E90Post
 


The Tire Rack
 
BMW 3-Series (E90 E92) Forum > E90 / E92 / E93 3-series Powertrain and Drivetrain Discussions > NA Engine (non-turbo) / Drivetrain / Exhaust Modifications > DME: Winkfp errors 211/9000 Signature Check Failed



Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-19-2020, 07:04 PM   #1
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

DME: Winkfp errors 211/9000 Signature Check Failed

I'm having issues flashing my DME with Winkfp. I'm using Bimmerlabs batch files. I've tried several times and always receive 211 "Error on flash programming!" and 9000 "Security Access Denied" errors along with Signature Check Failed. Car cranks but will not start due to DME programming aborted.



Previously, I flashed Bimmerlabs RSA Delete and 330i tune. Everything worked with no issues and test drive. A few days later, car was down on power requiring depressing gas pedal to floor to reach 80mph.

I tried flashing back to stock 325i tune to see if power issue was related to 330i tune. Unfortunately, battery was weak and died while flashing at work. I had to tow car home. I replaced battery/hooked up charger and have tried flashing DME with 325i tune, 330i tune and RSA Delete multiple times all with same errors.

Is my DME bricked? Can it be recovered? Please help!
Appreciate 0
      07-19-2020, 09:18 PM   #2
E92William
Lieutenant
E92William's Avatar
332
Rep
475
Posts

Drives: 2008 E92 328xi
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2008 BMW 328xi  [0.00]
Crap! Hopefully it isn't bricked. Idk enough to help troubleshoot but someone will chime in. This was one of my main worries with flashing without a battery tender so I did it right after driving.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2020, 02:11 AM   #3
kakapo
Private First Class
9
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi E92
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [0.00]
Use ISTA and see if the ECU is in programming abort state. If the ECU does not respond then that's where you're going to have big issues. If the ECU is in programming abort state, get a battery charger and flash it again. I recommend using WinFKP and letting it determine the ECU file by itself in comfort mode.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2020, 10:50 AM   #4
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

What cable do you have? Did you follow the instructions for setting up the cable?

I doubt your DME is bricked, but worst case MSV70 can easily be recovered with a bench flash. In WinKFP expert mode, are you able to use the tools to identify the DME? If it can read the DME, it can flash it.

You also didn't need to reflash the RSA delete - both the 325i and 330i run on the same program, but I suppose that doesn't help you much now. but in the future, you can flash any tune for the same program without reflashing the entire DME.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2020, 05:18 PM   #5
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kakapo View Post
Use ISTA and see if the ECU is in programming abort state. If the ECU does not respond then that's where you're going to have big issues. If the ECU is in programming abort state, get a battery charger and flash it again. I recommend using WinFKP and letting it determine the ECU file by itself in comfort mode.
DME shows Programming Abort State in ISTA with blue outline. Also, there many error codes. As mentioned, i tried reflashing several times after installing new battery with charger hooked up. Same error every time.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2020, 05:31 PM   #6
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
What cable do you have? Did you follow the instructions for setting up the cable?

I doubt your DME is bricked, but worst case MSV70 can easily be recovered with a bench flash. In WinKFP expert mode, are you able to use the tools to identify the DME? If it can read the DME, it can flash it.

You also didn't need to reflash the RSA delete - both the 325i and 330i run on the same program, but I suppose that doesn't help you much now. but in the future, you can flash any tune for the same program without reflashing the entire DME.
I'm using BimmerGeeks Pro K+DCAN cable. Flashing stock 325i tune with Winkfp batch file takes ~10 minutes with 100% completion. Just receive error message upon return to DOS command prompt every time with any tune.
Appreciate 0
      07-20-2020, 05:52 PM   #7
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

The tune shouldn't take 10 minutes to flash - it's around 30-45 seconds. Again, you don't need to flash the whole thing every time, just the parameters (0da).

What if you flash the stock program in expert mode? you should be able to download the batch flash from bimmerlabs, and then flash the stock parameters if that takes. as long as ISTA is communicating (that means the boot sector is alive and well), it should work.

Boot sector update is disabled, correct?
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 12:35 AM   #8
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
The tune shouldn't take 10 minutes to flash - it's around 30-45 seconds. Again, you don't need to flash the whole thing every time, just the parameters (0da).

What if you flash the stock program in expert mode? you should be able to download the batch flash from bimmerlabs, and then flash the stock parameters if that takes. as long as ISTA is communicating (that means the boot sector is alive and well), it should work.

Boot sector update is disabled, correct?
Yes, flashing 0da takes less than 1 minute while 0pa takes ~10 minutes or more. WinKFP completes flash 100% but same "Signature Check Failure" error whether flashing 0da or 0pa.

I will try flashing DME again since car has been sitting for 2 days. I've been using Bimmerlabs files and running batch process only. Previously, I successfully flashed RSA Delete and 330i tune files from Bimmerlabs.

Correct, "activate Bootsectorupdate" box is unchecked in WinKFP configuration.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 08:54 AM   #9
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Did your battery die while flashing the program or the tune?

If a flash still won't take, a workaround could be to force an erase.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 01:10 PM   #10
kakapo
Private First Class
9
Rep
104
Posts

Drives: 2007 BMW 328xi E92
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2007 BMW 328xi  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
The tune shouldn't take 10 minutes to flash - it's around 30-45 seconds. Again, you don't need to flash the whole thing every time, just the parameters (0da).

What if you flash the stock program in expert mode? you should be able to download the batch flash from bimmerlabs, and then flash the stock parameters if that takes. as long as ISTA is communicating (that means the boot sector is alive and well), it should work.

Boot sector update is disabled, correct?
Wouldn't he need to flash the entire thing as he already screwed up by failing the rsa delete multiple times?
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 01:14 PM   #11
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Yes, this time, but it wasn't necessary before, even if the parameter flash got interrupted or failed.
Appreciate 0
      07-21-2020, 01:22 PM   #12
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
Did your battery die while flashing the program or the tune?

If a flash still won't take, a workaround could be to force an erase.
I think battery died when I was flashing program (stock 325i). Although, I'm not positive as I've been switching between flashing program and tune files multiple times.

I'm willing to force erase if that will solve flashing issue.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2020, 01:17 PM   #13
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Is there a flash counter and limit with MSV70? I asked because I read some older BMW DME had counter that needed to be reset.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2020, 01:29 PM   #14
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

No, there's no limit or counter. there are a limited number of UIF slots, but they can be cleared with BDM, and regardless the batch flash doesn't write to the UIF.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2020, 05:33 PM   #15
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
No, there's no limit or counter. there are a limited number of UIF slots, but they can be cleared with BDM, and regardless the batch flash doesn't write to the UIF.
Thanks for info. I would appreciate if you could provide instructions for force erase of DME.
Appreciate 0
      07-22-2020, 05:37 PM   #16
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

It requires a special program. Basically if we know the DME can communicate, we bypass WinKFP and send the erase commands directly. Then the flash should take. I would like to know if the stock program will flash in Expert mode first (using the batch flash is fine). We already have a program for MSV80 but I'm not sure if it will work directly with MSV70 or if it needs modified.

It would also be worth double checking all the settings on your cable. Basically, force erase is a last resort, second only to mailing it to me for a bench flash. So far, you're the only person in like 4 years that I've seen with a potentially bricked DME, other than myself (when I was hand editing a file and totally screwed up the checksum ranges, lol).

Last edited by hassmaschine; 07-22-2020 at 05:42 PM..
Appreciate 1
      07-23-2020, 05:35 AM   #17
Saico
Enlisted Member
11
Rep
41
Posts

Drives: 330xi
Join Date: May 2018
Location: PL

iTrader: (0)

I had a similar error after finished programming:


Engine would not start.

Solution was to give up batch files and setup WINKFP manually in expert mode with proper .0pa and .0da files. I also updated my DCAN cable firmware, which might have helped also.
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2020, 10:29 AM   #18
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

It shouldn't matter if you manually do it in expert mode vs the batch file - it's literally doing the same thing. Probably it was your cable firmware update that helped.
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2020, 12:56 PM   #19
bluewater328
Major
United_States
283
Rep
1,442
Posts

Drives: 2011 bluewater 328i LCI sedan
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Hawaii

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hassmaschine View Post
No, there's no limit or counter. there are a limited number of UIF slots, but they can be cleared with BDM, and regardless the batch flash doesn't write to the UIF.
So I shouldn't worry that my "Number of free UIF" is 1? Is there anything to worry about regarding the UIF slots?
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2020, 01:27 PM   #20
hassmaschine
Major General
United_States
3184
Rep
6,486
Posts

Drives: "NBO" 330i
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: earth

iTrader: (0)

Not really. Unless you're updating the UIF, it doesn't matter. In expert mode it should be disabled.
Appreciate 0
      07-23-2020, 11:53 PM   #21
lcervantes_85
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 325i e90
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Los Angeles

iTrader: (0)

I tried flashing several 0pa and 0da files again. Unfortunately, all completed 100% and still ended with same error "Security Check Failed".
Here's some screenshots from INPA and ISTA. BTW, some errors are due to CIC retrofit with emulator.

INPA - UIF


ISTA - DME


Appreciate 0
      08-03-2020, 01:16 PM   #22
SmallDave
Private
15
Rep
74
Posts

Drives: 128i Sport Package
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Maine

iTrader: (0)

I wanted to post here as I'm having the exact same issue (emailed into bimmerlabs yesterday currently waiting for a response).

I had an awful time getting the RSA Delete file to flash, however, I did get it successfully flash. When I tried to flash the tune file, I received a VIN error. I started from scratch and reinstalled everything but am having this issue with in comfort/expert mode.

Lastly, I just bought my cable from bimmergeeks a couple of weeks ago so the cable should be up to date.
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.




e90post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST