpine White + Fox Red Extended

Appreciate 0
      08-17-2019, 04:32 PM   #255
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
714
Rep
1,314
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
I had a audio engineer make a EQ for the E90 with 7 Series Logic 7 amp and 8ohm subs:

100: +2
200: 0
500: +3
1k: +5
2k: +5
5k: +2
10k: 0
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2019, 05:00 AM   #256
MILLER335I
Captain
MILLER335I's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
611
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 Dinan stage 3 335I
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Peoples Republic of California

iTrader: (11)

EQ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nickco43 View Post
I had a audio engineer make a EQ for the E90 with 7 Series Logic 7 amp and 8ohm subs:

100: +2
200: 0
500: +3
1k: +5
2k: +5
5k: +2
10k: 0
Where are these settings located? Thanks!
__________________
2007 E90 335i N54 Montego blue with grey Dakota leather interior
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2019, 06:01 PM   #257
atr911
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: F10 M5
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vilord View Post
I was getting the weird echo with phone calls, even after swapping to an F series amplifier.
I didn't change the coding in the Evo, instead I just flashed my amp to the latest software revision. The EQing immediately sounded better, and now no echo
How do you flash the AM with new software? Apparently this happens on some F series CIC cars when upgrading the the NBT Evo and I was told the only way to eliminate it was to find an am from an NBT Evo car (2018/19).

Thanks in advance if you can help.
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2019, 06:52 PM   #258
vilord
Captain
136
Rep
658
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT, 2002 TT
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

You use e-sys to flash the amp. Links are earlier in this thread.
I'm using an amp from a 2012 f30, and it is now set up for an Evo and as an f31.
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2019, 03:36 AM   #259
MILLER335I
Captain
MILLER335I's Avatar
United_States
49
Rep
611
Posts

Drives: BMW E90 Dinan stage 3 335I
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Peoples Republic of California

iTrader: (11)

Does anyone know where the settings are for the eq settings? The menu? Thanks!
__________________
2007 E90 335i N54 Montego blue with grey Dakota leather interior
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2019, 02:08 AM   #260
alblue
Registered
0
Rep
2
Posts

Drives: E60
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: JAPAN

iTrader: (0)

Please tell me the part number of your amplifier.
Appreciate 0
      08-28-2019, 02:37 PM   #261
IllSic_Design
Major
IllSic_Design's Avatar
United_States
666
Rep
1,335
Posts

Drives: 09 E92 335i
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Northern California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MILLER335I View Post
Where are these settings located? Thanks!
In the settings menu. You'll only have those settings with Logic 7 sound system though, not Hifi or base.
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2019, 02:21 PM   #262
Nickco43
Major
Nickco43's Avatar
714
Rep
1,314
Posts

Drives: 06 BMW 330i
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2006 BMW 330i  [0.00]
I have read recently that the F series logic 7 amps need to be updated for better BT call quality. I want to try updating my amp in the car over Ethernet. It could be a few months before I give the update a try. I recently moved and I have been swamped with issue after issue.

No one really has an exact list of what F series amps and firmware versions that work best with the eNBT.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2019, 03:24 PM   #263
vilord
Captain
136
Rep
658
Posts

Drives: 2007 328xiT, 2002 TT
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: boston

iTrader: (1)

Just finished putting my interior back together.

I used a touchscreen APIX2 display from a mini cooper, instead of using a NBT classic screen.

Works like a charm yay touchscreen and yay no dealing with cracked glass, voltage converters, etc!
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 1
      09-10-2019, 12:51 PM   #264
ruben_17non
Private
22
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: BMW E92 LCI / BMW X4
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Spain

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dls View Post
I did not code mine. I am using it as-is, with coding from the donor.
There are a few options to code it:

*Connect ZGW with KCAN3. Connect ICAM to KCAN3. Send wakeup. It should be visible in E-Sys.

*Connect CAN-bridge between ICOM/K-DCAN and ICAM. Use CAN-bridge to wake the ICAM. ICAM should be visible with 'Read ECU'


*Connect K-DCAN or ICOM CAN straight to KCAN2, with ICAM on it. ICAM should be visible with 'Read ECU'

*Connect K-DCAN or ICOM CAN straight to ICAM on bench. Use USB-CAN adapter or a microcontroller to send wakup CAN messages. ICAM should be visible with 'Read ECU'




I was honestly too lazy to go through any of the steps above. I may do that later since my trajectory lines are far from real trajectory.

For cutout, I've made a 150mmx38mm rectangle in Visio. I've attached masking tape over regular paper and printed on top of that. Then I've detached masking tape with a rectangle from the paper and applied it as a template to the trunk opening. The most difficult part was not cutting out the opening, but actually painting the inside edges of the cutout. I've had to get plumbers brush and bend it to reach the internal edges.

There are two kinds of F15 trunk boot handles that are out there. The older kind, that is made in Germany and the newer kind from Eastern Europe. The part number is the same, but the retaining clip is incompatible - it is diagonal on the later boot. The late model boot (not made in germany) is much easier to fit to the custom opening, because of different retaining mechanism.
Please can explain how connect?
i know for coding EVO, it need gateway connection with fixed ip in laptop and enet wire

i not remeber good, but i think one day try connect icom, for read evo or icam module and not visible.

you choose dcan conection in esys or what?
Thanks
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 AM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST